Skip to content

My Birthday Season Has Been Bery Bery Good To Me

November 5, 2009

Anyone remember that from Saturday Night Live?  I don’t know if I ever actually saw the Chico Escuela skit, but I know the catchphrase.

Stuff like that tends to clutter my mind.

It’s funny, I used to really dislike my birthday. I’d tend to get depressed and think about all the things I didn’t have (boyfriend, marriage,  kids, people to throw surprise parties for me, etc.)  Honestly I think I was like this for the first 30 years of my life.  Must have been fun fun fun! to be around me in early November.

Then the big 3-0 approached.  My girlfriend and I decided to throw ourselves a joint 30th birthday party and we had a BLAST! 

It’s funny, because a lot of those “woe is me” items were still in place.  I was (and am!) still single.  But taking ownership of that party reminded me that I alone am responsible for my attitude.

And that 30th party launched the Birthday Season.  Due to a variety of reasons, that party occurred about three weeks before my actual birthday.  So I celebrated the entire three weeks.  Which worked out pretty well.  I’ve continued the Birthday Season since then.  After all, why not celebrate ME! as long as possible?

This Birthday Season has been particularly wonderful.  My parents came up to visit over the weekend (which explains my blogging absence) and we had a jam packed weekend filled with trips to the C & O canal, the outlets at Hagerstown, Franklin & Marshall (Pop’s alma mater), the Amish country and the outlets in Lancaster.  Anyone seeing a theme?  Mom and I were doing some power shopping.  Saturday we stuck closer to home and did all kinds of work on my house to better insulate and winterize it.  My Dad was channeling Bob Vila.

Then Sunday Bosslady hosted my birthday tailgate before the Ravens kicked some Bronco booty!

Here is a picture of me sporting my fabulous balloon birthday crown.  Made by my mama.  Try not to be jealous of our picturesque tailgate venue.

balloon hat

Also too?  I got lots-o-fun-gifts.  Several of my friends gave me new books to read.  You already know about KK’s gift to me:  Sonya.  In addition to all kinds of shopping, Mom and Dad brought up a 32″ TV to replace my circa 1995 19″ TV.  They decided to go with one of those newfangled flatscreen thingamajobbies.  I’m holding back.  I just don’t know if that trend is going to stick around.   Don’t mind me over here with my 32″ and my VCR…

Speaking of, anyone want a circa 1995 19″ TV?

Oh!  I have to show you Cecilia’s gift to me!

Ready?

Voila!

Of course I chose the red one

In case you can’t figure it out, it’s a dog stroller.  Yep, I’m the total dork with my dog in a stroller!  But only when she needs it.  The tumor on her shoulder makes it difficult for her to walk long distances.  This way I can walk her to the park and she can enjoy grass instead of concrete.

Doggy bliss, for sure.

Just a few more days before my birthday season ends.  My actual birthday was Wednesday, but I’m throwing a birthday hike on Saturday.  Perhaps I’ll blog about it.  And then I will be done.

The end.

PS I decided no-go on the pee pads in the basement.  I don’t want to encourage Cecilia to use the stairs while I’m away from the house.

PPS This marks the first time I’ve had a visit with the ‘rents where we did not go to the Walmart.  Not once!

PPPS My band is playing at Leadbetter’s November 10th at 9:30pm.  If you are in or near Baltimore, come on out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 9:02 pm

    We love the ‘bery, bery, good to me’ reference and use it often! Glad you’re having a wonderful birthday season. We’re starting it at our house next week and it goes through December (everyone but me has a birthday then). We actually refer to it as the birthday season, too, so you are not alone!

  2. November 6, 2009 9:03 am

    We have a dog stroller for the cats. They enjoy being outdoors and we park them in the driveway when there is outside activity. We also take it camping. I know Cecilia will be grateful to get to the park and be fresh when she gets there! Excellent decision, Feeder!

  3. November 6, 2009 12:03 pm

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!! And I am so jealous of that hat!! 😉

  4. November 6, 2009 2:13 pm

    Yeay, happy birthday season to youuuuu! Looks like you’re having a great time, and I love the balloon hat! Mama has talent!

  5. debby permalink
    November 7, 2009 1:05 am

    Happy birthday season to you! I see you get your sense of humor from your mother!

    I am going to seriously check out the doggie stroller. Where did you get yours? There was quite a price difference in them. I would probably have to get a more expensive model for ‘trails’ I am guessing?

    • Juice permalink*
      November 7, 2009 9:02 am

      Debby, I used JustPetStrollers.com. Good customer service and good prices (although you may be able to find yours a little bit cheaper on Overstock). My stroller was about $80 cheaper online than if I had used my local dog store!

      I went with the AT3 stroller, which I believe is the most rugged they have. It was important to me to have a swiveling front wheel. I’ve pushed baby strollers with a “locked-in-position” front wheet and they drive me crazy!

      Let me know what you decide. 🙂

Leave a Reply

