Skip to content

Grandma Corbi, You’re All Right

March 26, 2010

Are you guys familiar with Joe Corbi products?  They are a Maryland based company, but I don’t know how large their market is.  Joe Corbi sells food items for fundraising and they are pretty ubiquitous here in Baltimore.  Someone always has a Corbi catalog to support their kid’s lacrosse team / tee-ball / you name it.

Their flagship products are the Joe Corbi pizza kits (which I’ve never tried).  My favorite item to purchase is the Grandma Corbi cookie dough.  Imagine a tub of chocolate chip cookie dough in the freezer…

Mmmm.  Cookies anytime you want them. 

Oh, but I kid. 

Who bothers to bake the flippin’ cookie when a spoonful of dough tastes better anyways?

This year, in an effort to prevent cookie-dough-bellyitis, I purchased a new product:

Think Grandma Corbi cookie dough for dogs.  I got the oats and cheddar variety.

I finally pulled these out of the freezer to make some treats for my coworker’s dog Lucy.  Lucy is crossing that rainbow bridge tonight, so I made her some treats over the weekend to make her last week a little more special. 

Cecilia “helped” with the baking.  Turns out, she’s a lot like her Feeder.  Dough is just all right with her.  And it’s absolutely perfect for hiding her meds.  Especially now that she is turning up her nose at cheese.  I was at wit’s end to find other ways to hide the medicine until Grandma Corbi saved the day.

Grandma Corbi, I owe you one.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 10:09 am

    I used to work with Evelyn Corbi. It was her husband that started the company. They were such cool people :-)

  2. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    March 26, 2010 12:28 pm

    I have an aversion to raw dough/batter because my MOTHER warped me as a child (ie. she told me I would get really really sick if I ate it). So I need my cookies baked.

    But cookie dough ICE CREAM is a different story. But it has to already be “in” the ice cream when I buy it. I can’t cut up chunks of raw cookie dough and put it on top of a dish of ice cream. Go figure.

    Your rainbow bridge story made me sad. :( But I’m glad Cecilia is getting her meds!

    • Juice permalink*
      March 26, 2010 12:36 pm

      Brooklyn, this might be setting you down a dangerous path, but commmercially prepared cookie dough is pasteurized for safety…

      Your mom is right about the risk with homemade cookie dough, but somehow the risk / reward has always worked out in favor of eating the dough in my book. ;)

    • mamie nobles permalink
      April 16, 2010 2:41 pm

      Safe cookie dough is made with out eggs. Moms are always worried about the eggs. Pasturized eggs also make edible dough. I understand the aversion, but my mom always let us lick the spoon.

  3. March 26, 2010 12:53 pm

    I’ve never heard of them! I might need to pick some of that up for my sweet pup Selma, who’s on bed-rest because of a limpy leg.

  4. March 26, 2010 1:43 pm

    I would LOVE pre-made cookie dough for the livestock at my house. They’re all cats, though. They vomit everything…maybe you’ve heard since I mention it in almost every post. I am sorry though about the event that caused the cookie baking.

    I love cookie dough and I shamelessly eat homemade cookie dough regularly. I also lick the cake batter out of the bowl.

  5. debby permalink
    March 26, 2010 3:21 pm

    Never heard of Joe Corbi or his grandma. But ch. ch. cookie dough–its way up there on the list of the world’s best foods.

    And that is funny about the dog cookie dough, because my friend just gave me a book about baking for your dog, and I was going to put it in my blog because it is so cute. Some of the cookies in there look absolutely delish!

  6. March 26, 2010 3:34 pm

    no Corbis in Oklahoma either- but I think appealing to pet owners for fundraising is very savvy.

    I’m so sorry for Lucy and her family – I am sure this will be a sad weekend for them.

  7. March 26, 2010 11:34 pm

    Between my three kids and all the other kids on our block in Southern Maryland, I think we kept Joe Corbi in business in the late 90s! And now he has dog cookies! That’s so cool. But I’m in Austin now and there is no Joe Corbi. But! There is a dog bakery on just about every corner. Austin loves dogs.

    P.S. Cookie batter, cake batter, it’s all good!

  8. March 27, 2010 1:07 am

    one tub of cookie dough for humans please. do you deliver to california??

    (just asked my MD raised hubby about Corbi. he has never heard of them – what good is he?? geesh!)

Trackbacks

  1. Putting My Dog To Sleep « all things juice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

