Skip to content

Weekend Flotsam and Jetsam

March 23, 2010
Do you know what is working for me?  Random listy weekend posts.  Perhaps I’ll make it a tradition.

1.     Mr. EM had to reschedule unexpectedly.  I hope he’ll be coming again in April, so stay tuned for our adventures then.  It was really weird to have an entire unscheduled weekend.   After all, I’m kind of a calendar-obsessive kind of girl.   It’s part of my heritage.  I embrace it.

2.     Remember this tree from the Snowpocalypse?

After many contractors stood Neighbor K up, she finally convinced a friend to help her.  That tree got cleaned up this weekend  Baltimore-style.

An event like this is sure to bring out the neighbors. The guy in the t shirt is our tree angel, imported from the suburbs.

The neighbor hidden behind the ladder loaned us his ladder after we realized the one pictured here was not going to cut it.  (Get it?  I made a pun!).

Look closely at that sawing implement.

Neighbor B’s Little Giant ladder still wasn’t tall enough, so we improvised.  Remember how we use brooms to take care of snow?  Well they also work for tree trimming.  That’s a handsaw taped to a broom handle.

As our tree angel said, “I feel like I’m trying out for a Bud Light commercial.”

Neighbor K acted as safety monitor:

Don't fall tree angel!

Neighbor G observed the action from a safe distance:

I'd help, but it looks like you've got things under control...

 My car is now safe from tree branches, Verizon has been called about the drooping cable, and a contractor has put in a bid to take care of that dry-rotted fence.  All is almost-right in that little corner of my yard.

3.    Don’t fall over, but I actually washed windows this weekend.   It was that darn ladder that pushed me to it.  Well, that ladder and this image of my windows:

Again with my terrible photography skills. When will one of you take pity on me and get me some lessons?

Can you see the grime?  How embarrassing!  We’ve already discussed my lack of cleaning skills in the past, so I feel comfortable telling you that I cannot remember ever washing these windows.  And I’ve lived here for 8 years. 

Wait.  I think my Dad washed the windows once for me.   Thanks Pop!  You’re the best!

Anyway, we had that big tall ladder out and for some reason I got motivated to wash all the windows.  Including Neighbor K’s upstairs windows.  Because a) she’s afraid of heights and b) she agreed to hold the ladder for me the whole time.

If my photography skills were any better, this after picture would really show a difference:

Wow! What a difference! (Just go with me on this one)

Actually, that picture shows streaks on the left side of the window.  So I washed it again.

I know!  Who AM I?

4.     Cecilia and I took advantage of our free Sunday to visit with DMW’s daughter.  She is almost fully recovered from surgery and is doing great!

You want my regal pose for this shot Feeder?

Cecilia fully enjoyed exploring DMWs house.  Her little paws went click-click-click our whole visit.  Except when she was in a lap of course.

Saying goodbye...

5.     Apparently my computer is working again after a weird weekend glitchy kind of thing.  I’m praising God for that!

6.     Pubsgal received her Pay It Forward gift from me.  She blogged about it here.  I love that she is barefoot in that picture.

This concludes our weekend flotsam and jetsam.   Stay tuned for our regularly scheduled content.

Except I don’t have any regularly scheduled content. 

I’ll just keep you guessing.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    March 24, 2010 12:01 am

    Oooooh NICE apron! Lucky Pubsgal! Makes me “almost” wish I had a blog so I could participate in fun things like this…. :)

  2. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    March 24, 2010 12:03 am

    Oops, forgot to add – I like your Flotsam & Jetsam posts! (although it never fails to make me think about Disney’s ‘The Little Mermaid’ and those creepy eel things)

  3. debby permalink
    March 24, 2010 1:37 am

    Oh darn! I look forward to the Mr. EM reports!

    Have you ever tried that window cleaner that you attach to your hose and just spray the windows off? Of course, that doesn’t work inside the house….

  4. March 24, 2010 9:34 am

    I am still trying to process the fact that no one is bundled up in a winter coat in any of your photos. That doesn’t compute.

  5. March 24, 2010 10:18 am

    seems like a full weekend to me! besides, washing windows is a huge task in itself. i wouldn’t be able to do anything else after that!

    tree angel eh? tree angel single?? ;)

    anyhoo… i second the idea with debbie that nex time just get those gidget that attaches to the hose for your exterior windows.

    • Juice permalink*
      March 24, 2010 10:25 am

      Tree angel happily married…

  6. March 24, 2010 11:52 am

    I love your Pay It Forward gift! I worked on mine over the weekend and I’m excited about sending them out. :)

  7. March 24, 2010 8:07 pm

    I SO need to get windows washed…having the house painted makes it a necessity…as does the fact that we’ve lived here twenty years and I think we’ve only had them washed twice. Eek.

  8. Juice permalink*
    March 24, 2010 8:20 pm

    Pendy, you are a girl after my own heart.

  9. March 24, 2010 11:40 pm

    You’ve just reminded me to add wash windows to my husband’s honey-do list. He usually washed them for me once a year, but he’s been gone this last year. Now he’ll have something to do when he gets home.

    I loved your pictures of Cecilia with DMWs daughter. They really seem to enjoy each other!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

