Skip to content

It’s On: Pinto Beans 1, Juice 0. And Some Pictures

September 14, 2009

I’m still stewing over the chili fiasco.  (Get it?  Stewing?)  Inedible chili is not acceptable.  I checked the package of pinto beans and the “best by” date was October 3, 2009.  So according to the Walmart, I’m just under the wire with those bad boys.

This time I’m conducting an experiment.  I’ve got the remainder of the pinto beans soaking tonight.  Tomorrow it’s slow cooking on High until they are tender (with NO SALT.  I’ve learned my lesson.).  I know you all will be on the edge of your seats in anticipation.  If I were more tech savvy I’d Twitter every hour for you.  ‘Cause wouldn’t THAT be exciting?

Hour 1: Rock hard

Hour 2: Same

Hour 3: Still pebble like

Hour 4: Everlasting Jawbreaker

Hour 5: Not much to see here

Makes me wonder how I live without the Twitter.

Anyway, those pintos are going down.  I won’t stop until they are tender.  If it takes all night, I’m on it.  I’m cooking in the name of science, frugality and re-establishing my fragile culinary self-esteem.

Awkward segue…

Oooo, pictures!  Let’s look.

These are from our benefit Saturday night.  The weather was a little damp, so the stage was tented. 

Baby in the corner

Can you imagine my first thought onstage?  Nobody puts Juice in the corner!  Which seems a little sad now given the news about Patrick Swayze.  But it was funny at the time.  Especially when my neighbors showed up and the first thing L said was “Nobody puts Juice in the corner!”

Hair Swinging

I like this action shot.  You can see I’m getting down with my own self.

IMG_1013

I like this shot because you can see all five of us.  Poor Bass Guy so often gets the shaft that way.  But isn’t that what bassists do?  Stand in the back and look moody?

So even if you couldn’t make it Saturday night, now you can feel like you were there.   Be sure to mark your calendars for next year!

Yet another awkward segue…

kkjuice

KK's eggo is seven months preggo in this pic

Isn’t this a terrible picture?  Canon called and they’re going to revoke my license to shoot.  But look past the poor technique and see how happy I am to be on vaca with my sister KK! (hey, I’m a poet and didn’t know it)

I am proud as can be to introduce a new blog to you:  Seriously KK.  It’s my baby sister’s blog and it is brand spanking new.  So head on over and welcome her to the blogosphere.  I’ve told her all about you!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. debby permalink
    September 15, 2009 1:29 am

    Hey Juice,

    Is Marvin a cat?

    Just thought you might need a laugh again at 1:23 am! Thanks for sending me over to June’s blog. I save it for my nghttime entertainment reading.

    Your blog is pretty darn funny too. But I can’t wait until the night time to read your blog. Must check in AM. And seriously, ‘the Twitter’ Comment had me LOL out loud!!!

    Good night and God bless, Juice. Love the band photos, but I really want to hear.

  2. September 15, 2009 8:44 am

    That’s funny about bassists because the guy who plays bass at our church (super guy) is just like that! Good call. Checking out new blog, doing as I am told.

    p.s. Twitter is a snap.

  3. September 15, 2009 9:24 am

    You should post a video of you and the band! I’d love to hear your music. I’m so envious of the fact that you’re a real live musician in a real live band 🙂

    And thank you for the information about the red beans. I had NO IDEA they were poisonous! LOL!

    • Juice permalink*
      September 15, 2009 9:36 am

      Lisa, red beans are ONLY poisonous if you don’t cook them properly. Kind of like if you don’t fully cook chicken you may be risking the whole salmonella thing.

      Otherwise red beans are (generally) yummy and healthy! If you are at all concerned about the poison thing, just use only canned beans. Those are precooked and good to go straight from the can.

  4. September 15, 2009 11:47 am

    What sort of music do you perform? I probably missed that post…

  5. September 15, 2009 12:14 pm

    I must have seen Dirty Dancing 100 times, and I’ve probably used the “nobody puts baby in the corner” a thousand times!

    I have to laugh at that picture! When I submit my photos to tastespotting.com and foodgawker.com, I get a reply back: “uninteresting/dull/under exposed/over exposed!”

  6. seriouslykk permalink
    September 15, 2009 2:49 pm

    Nice caption! Were we in the San Fran airport there or down at the Wharf?

  7. September 15, 2009 3:55 pm

    There is a post on thekitchn.com called Help! How do I properly cook a pot of beans and I had to come back over here to tell you.

  8. September 15, 2009 4:20 pm

    Hey girlie! Sorry it has taken me awhile to get back to you about your Hobby Lobby question! Hmmm…I always check out their clearance section first, because sometimes they have things on 90% off or something crazy like that! I have gotten some gorgeous frames that just have little nicks or imperfections on them, for really cheap. Other than that, they do have cute holiday decor stuff, but again, I usually wait until the holiday is over and THEN go shopping!

    Definitely go to their website, though, and print out the coupon that they have posted. Usually it is good for 40% off one regularly priced item. That way, if you fall in love with something, you don’t have to feel bad about spending a fortune. Good luck! Let me know how you do! 🙂
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

