Skip to content

Cecilia’s Not Feeling The Love

April 20, 2010

Cecilia has informed me that she is feeling left out these days.

It’s been ages since she garnered more than a brief mention in this blog.

And she’s distressed about the lack of photos.

Let’s remedy that.

Just a casual stroll through a messy room.

Alien Dog

I think this angle minimizes my tumor, don't you?

Cecilia has been sleeping a lot more these days.  Most mornings I have to wake her up to go outside. 

The other more disturbing development is that she seems to have a difficult time getting comfortable.  Thank goodness for her dog beds.  She has a larger one downstairs and a smaller one in my bedroom.  Both have sturdy foam walls so she can rest her chin.  While she usually sleeps in bed with me, last night she couldn’t settle, so I put her into her little bed and propped her head on the side.  She slept that way all night.

Here's a pic of her larger dog bed from when she was modeling Cricket's barrettes.

I called the vet to see if we can increase her medications to keep her more comfortable.  Unfortunately, she’s already pretty much maxed out.

I’ve been blessed to have this dog in my life for the past 4.5 years.  She could be the poster child for senior adoptions.   And now it’s time to let her go.  We have an appointment with the vet for Thursday afternoon.

Ugh.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 3:36 pm

    So sorry to hear that :(

  2. April 20, 2010 4:15 pm

    Oh, Juice. I’m so sorry to hear that. :-( I’ll be keeping you and Cecelia in my thoughts and prayers. It sounds to me like you’ve *both* been blessed, to have shared those years together.

  3. April 20, 2010 4:16 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry. That’s one of the most heartwrenching decisions I ever had to make, and the days leading up to it were, frankly, way worse than the days after. Our pets look at us with those eyes, trusting us to care for them and do what’s best. Bless her heart, and yours, too. :(

  4. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    April 20, 2010 7:32 pm

    Oh oh oh….. my heart is aching……

    Mother’s Day will be my 1-year anniversary for when I had to let Mr Riki go…..and it still hurts and I still miss him. One thing I wish I had done (but didn’t think of because it happened so quick) was take an imprint of his paw.

    Yes, it was a blessing to have Cecilia in your life. Sending peace and prayers to you both.

  5. debby permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:45 am

    I’m so sad, Juice. Seems almost silly of me to be so very fond of a dog I haven’t even met. But you made her very real to all of us. I was just quoting Cecelia the other day (how she calls you ‘Feeder.’) I will keep you in my prayers for the next few days.

  6. April 21, 2010 8:51 am

    I’m so sorry, Juice. I know how very hard it is. Our friends give us so much and ask for so little and our time with them is much too short. I’ll be thinking of you and Cecilia. Hugs for you both.

  7. April 21, 2010 1:20 pm

    Perhaps the only comfort I can tell you is that you know doggie heaven is waaaaaayyyy better than Earth. While it may hurt you, it really is helping her.

    Wish I could be there to let you cry on my shoulder, but I’ll be there in spirit – sending lots of love and prayers for peace your way.

    This too shall pass…

  8. DMW permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:10 pm

    Really sorry to hear that. I was starting to think that old lady would be around forever. She’s a wonder and you’ve been fabulous in the way you’ve taken care of her.

  9. April 21, 2010 6:04 pm

    Oh. That makes my heart hurt. I startled when I read that. I hate this. She is such a sweetheart.

  10. April 21, 2010 7:56 pm

    No Juice NO!!!! Oh man! First Oliver and now Cecilia…I just cannot fall in love with other people’s dogs anymore.

    I’m so sorry Juice. Sometimes life just sucks. This is one of those times.

    I’ll be thinking of you both tomorrow. :(

    (sorry I’m not more encouraging. I’ll try to do better next time I come here)

  11. April 22, 2010 4:03 pm

    Sending you a hug today, Juice. Wish I could be there for you in person.

  12. April 22, 2010 8:27 pm

    The hardest and bravest decision a pet owner ever makes. We adopted a senior dog and had her for two years and had to face the same thing. Even the vet was crying when we left.

    She looks like such a sweetie pie. I want to give you both big hugs. Rub her behind the ears for more for a little while.

  13. April 22, 2010 10:17 pm

    I don’t know if this will make you feel any better, but I gave you an award. Go to my blog and check it out.

    I’ve been thinking of you two all day. I hope you’re feeling okay.

  14. Julie permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:55 am

    I just wrote on your fb page.

    Don’t I know all about this process… Hardest thing in my life to go thru but the right choice and you will feel that.
    It will be hard to come back to an empty house and you will always miss her, but with time it will get better.

    Stay strong and remember of her good life you provided for her and how you did her a favor because she was not comfortable to be around anymore.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

