Skip to content

OCD Much?

December 10, 2009

I’m lying in bed last night and I can’t sleep.  Which is a fairly common occurence.  It’s 11:50pm, too late for a sleeping pill.  I contemplate turning the light back on to read.

And then it hits me.

I never checked my total steps for the day.

I jump out of bed and check the total.

9168.

As in 800+ steps to make my 10K goal.  With ten minutes until midnight.

Sometimes it’s a good thing that I live alone.  ‘Cause I wouldn’t have wanted to explain to a roommate why I was pacing the house at 11:54pm.  In my pajamas.  Looking like a total whack-a-do. 

Speaking of legalism (and breaking free from those bonds), let’s discuss this awesome study I’m finishing up tonight.  It’s called You’ve Got Style and it features Andy Stanley.  Who is amazing.

This is the second North Point study that I’ve done and I can’t say enough about them.  They are entertaining, thought provoking and biblically based. 

You’ve Got Style talks about different ways of getting close to God.  God made us all unique, and while there are certain things that are givens (we need to pray, we need to read and study the Bible, etc.), the way we do those things might look different based on our unique style.  It’s a short study (just 4 sessions) but I’ve really enjoyed it.

If I were really serious about the OCD I’d want to find every single North Point study and do them all.  In chronological order.  With color coordinated pens for note-taking.  In special notebooks.

I’m just saying.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. seriouslykk permalink
    December 10, 2009 4:41 pm

    Should I be sending you colored pens for Christmas?

  2. debby permalink
    December 11, 2009 12:10 pm

    Okay, Monk-ette. That is just plain weird. Did you at least sleep better after pacing?

    I have a serious question. Have you ever participated in an online Bible Study? Do you have any thoughts on doing one? Possibilities? Difficulties? You could email me if you want. Or I will check back here to see if you have anything to say.

    • Juice permalink*
      December 12, 2009 11:09 pm

      Debby, I’ve never done one – have you? Let’s email about this one. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

