Skip to content

I Don’t Know What Came Over Me

September 4, 2009

Have you ever felt like aliens have taken over your body?  Because that’s what happened to me today.

I spent six hours cleaning my house.  Who am I?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a total slob.  Generally if you stop by the place would be presentable.  But no one would ever call me a neat freak.  I can sleep soundly with a sink full of dishes.   I’ve been known to take over the guest room rather than change the sheets on my own bed.  And baby Cecilias keep popping out of the corners here.  [But part of that is because that dog sheds more than is caninely possible.  If I knew how to do the whole video blog thing I would prove it to you.  Just petting her unleashes a fur blizzard, even though I brush her regularly.]

Anyhoo.  Last night before bed I was flipping through my Woman’s Day magazine.  Because I am training for middle age.  I plan to subscribe to Reader’s Digest next year.  Don’t judge me.  This article caught my attention.  Maybe it’s because they used a list format, I don’t know.  What I do know is that I got home way earlier than I ever expected today and I decided to make use of the time by cleaning house.  Wacky, right?  I even dusted each bottle in my wine rack!

At 8pm my sister calls.  When I tell her what I’ve been up to she says, “Why are you doing that?  Mom and Dad aren’t coming to visit.”  Because Sister knows me.  So I figure that her call is a sign that I should stop and call it a day.  And she agreed with me and made me promise not to vacuum any more. 

Except I did. 

After she hung up I vacuumed the stairs and the first floor.  My house is entirely clean.  Fresh sheets on the beds, scrubbed floors, de-furred sofa, throw rugs freshly laundered. 

I’m afraid of myself.

Mom and Dad, you might as well come on up.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 11:01 pm

    Hilarious! Maybe it’s the full moon.

  2. September 6, 2009 7:46 pm

    Ha, Juice! Did the aliens take you away on a little triangular disc to Venus?!

    Seriously, that was a really good article. I just have to get a handle on cleaning my house before I die. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

  3. debby permalink
    September 6, 2009 11:28 pm

    Juice, are you reading June’s blog? Her story about meeting Marvin is priceless!

    • allthingsjuice permalink*
      September 8, 2009 4:33 pm

      She cracks me up! I love the vintage picture of her. :)

  4. September 8, 2009 11:06 am

    Hey Juice! Around the Hudarosa, we like to think that the dust bunnies (tumbleweeds) are protection against falls. No gramma would ever break a hip around here… Hope you had a lovely Labor Day!

  5. September 8, 2009 2:29 pm

    I love cleaning and having a clean house. I always say I’m a 1950’s housewife in the body of hip, 30 something city chick :) I almost had to take a day off when I got my new Dyson. I’m a dork!!!!

  6. September 8, 2009 4:32 pm

    This is said sister signing in. (I want bonus points for my alliteration there.) I’m not at all surprised you went back to cleaning. It’s a sickness that was instilled in us by the rents. (Remember, I took Thursday off to clean the house before M&D got there on Friday.)

    • allthingsjuice permalink*
      September 8, 2009 4:35 pm

      You are rocking the alliteration. Wow, my first comment from family. Not surprising since you are the only one in the family who knows I blog…

      The sickness continues. I made a special trip to Target to pick up more microfiber cleaning cloths!

  7. September 10, 2009 12:44 am

    Don’t you just love to see a woman cleaning in high heel shoes . Heaven help me if anyone knocks on my door when I’m cleaning house….I look like the wreck of the hesperus !!!

    http://www.FunnyPhotosContest.com Submit CUTE or FUNNY photos and tell friends to vote for them. No entry fee.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Flotsam and Jetsam « all things juice
  2. Can You Smell That? « all things juice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

