Skip to content

Good Stuff

November 11, 2009

No rhyme or reason, just a list of good things that make me happy.

1.  My band had a gig last night that went really well.  We tried out 3 new songs (covers, not originals – we’re not THAT good) that were all well received.  Plus we had some really nice tips in the jar.  And best of all, twice during the night the bar got completely silent.  Honestly, the first time that happened to me I kind of got freaked out.  Because I tend to think the worst sometimes.  Then I realized that the reason was because people had stopped talking and were actually listening closely to us.  How flattering!  We play again November 24th, so if you are in the Baltimore area email me if you’d like to see us.

2.  I have not heard a peep from my rodent friends.  And I have a roofer coming to check for possible entry points on Monday (supposed to be today but it’s raining).  Since I heard the critter on my second floor I’m assuming it came in through the roof.  Plus, if it had come up from the basement or first floor it would have gone straight to the kitchen.  Fortunately I have seen no evidence of anything amiss in my kitchen.  God is good to me.

3.  I’m hosting a foster kid this weekend for respite care and I’m really excited about hanging out with him.  If the weather cooperates I think we will check out Cunningham Falls on Saturday.  Yay for exploring! 

cunnpic

Imagine me here

4.  Book club is tonight and I always lurve me some book club!   The women in my book club are bright, interesting and funny funny funny.  I’m guaranteed to laugh out loud tonight – maybe even guffaw.  It does my soul good.  This month we read The Lace Reader.  Interesting but not my favorite.  I already put my review on Goodreads.com, so I won’t bore you with the details here.  But if you want to link to me on Goodreads just let me know.  I always love connecting with fellow bookworms.

5.  I’m working on a crafty project for a friend’s birthday.  Since it’s not for my sister, I can actually post pictures of it prior to Christmas!  Here’s a hint:

floss

This stuff makes me giddy

6.  I had a fabulous time on my birthday hike.  The weather was gorgeous.  Friends from different areas of my life came and I had the joy of watching them make connections.  Isn’t it fun when you can introduce new friends to each other?

artistic hike

Four intrepid hikers

hobbit hole

Me and Tennis in a hobbit hidey hole!

God is so good to me every day.  Tell me how he’s blessed you!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:39 pm

    You look really good!

    I loved this post.

  2. debby permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:51 pm

    Wow, Juice, I think you are the only person I know who could connect the two statements ‘God is good to me’ and ‘there is a mouse in my house.’

    You look gorgeous in the pictures. What a great smile.

    I really believe Sophie was a gift from God, because of the timing, and how I got her. It was like he said, look at what good gifts I can give you. And now I think so even more because the other two are unexpectedly gone.

    God is so good to me all the time. Just sometimes I don’t take the time to pay attention to it.

    • Juice permalink*
      November 11, 2009 5:54 pm

      Girl… mouse, schmouse. I truly think it was a RAT in my house. So much much much worse!!!!!

      What sweet words about Sophie. So glad she is a comfort to you. 🙂

      • debby permalink
        November 11, 2009 7:12 pm

        Hah! I agree that it is probably a rat. I was just trying to downplay it, plus, mouse rhymes better with house.

        p.s. I just noticed that I ended today’s post on my blog with ‘God is so good.’ Weird, huh? Well, I guess weird is the wrong word…

  3. November 11, 2009 8:51 pm

    Glad things are going well. I have to admit I would be taking the rodent issue no way near as smooth as you are. Can you say drama queen. lol The hubby & I really need to head out to see you perform. We need a date night either way once he returns so what better excuse 🙂

    My little family is the best blessing I could ever receive. My dogs always keep me hopping & entertained. I am lucky to have married such a wonderful man that actually gets me. Bobby is the biggest blessing of them all especially since he was never supposed to exist 🙂

  4. November 11, 2009 9:08 pm

    I’m on Goodreads, too. You should also check out my book club page – the Bluestockings – the link is on my blog. Our November meeting is tomorrow and I’m like you…looking forward to it!

  5. November 11, 2009 10:59 pm

    So much to be thankful for! (I’m going to make that tomorrow’s post, because I was kind of whiney today.) Glad there’s lots of good stuff going on for you.

  6. November 12, 2009 5:09 pm

    NETI POT!!!! life changing indeed!!!! years ago i went to an allergist, he said “do you always breath out of your mouth”, i said “what do you breath out of?”

    My big ugly nose has been purely ornamental since birth…. thanks to the neti pot, it does what it’s suppose to (wish it’s purpose was to be cute, but alas… it is not)

Leave a Reply

