Skip to content

Dog. Whispering.

August 31, 2009

Sometimes I wonder if Cecilia is working the whole I’m-old-and-I-have-a-tumor thing to her advantage.  Case in point:  Tonight we had band practice.  Cecilia always goes with me since she is the official band dog.   Here is a picture to prove I am not lying.

Cecilia the Band Dog 

As you can see, Cecilia is carefully monitoring Dead Man Walking to see if he misses a note.  (That guy knows pretty much every Grateful Dead song ever recorded.  I thought the moniker appropriate.  But feel free to comment if you disagree.  I haven’t yet come up with a name for the tall guy in the back.  Suggestions?)

We usually practice in a different (smaller) space.  Dead Man Walking sets his beer on the ground and Cecilia happens to tip it over.  Coinkydink?  I think not.   She never knocks over my beer, even though she does stumble often.  Perhaps she is simply being discriminating.  After all, why knock over Feeder’s Miller Lite when she can tipple (get it? tip? tipple? It’s a pun!) Dead’s White Hawk IPA? 

Oh, this IPA has a nice body to it.  Goes perfectly with the pizza crust I picked up off of Charles Street.  I’ll just lick this carpet for a while.  Hoppy.  Smooth.  Wish Feeder would get some of this.

She’s done the accidental beer tip so often that we don’t even bother going for towel.  She’ll lick it up no matter the surface.

For the record I just need to say that Cecilia had a taste for the ‘shine long before she entered my house.  Couple that with her talking, sitting up on her hindquarters beg pose (complete with frantic paw gestures) and stare-that-cannot-be-refused and you have one powerful dog.  I once watched her beg red wine off a homeless man.  He shared his cup with her and then drank out of it himself.  True story.

That Cecilia is a sly dog.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. debby permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:38 am

    Juice! LOVE the new header. LOVE Cecelia adventures. I have to admit, your humor is very…I don’t know what to call it. Maybe it is young humor, and I am old. Anyways, I get it on the second read-through, and then I really laugh!

    That is one very tall very thin man. Call him Beanpole. That’s what we called my little brother growing up.

    • September 1, 2009 8:35 am

      Thanks Debby! I was up entirely too late last night playing around with headers. I think this one will stick for a while.

      Oh, and did you see that my picture showed up? It’s the little blog icon. I’m not sure if I like that or not…

  2. debby permalink
    September 1, 2009 9:07 am

    Juice, I don’t see your picture…

    • September 1, 2009 9:15 am

      I can see it at the very very tip top of the page where the Internet Explorer “e” logo used to be.

      I guess WordPress likes to roll subtle like that…

  3. September 1, 2009 1:16 pm

    Like Debby, I too love the new header.

    Re: your other band member, you could call him, “Tall Guy in the Back.” 😉

    Oh, that’s so funny about Cecelia! I can definitely see that she’d be hard to resist. We had a cocker spaniel when I was growing up, and she would give us “the eyes” until my step-dad would dribble a little beer on the patio. She’d whimper as she drank, “Oh yeah, that’s soooo tasty.” (My parents drank better beer back then, not so sure she’d do that with the Miller’s.)

  4. September 1, 2009 2:52 pm

    I like the header, too. How about Stretch or Gigantor?

    I leave the starkest comments littered around other people’s blogs. It’s like I can’t make full paragraphs of flowing thought. Sorry about that. It seemed rude to leave just those two unrelated sentences. So of course now I’m filling in with nonsense so it looks like I had something smart to say. Which I don’t. *sheepish*

  5. September 1, 2009 3:11 pm

    I love it! Sweet old girl deserves it in her old age! My Sophie drinks beer as often as she can. Wine too. Just like her momma 🙂 My other dog could care less about it.

  6. jan permalink
    September 1, 2009 5:10 pm

    Hey Juice,
    Jumped over from June to check you out. You are funnier on June’s comments than I think you give yourself credit for. (Oh, thank goodness… I don’t have to worry as much about dangling particples and run-on sentences and punctuation because im not at junes site

    Oh, OK, I try too hard sometimes. I am enjoying checking your blog and wanted to say hi.

    • allthingsjuice permalink*
      September 1, 2009 5:12 pm

      Welcome Jan! Thanks for the compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

