Skip to content

This Ever Happen To You?

October 20, 2009

You know how sometimes you go out for sushi with a friend and you’re talking and laughing and then you bite the inside of your lip?  And it’s so bad that you have lip shrapnel floating around inside your mouth?

And then a couple of days later a canker sore forms and it hurts so much you can barely eat so you have to chew very carefully on the opposite side of your mouth?  And you start taking walmart advil for the pain even though you feel slightly ridiculous to be taking advil for a stupid canker sore?  And meantime you’re breaking an addiction to caffeine so you have major headaches which means even more advil?somehow a drawing is slightly less gross than a photograph

 

But the advil seems to help so you keep taking it?  Probably in larger quantities than you should?  Until one afternoon you realize that your stomach is hurting and it’s probably from too much advil? 

So then you eat a piece of toast with peanut butter to give your stomach something else to work on?  But it doesn’t seem to help so you have to take a zantac?  And then you start contemplating how many pills you’ve ingested and you feel like a big ol’ idiot?

advil for the frugal

advil for the frugal

 

generic zantac for those who pop too much advil

generic zantac for those who pop too much frugal advil

And by the way your canker sore STILL hurts?

That ever happen to you? 

No?

Uh, me neither.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 11:55 am

    I have one, too. The week of a marathon. Nice. I was taking Aleve for my foot in the hope of getting the chronic inflammation in my foot to go down, but at night that stupid thing hurt like Holy Hannah. I’m in your boat and feeling mighty sorry for you.

  2. October 20, 2009 1:06 pm

    Maybe try something like oragel to numb the sore? Sometimes that helps. (But I know what you mean. My husband has gotten into the ibuprofen-acid reducing medicine cycle a few times himself.)

    I have a sushi-mouth-injury story, too! I was eating the Best Spicy Tuna Roll Evah. But my lip stuck to the nori wrapper. I guess I didn’t realize how firmly it had adhered, because when I pulled the roll off, rrrrrrip! A little chunk of my lower lip came off. Ouch.

    • Juice permalink*
      October 20, 2009 2:23 pm

      Ouch indeed! Who knew sushi could be so dangerous???

      And on a related note, IS IT POSSIBLE to have them make smaller pieces? Would it be such a crime to have 8 (or even, gasp, 10) pieces from a roll instead of the requisite 6? Prolongs the enjoyment and prevents me from looking goofy. Now that’s a win win.

      • October 22, 2009 3:00 pm

        Yeah, and I thought that if I just avoided the fugu, I’d be safe. Who’d have thunk?

  3. debby permalink
    October 21, 2009 2:09 am

    I don’t know anything about the sushi mouth injuries (one of the very few foods I have no wish to try. But I was going to offer the suggestion of our favorite family pain reliever–Excedrin–a wonderful combination of aspirin, tylenol, and caffeine. But then I noticed you are trying to give up caffeine. I don’t really understand a world where you would voluntarily give up coffee and keep eating sushi…

    Hey,if you can believe it,my friend was just telling me today about a time when she kept biting the same place in her mouth, and then it made a permanent place that stuck out, so she had to have surgery to have the bump removed, and the oral surgeon kept telling her it was cannibalism to keep biting herself like that. Weird, huh???

    • Juice permalink*
      October 21, 2009 8:47 am

      Debby, I’m not giving up caffeine for good. I like having it as an “in case of emergency” instant mood lifter. But I’ve noticed when I have too much caffeine the addiction kicks in and the mood lift isn’t as dramatic.

      So I can totally relate to heroin addicts and their constant search for a high as good as the first time.

      I can believe the story about your friend. I think I have some bumps like that myself (and ridges along the inside of my cheeks from where my teeth indent as I sleep). But I do not think I require surgery. Plus, can you imagine the canker sores that would form post surgery as you heal??? Yikes!

    • Juice permalink*
      October 21, 2009 8:47 am

      And seriously? No sushi? You are MISSING OUT!

    • October 22, 2009 3:08 pm

      What, no sushi???? Debbie, I find it hard to believe that you wouldn’t try it, after reading about all the new stuff you’ve tried over the past year. (“Could you, would you, in a box? Could you, would you, with a fox…?”)

      • October 25, 2009 7:58 pm

        You guys are going to have to convince me. Somehow, cold rice and raw fish just doesn’t do it for me. I know I could, in a box or with a fox, but why should I?

  4. October 21, 2009 1:33 pm

    Let me know if you would be interested in meeting up so I can get that book to you before Christmas 😉 or email me your address & I can send it to you

  5. October 21, 2009 4:44 pm

    I think you have a case against the sushi place.
    And I’m with you on the knock-off advil. 🙂

  6. October 21, 2009 6:51 pm

    Ha! Loved your remark on my “Do You Think I’ve Changed?” post. Amazing the difference fifty-something years will make in your appearance…

  7. Erin permalink
    October 22, 2009 11:13 am

    The best thing my dental hygenist ever did for me is tell me about L-Lysine. I get cold sores periodically throughout the year and L-Lysine stops them in their tracks. Same with canker sores, super chapped lips, etc. When I have something bothering me a take 2 in the morning and 2 at night. In 2-3 days everything is better.

    • Juice permalink*
      October 22, 2009 11:20 am

      Erin, thanks for the tip. I’ll buy some today!

Trackbacks

  1. That Trick Hip Is At It Again « all things juice

Leave a Reply

