Skip to content

Weekend Flotsam and Jetsam

October 19, 2009
Snippets of my weekend.  Selected for your pleasure.
  • Cecilia’s friend Matty was here for the entire rainy weekend.  Do you know what is worse than walking one dog in the rain?  Walking two dogs in the rain.  Especially when one of those dogs (and I won’t name names, Matty) is a very discriminating pee-er.  We spent a lot of time in the rain.  I should have taken a picture of them both in their rain jackets, but (as you can imagine) it was raining.   Aside from the extra pee-time, Matty was a joy to have in the house.  He was playful, a good snuggler and enthusiastic in that younger dog way.  The best part of the weekend was when I was snuggled on the couch with the dogs on either side of me.   Bliss.
Matty and Cecilia in sunnier times

Matty and Cecilia in sunnier times

  •  I went to a party Saturday night and a guy asked me on a date.  Y’all, he is 18 years older than me.  Slicked back hair, fake tan.  And he was wearing a pooka bead necklace.  I’ll let you draw your own conclusions there.  I’m not sure whether to be flattered that I still got it, or to be flabbergasted by this guy’s ego.  Perhaps both.  Thoughts?
Does this thing have an age limit?

Is there an age limit on these?

  • I spent some more time here and was fairly productive in a Christmas kind of way.   *Zipping my lip now (darn you KK!).*
  • My Ravens showed a flash of brilliance in the last 6 minutes of the game, only to lose by a field goal.  We are now 3 and 3.  Not quite as much fun as when we were 3 and 0.
Not to be this week...

Not to be this week...

  • My birthday season is underway.  If the weather cooperates I will be hosting my birthday hike this Saturday.  I need to get cracking on ordering my cake and finding party favors!  Hmm, perhaps we all need pooka bead necklaces…  Not.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 11:50 am

    In 1979, I had a crush on a boy named Gabe. He moved away within months, but must have known I liked him (gee, I wonder how he figured it out) and on his last day of school, he gave me his pooka bead necklace that he always wore. How sweet.

    I love Cecilia’s friend’s look.

  2. October 19, 2009 1:42 pm

    Yikes, just looking at those necklaces kinda gives me the heebee jeebees and a good laugh.

    I’ve posted an update about my Project Cleanse, just for you.

  3. October 21, 2009 1:32 pm

    Sounds like you had a lot of adventures last weekend. BTW I thought pooka beads were now the stylish jewelry of surfers & stoners? hmm. Maybe I don’t get out enough :-)

    • Juice permalink*
      October 21, 2009 1:35 pm

      Hey BC, even if pooka beads are in style, do I REALLY want to date a 55 year old “surfer or stoner”??? Not so much.

      But to be honest, a guy in my band (50+ years old) sometimes wears pooka beads. He does not fake tan, his hair is short, he chooses the appropriate occasion to wear said beads and he’s the CEO of his company.

      Plus, Tall Guy in my band would never dream of saying to me, “You seem pretty comfortable talking to me. Most people are intimidated by me.” Because he knows I would laugh at him. Which is what I did to 55-Year-Old-Pooka-Bead-Guy. (Actually I told him I thought he was full of sh*t. Nice potty mouth on me. Mom, avert your eyes!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

