Skip to content

Angry Guy

August 31, 2009

Today was a perfectly lovely day until I ran into Angry Guy.  I went boating with friends, played a little tennis, had some homemade soup for dinner (Go me.  Queen of the Crockpot.).  The weather was gorgeous, I remembered my sunscreen, what’s not to love?

Angry Guy.  That’s what.

Let me set the stage.  I live down the block from a old folk’s home.  The ladies there enjoy sitting outside in their lawn chairs and scooters (or shall I be PC and say Personal Mobility Systems?).  I call them the Biddy Club and they are the sweetest ladies once you get to know them.

Directly next to the Biddy Club is a small lawn.  The only patch of green for several blocks.  Can you see where I’m going with this?  It is VERY popular with all the neighborhood dog owners.  Much to the detriment of said lawn.

When I was a young inexperienced dog owner lo these four years ago, I took Cecilia to the lawn.  Daily.   Until one of the Biddy Club made a comment about the unpleasantness of watching dogs crap all day.   Instantly I recognized what a jerk I was and I apologized to the Biddy in question.  And Cecilia has just as happily been crapping in the large mulched area to the side of the old folk’s home.  Of course we still stop to visit with the Biddy Club on our walks.  They give her treats, ask about the tumor and sing to her.  Did you know that there was a song called Cecilia before Simon and Garfunkle?  Here’s a link to the lyrics if you are interested.  It was recorded by Whispering Jack Smith in 1925.   You haven’t lived until you’ve heard a group of 80-something women singing to a dog:

Does your mother know you’re out, Cecilia? Does she know that I’m about to steal ya?
How about a little kiss, Cecilia? Just a kiss you’ll never miss, Cecilia,
Why do we two keep on wasting time?
Oh, Cecilia, say that you’ll be mine!

Since I have grown to know and love the Biddy Club, I try to educate other dog owners about being sensitive to their home.  After all, the mulched area is only another 50 years to walk (if that!).

Enter Angry Guy.

I see his huge yellow lab taking a dump on the lawn.  I begin to talk with him about the lawn.  Out of the corner of the eye I spy a Biddy shaking her head.  But it’s too late and I can’t stop.  I am trying to be calm, polite and respectful at this juncture.

Angry guy ERUPTS.

I’ve been living here for 15 years and how dare you try and tell me what to do.  I always pick up after my dog and she’s been using this lawn for 15 years.  Are you trying to make me angry?  Who are you to tell me what to do? 

Let me just say that this is in front of his two small children wearing helmets and scootering all over the sidewalk (kid’s scooters, not to be confused with PMS).  Side note:  Don’t small kids wearing helmets look like lollipops?

I back off, walk with Cecilia to the mulch area and am followed shortly by Angry Guy and the lollipop kids on wheels.  Trying to take advantage of the relative privacy (the Biddy Club is now out of earshot) I calmly try to speak with this man about using the mulch area.

He erupts.  Even worse this time.  All I could think of was the fact that this man is married to someone who has to put up with this all the time.   That poor woman.  I mean he was nasty.  He actually said “Are you trying to get me angry?  Because you don’t want to see me mad!”  And I’m wondering if he would actually haul off and hit me in front of his kids!

This would be the point where the smaller lollipop loses control of the scooter and grazes Cecilia.  No one was seriously hurt, but in the shock of it all and the heightened emotions I shouted “HEY!” at the kid. 

Angry Guy escalates.  “Don’t you DARE yell at my kid!” ec cetera.

Once again I try to reel things back in.  I apologize for yelling at his kid and try to explain that I had just reacted out of shock.  Angry Guy is having none of it.  Since then I try to avoid him at all costs.  He scares me.

Except that tonight a large yellow lab starts racing towards my delicate, arthritis ridden Cecilia.  On the sidewalk.  In front of the old folk’s home.  Of course the dog belongs to Angry Guy.  Why should he bother with something as trivial as a leash?  Even though IT’S THE LAW?

Let’s just say that things did not go well.  I needed to do some serious praying and confessing of bad attitudes and thoughts.

What’s a girl to do after an encounter with Angry Guy?  Put on some Emmylou, sing about Jesus and cut something. 

Watermelon

Watermelon.

The tiny container on the left is for Cecilia.  She just loves her some watermelon.  And how can you resist this face?

Cecilia anticipating leftovers

She gets fresh melon with her morning kibble.  But I refused her request for a latte. 

Observant readers may note that Cecilia is without her booties.  But that is a story for another day.

In the meantime, here’s to you Angry Guy.  Would you like some watermelon?

——

PS Can anyone tell me how to add a picture of me to this blog?  WordPress? Anyone?  Bueller?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 3:05 am

    Be careful. Angry man sounds like he needs legal intervention.

    I have cats named Annabelle and Lillian and had no idea there is a song about them. I think Sinatra sang it.

    Video of Biddy Club singing Cecelia!!! That’s what we need!

  2. debby permalink
    August 31, 2009 2:01 pm

    Juice, I think the answer to all your blog questions (I saw your questions to Jill too) is in the sidebar under settings. General had a place to add a picture (maybe I’ll add one! and byline. It looks like your comment reply is already enabled, but that setting is under ‘discussion.’

    Whoo, you are bolder than I. I don’t think I would have talked to angryman at all! I love that you take time to talk to the older ladies. And I think I have some serious watermelon cutting to do today! I got a big one yesterday for the first time this summer and it is taking up too much room in my already crowded with produce frig.

    • debby permalink
      August 31, 2009 2:02 pm

      see juice, I hit the reply button and replied to my own comment. Is this what you meant?

      • August 31, 2009 2:11 pm

        Oh my goodness, yes! Yippee!

        Debby you are BRILLIANT!

  3. August 31, 2009 3:36 pm

    Did you like, just now, change your theme? When I first clicked on your blog it was blue, now it’s black and white and I can read your tagline. Am I need of psychiatric attention??

    • allthingsjuice permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:38 pm

      Yes. Even as we speak I am wasting time at work. Hi Bosslady!

      • August 31, 2009 3:44 pm

        Okay good – I was afraid I was losing it!

        Um, yeah I never waste time at work blogging or anything like that. Coughcough.

  4. August 31, 2009 3:45 pm

    Oh, and Angry has serious issues!! He sounds like a danger to everyone! Scary!

  5. debby permalink
    August 31, 2009 4:50 pm

    Hi Juice, I love the new header. Can you move the writing to one side so we can see Cecelia’s face? What about your picture? Or are you still in the experimental stage? Fun to watch someone else play. I don’t know why I haven’t fooled with mine more, except I was scared to even try!

Trackbacks

  1. Cecilia Goes For A Walk « all things juice

Leave a Reply

