Skip to content

10×10 – Day 1

November 19, 2009

What I forgot about walking 10,000 steps per day:

I have to be intentional* about it.

Act like this guy

Act like this guy

My normal sedentary life gives me somewhere between 2000 – 5000 steps daily.  To hit 10,000 I need to walk the dog more often, park farther away from things, do an extra loop around the Target (meaning a loss for both my weight and my wallet), etc, etc.  Last night Cecilia and I (and the fabulous dog stroller) headed out at 8:30pm and didn’t get back to 9:30.  And I still had to do those last few steps in my hallway!

Total for the day: 10,005.

Whew!

* Am I the only person who cringes when someone talks about being intentional?  For some reason, that word brings up images of new age-y incense-burning uber-serious people talking deep thoughts and asking me to be present with stuff.   But maybe that’s just me.  You?

PS I apologize for the lack of adorable pics of Cecilia in her stroller.  I can assure you it is just darlin’ plus, but we’ve been walking at night which does not make for great pics.  Stay tuned.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 11:55 am

    I’m with you in spirit – but I’ll be hitting the gym… starting today!

    • Juice permalink*
      November 19, 2009 12:13 pm

      Rock on with your new-gym-membership self!

  2. November 19, 2009 3:45 pm

    I feel the same way about the word intentional. It has a new age quality to it I find a little annoying. Good for you and those extra 5 steps, you little overachiever, you.

  3. November 19, 2009 7:22 pm

    Yep, I didn’t do anything extra today and ended up with about 5,000. Guess I’m going to have to be intentional, too. 🙂

    Maybe if I had a darlin’ plus dog, I could do 10,000.

  4. November 20, 2009 9:37 am

    WOW! That is an awesome amount of steps especially with an office job! You should be very proud of your “intentional” efforts 🙂

  5. November 20, 2009 11:46 am

    I was wondering about your 10000 steps because the other day at work I walked over 4 miles and it was just about 10000 steps.

    And intentional? I didn’t know it was new-agey. I like it because Dallas Willard uses this great acronym (?) VIM–Vision, Intention, Means. I have been meaning to write a post about this forever. Maybe this will motivate me.

Leave a Reply

