Skip to content

The Highlight Of My Weekend Might Be A Rice Cooker

April 16, 2010

Really I think that might just sum it all up, but for the sake of I-don’t-know-what I’ll just elaborate a little.

Wait.  I do know what.

It’s Pete’s sake.

Isn’t it always for Pete’s sake?  How did he get to have all the sakes?  What about John or Paul or Ringo?  Why is it all Pete all the time?

Selfish Pete.

Anyway, I’m getting a rice cooker.  For $10.  Off of Craigslist.  And yes I realize I can buy one new from the Walmart for only $17, but it’s the principle of the matter.  I’m saving the environment by buying a brand-new-barely-used rice cooker from Dave in Woodlawn.

Not to mention that I’m slightly put out with the Walmart right now.  I don’t know what is going on with my local supercenter, but it is in a rapid decline.  Yesterday I almost took pictures of the empty empty shelves, empty freezer cases, and sad empty produce bins.  Except I could not figure out how to take a picture with Froggy and send it to myself.  And also, does that cost extra money?

Yesterday was the second time (in two trips!) that I called 1-800-WALMART on my way home from the store.  Do you know how hard it is to spell WALMART on a phone that has a QWERTY keyboard instead of a 9-button keypad?  Especially when you’re angry and suffering from low blood sugar on account that it’s dinner time but you’ve been wandering a post-apocryphal Walmart trying to cobble together a meal instead of eating said meal? 

It’s probably harder than making rice in a rice cooker.

Speaking of rice, here’s a question for you:

Do you wash your rice before cooking it, or do you just dump it on in?

I confess I’m a dumper.  It never occurred to me to wash rice until I read about someone else doing it.   Have I been missing something?

For Pete’s sake (or Ringo’s), someone clue me in.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 11:02 am

    I have a fancy rice cooker my hubby about about 20 years ago in Okinawa and yes, I do rinse the rice before I cook it. Sometimes more starch rinses off than others.
    hope you like yours as much as we do.

    and Walmart, big sigh, there are 2 Super Walmarts in my little college town. I have to shop there but I don’t like it, and where are these price roll backs they keep advertising? I just see prices going up.

  2. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    April 16, 2010 1:21 pm

    I confess – I don’t own a rice cooker.

    Although to give myself a little credit, I JUST started learning to cook (out of necessity). It totally freaks my brother out…but then again, he makes Real Meals for himself all the time. I’m still dabbling in the crockpot stage whereas he marinates a steak, grills it, cooks the rice, does something veggie-wise all at the same time. Not sure how to orchestrate all that myself.

    But my mom always washes her rice before sticking it into the cooker. As a child, I remember the rice-water was given to the household plants because it was supposed to be good for them. Who knows if that’s true though….. :)

  3. April 16, 2010 7:47 pm

    I think sometimes it’s Pity’s sake, only when everyone’s sick about it only being about Pete.

    I think your post title is my favorite ever!

    May your rice cooker function perfectly, may your Walmart be restocked to its former glory, and may you have a joyful weekend!

  4. debby permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:01 am

    I have never heard of rinsing my rice. And I don’t know why they recommend rinsing quinoa. It tastes just fine sans-rinse.

  5. August 27, 2010 2:19 pm

    love that you’re getting a barely used rice cooker via craigslist. I could have gotten a new one too but instead, I use the one a former roommate left for me when she moved across the country. She got it at a thrift store, used it endlessly, then I got it – broken handle on the top ‘n all. I love that battered little thing.

    And YEP I rinse the rice in cold water. My friend Pam is married to a man who is half-Laotian and they always have rice in the rice cooker all day long. She told me to rinse the rice in cold water – swishing the rice around. Drain the water, repeat the rinsing, then fill water to the height of “the first knuckle on your pointer finger” above the rice level.

    When I follow her directions…the rice is sooo good! I love popping in some chicken in the oven, some rice in the rice cooker and have “cooked” dinner by pressing only a few buttons!

    Am brand spankin’ new to your blog but I love your writing style! consider me me a new fan of yours.

Trackbacks

  1. Can You Smell That? Part Deux « all things juice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

