Skip to content

Something Is Harshing My Mellow

November 8, 2009

Last night I woke up to a strange loud noise.  At first I thought it was raining.  Then I thought that someone was trying to break into the house.  Then I realized that the noise was coming from the wall between my room and the stairway.  Apparently there was some kind of critter inside. 

Please oh please do not be in my wall!

I banged on the wall and the noise stopped, then started up again. 
 
I figured I was going to have something dead inside my wall.  Nice.
 
What do you do?  It was 5am, so I couldn’t really call anyone.   I just got to sit there and listen to a rodent assault my drywall.  Or wiring.  Or whatever the heck might be behind that wall.

Flushing the toilet caused the noise to stop.  

I’m not sure which is worse:  thinking that something is going to die inside my walls, or realizing that said critter KNOWS HOW TO ESCAPE AND CAN COME BACK WITH ALL HIS FRIENDS!

Guess who won’t be sleeping too soundly anytime soon?

The stuff of my nightmares

 Advice anyone?  Please? 

 Oh. Guess who slept through the whole episode.

IMG_0968

My fearless watchdog

Thanks for the help Cecilia.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. debby permalink
    November 8, 2009 9:49 pm

    I wouldn’t worry about it dying inside the wall. Do you read Vickie’s blog? She wrote a horrifying story about mice invading her house.

    Okay, I’ll tell you what I WOULDN’T do. Use poison. Don’t do it. That is when they will die and rot in some undisclosed location. And if you’re really lucky, you’ll have one staggering like a drunk across your living room while you are having a dinner party in the dining room, and praying that your guests will not turn around to see what you can’t take your eyes off of. Not that this ever happened to me…

  2. November 8, 2009 10:39 pm

    Gosh I don’t have any advice. eeeeeeek!

  3. November 9, 2009 2:16 pm

    ditto what Debbi said – NO poison – GET TRAPS.

    And if you don’t want to deal with taking the mouse out of the trap part – just throw the whole thing away.

    Peanutbutter is EASY bait.

    And it might be chipmunks (do you have them in your part of the country?). they get in walls too.

    thanks for stopping by my blog

    It is too funny that Debbi said I had a “horrifying story about mice invading my house”. I thought it was a cute story. But then – as you said – I have my mother to come running over with her gloves 24/7.

  4. November 9, 2009 2:21 pm

    If you think you can see where they are coming in from the outside – and you are sure it is mice – you stuff hole with STEELWOOL –

    if you think it could be chipmunks – then you have to get them OUT before you put in the steelwool. So then you first stuff with newspaper and then you watch the newspaper to see if they are using the hole. You can put live traps (peanutbutter works to hold down real peanuts as bait) right by the hole to catch them. (Kill traps are hard outside because of cats and dogs). when you have caught/killed and there is NO change in the newspaper – then you put in the steel wool.

    A hand mirror (down by the ground) works great to be able to see UP into the cracks and edges and corners (without getting on the ground and having to put your face right there).

    I live in a woods if you are wondering how I know all this.

  5. Julie permalink
    November 9, 2009 7:07 pm

    I once had a mouse in the house…sitting in the dogs food bowl. EWWW!
    Anyways both of my mutts were snoring and never noticed me freaking out. Plus I did not sleep that night because I was convinced that it would climb into bed with me. :( Good luck!

  6. November 11, 2009 1:20 pm

    Don’t use poison because other animals (your dog) might get into it. If you find mouse droppings in your house or other evidence of a mouse (mine like to tear up the toliet paper) set a mouse trap (the snap kind – do the mouse the favor of a quick painless kill over a slow death) put a little bit of peanut butter on the trap – works 100000 times better than cheese. Also set the trap on top of some newspapers so in the morning you can just pick up the newspapers and throw them away.

    We normally do not have a mouse problem but a month or so ago a few very brave mice invaded our house. The would run around while we were awake in the evening sitting on the couch!

Trackbacks

  1. In Which I Learn To Fear “Excuse Me” « all things juice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

