Skip to content

My Christmas To Do List

October 22, 2009
Censational Girl had a great post the other day that inspired me.  Go read it here.
I’m one of those list-makin’, schedule-happy, calendar-lovin’ kind of girls.  The kind of girl who sometimes finds it difficult to stop and smell the roses.  I’m working on it, but sometimes it’s good to have a reminder.  So I’m following CG’s lead and making a Holiday To-Do list.

1. Listen to new music with my uncle.  Thanksgiving with Uncle Bob is a tradition.  Lately one of our new traditions is listening to one of his CDs as we cook.  I can credit Uncle Bob for introducing me to Eva Cassidy, Diana Krall, Roseanne Cash, and Emmylou Harris.  Who knows who I’ll meet this year?

2. Take a walk Christmas morning.  One of the blessings of not having kids is freedom.  I love taking a walk on Christmas Day.  There is something so precious about that morning.  Thinking about our Saviour in a manger, the angels singing praise, and the amazing love that God has for us just puts me in the best mood.  And everyone you see seems to feel the same way.  I’d say it’s magical, but it’s not.  It’s God-ical.

3. Christmas music, Christmas music, Christmas music!  I start listening to Christmas music on the drive home from Thanksgiving.  And Christmas music stays in the CD player until January 1st.  I have a CD case full of Christmas music and I’m always looking for more.  Any suggestions?

a favorite of mine

a favorite of mine

 

another favorite - the Bach choir of Bethlehem another favorite – the Bach choir of Bethlehem

 

4. Send Christmas cards.  I save my stack of Christmas cards from last year and go through them as I send out my cards.  It’s like reconnecting with old friends all over again.  Plus, when I get this year’s card from my friends I can marvel at how the kids have grown. 

5. Put up my Christmas tree and do my window display.  Last year I deliberately downsized my Christmas decor.  It was becoming a chore, not a celebration.  Now I create a pretty window for my neighbors to see, set up my Christmas tree and decorate it with all the ornaments I have collected from my travels and I’m done.  It’s Christmassy enough for me.  Ahhh.

6. Christmas candles!  I’ve used the same plastic Christmas tree since 1994.  Which I think is pretty environmentally friendly of me.  However, the pine smell is missing.  Which is why I take every opportunity to light my yummy Christmas candles.  Mmmm.

7. Create my homemade Christmas gifts.  Which, as you all know, I cannot discuss.  Sigh.

Now that’s a to do list I can get behind!

What’s on your Holiday To-Do list?

PS I’m having difficulty with spacing in WordPress today.  Argh!

PPS My canker sore has become a canker on my soul!  When oh when will it GO AWAY???

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 12:55 pm

    my #1 is to get a decent picture of all three kids for the christmas card.
    this will be a minor miracle!

  2. October 22, 2009 7:02 pm

    Oh now I’m inspired ! Don’t you just love Christmas ! I go all out – and I LOVE Christmas carols. But I confess, if I have to listen to ‘Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer’ or ‘Frosty the Snowman’ I gag.

    I love that you will take a walk Christmas morning. Now I want to as well !

    Great list.

    • Juice permalink*
      October 23, 2009 9:22 am

      I’m with you on Rudolph. I prefer the non-kid-oriented Christmas carols!

  3. debby permalink
    October 23, 2009 2:33 am

    Hey Juice, You almost got me in the Christmas spirit! I can get a little grinchy at Christmas, mostly because of the commercialization, and the over-the-top busy-ness that even my Christian friends buy into. It drives me nuts. And maybe a little because I have to work a lot on Christmas and my family has not always been that flexible about it. But I love your description of a Christmas morning walk. And I do want to plan something special for both my mom and my dad (separately–bah!)

    And I do enjoy Christmas music. In fact I was already listening to a new CD –Casting Crowns Christmas album. Very nice. I am looking for a song to sing–my pastor asked me to sing at our annual Christmas banquet. Do you have any ideas? I am going to check out that Kathy Mattea album.

    • Juice permalink*
      October 23, 2009 9:23 am

      Hmm, I’ll have to check out Casting Crowns… I love Kathy Mattea’s version of Mary Did You Know? Hope you find something great for the banquet!

  4. October 23, 2009 2:40 pm

    I have already listened to some Christmas music. Some of my favorites come from Harry Connick Jr.’s first Christmas album. I can’t imagine Christmas without Andy Williams, but that’s just showing my age maybe. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Laid Plans « all things juice

Leave a Reply

