Skip to content

Traveling South, Day 1

September 27, 2011

Chloe and I were on the road Wednesday from 7:15am to 6:15pm.  We took our time, kept to the speed limit and stopped often so I can’t say that I’m surprised at how long we were in the car, but I think I’ll plan slightly differently next year.  It was a long day.

This was Chloe’s alternate nest for when she got antsy in her seat.  I folded the back seat down and put a couple of pillows there so that she’d be high enough to see out the window.  My strategy worked – she never got car sick.  Hooray!

I took a self portrait while driving so you could see how intently I was focusing on the road.  (Hi Mom.)

Things went smoothly through the Shenandoah Valley.  Then we ran into traffic past Roanoke.  They are using dynamite to widen the highway.  Those mountains are mighty tough to move!  Sometimes the highway was shut down completely.  I was busy figuring out my alternate route when they finally let us through.

This isn’t a great shot, but at least it gives you an idea.  The entire scope of the project is pretty large.

Finally we headed south on Route 8 to check out Floyd, VA.  I lived within an hour of Floyd in high school.  Back then it was a one stoplight town with nothing going on.  Then I read this post and I thought to myself, “Floyd?  Really?”  So I decided to check it out.

It’s still a one stoplight town, but it’s become a quirky / hippie / music-loving / one stoplight destination, particularly on Friday nights.  Whodathunk?

Finished poking around Floyd, we headed up to the Blue Ridge Parkway for a lovely scenic drive over to Blowing Rock, NC.

Except it was really foggy.  Actually not foggy.  A cloud was sitting on the mountain.  I’m not a fan of driving in fog, especially on a twisty turny scenic parkway.  So we turned around and took Route 221 all the way to Blowing Rock.  Route 221 was twisty and turny as well, but it was at a lower elevation with no fog.  Sold!

Did I mention that Route 221 was really really rural?  I’ve never been so happy to see a place for lunch and a rest stop.  By the time we arrived at this Tastee Freeze I really needed to rest, if you know what I mean.

Typical scenery for the drive.

By the time we got close to Blowing Rock, both Chloe and I were sick of the car.  This field of flowers was a welcome sight towards the end of our journey.

And then we arrived in Blowing Rock.

To be continued…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 8:38 am

    Ooooh! Floyd looks like a good spot for our next day trip. I love quirky towns.

    Chloe looks like a great traveling companion, except for the part where she can’t really play the alphabet game with you.

  2. September 28, 2011 9:02 am

    So glad that Chloe had a good trip and did not get carsick! Those roads can be rough! Beautiful country for your drive!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

