Skip to content

I Have Become Elvis To Cecilia’s Priscilla

December 8, 2009

Does anyone remember that book Elvis and Me?  The one written by his child-bride Priscilla?  It came out in the mid 1980s, when I was just a young impressionable pre-teen enthralled by tabloid drama. Of course I had to read it.  I probably snuck it, or borrowed it from my older friend (Lala) who always hooked me up with reading material not condoned by my mother. 

Stuff like this. Don't judge. It was long ago. Those aren't my books.

I don’t remember a whole lot about the book, but I do remember that Elvis was constantly feeding Priscilla pills.  Uppers, downers, sleep aids, whatever.    They were definitely practicing better living through chemistry.  Although I guess it wasn’t better living in the end since Elvis died prematurely.

Anyway.  Just say no.

Unless you are Cecilia.

I think it’s pretty clear to most of you that Cecilia is in the twilight of her life.  She’s 14 (ish).  She’s got arthritis down her spine.  She’s growing a tumor the size of a melon on her shoulder.   And now she’s walking with the slow, careful, tottering steps of a very old animal.

My goal is to keep her as comfortable as possible for as long as possible.  Thank goodness my vet is tracking with me.

Cecilia now has a daily regimen of NSAIDS and opiates.  And I’m her pusher.  Because it’s pretty hard to open those bottles when you don’t have opposable thumbs.

It felt a little weird when the vet warned me that Cecilia’s meds were “habit forming”.  I mean, I’m not one to promote addiction.  Heck, I don’t even drink coffee every day because I don’t want to become attached to caffeine!  And yet now I’m sending my little girl to the Land of Nod. 

Picture this dog...

...in this field.

Sweet dreams, Cecilia.

Don’t worry girl.  I promise I won’t let you die on the toilet.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 1:27 pm

    Our dogs are 12 years old and I know there time will come soon. Skylar, our german shepard mix just literally had a run in with sheet metal and spent 2 nights in the hospital and now has way too many stitches. She gets her Metacam and her antibotic. I would do the same thing as you are, keep them happy and pain free for as long as possible. If Cecilia gets additced to the drugs – who cares this late in life keep her happy.

  2. sparkles permalink
    December 8, 2009 1:30 pm

    of course you know this post makes me laugh -about the pulp fiction of our teen years!- and also cry because i have loved that adorable cecilia since the day you rescued her. you have both been very lucky girls indeed! thanks for sharing the updates, prayers for you both. xo

  3. December 8, 2009 4:33 pm

    Well, now. Isn’t this posting the epitome of dark humor.

    I laughed. I cried. Cecilia became a part of me.

  4. December 8, 2009 4:41 pm

    Although I don’t know you, I have been reading your blog for a while now and your love for Cecelia is woven throughout. Pets have a way of worming themselves right into our heart, so I feel for you…having to see her through these days. I had to do that with my daughter’s cat two years ago and honestly, I don’t know when I’ve cried as much as I did in the days leading up to her death. Taking care of our pets, loving them, and making them comfortable is the best we can do.

  5. Julie permalink
    December 8, 2009 7:17 pm

    I am hoping she can be comfortable without going into rehab ;)

    You are doing the right thing… You will know when it’s time.

  6. December 9, 2009 9:13 pm

    I don’t know Cecelia, but I’ve come to be very fond of her through your blog. She’s a good dog, and she deserves, as you say, to be as comfortable as possible for as long as possible; I’m glad your vet is with you on this.

    And oh, yes, good ol’ Danielle Steele! She wasn’t quite as brazen as, say, Judith Krantz, but plenty of drama nonetheless. I think my mom had most of those titles! And then there was my sweet, proper grandmother, who dressed in blouses, skirts, and hose every day and drank tea with me after school in the afternoon from a dainty cup…and who also checked out huge stacks of Harlequin romances from the local library and left them laying around the house. Educational indeed. Did they think I only stuck my nose in J.R.R. Tolkein? ;-)

  7. debby permalink
    December 9, 2009 11:50 pm

    Juice, Ditto to what KK said. To be honest, I have been worried for quite a while. For you. It is hard to have a dog that good, and to love them that much. But it is worth it.

    Honestly, even though I am teary right now, this was one of your funniest blogs ever!

  8. February 22, 2010 10:50 pm

    I just happened to read through some of your older posts. I was not aware that Cecilia is a senior. She looks so young in her photos. I enjoyed this story very much. She is so lucky to have you and I’m sure your life is richer for having known her, too. Bless you both.

Trackbacks

  1. A Semi-Homemade Christmas « all things juice
  2. Putting My Dog To Sleep « all things juice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

