Skip to content

A Post In Which I Talk About Nothing

December 3, 2009

I’m having blog-guilt for not posting this week, but I assure you it is because my life is boring and Cecilia has not done anything of interest.

Well, perhaps she has, but I have not been home to see it.

Tuesday night we had a gig over in Fells Point.  We had the 9:30pm – 1:30am slot.  This never fails to amuse me seeing as how I’m normally IN BED by 9:30pm.  But hey, I have to make sacrifices for my art, right? 

Make good tips tonight Feeder. That kibble ain't gonna buy itself.

Around about midnight the bar kind of empties out.  I’m thinking the next hour and a half may turn into a practice for me and Dead Man Walking.  But I forgot that Baltimore is a convention town.  And those conventioners are partying people.  This week it was the C-TEL convention.  Or something like that.  They describe themselves as the AAA of the water.  If your boat breaks down, they’ll come get you.

I thought that was the Coast Guard, but apparently I was wrong about that.

So five C-TELs come pouring in along with a few others – a couple on a date, some random guys – and all of a sudden our little bar is looking full again.  And the C-TELs are buying rounds of shots for the bar and requesting songs and dancing and everyone is having big fun.  And don’t you know Dead Man Walking is truly a musical encyclopedia because they’re requesting stuff we have never ever played before and DMW is playing it! 

DMW looks over at me round about 1:15am and and says, “You know this is going into overtime, right?” 

We played until 1:50.  I got to bed at 2:30am.

Yesterday I was too tired to blog.  And then I had a date.  But I do not discuss dating on this blog so that is all I can share with you:  I had a date.

This concludes my boring life.

Oh!  Except that I have to tell you that the overachiever in me is still in full effect.  Because guess who has been doing 10,000 steps EVERY DAY?  Even though that meant a quick walk around the block during a break at the bar?

But then sometimes the overachiever in me = FAIL.  Because guess who got all inspired by this adorable Advent calender and decided to make it for her sister’s family for Christmas and then went to the Michael’s and got totally overwhelmed and disgusted and decided to chuck it all?  So sorry KK, no Advent calendar for you.  Although I’d totally help YOU make it if you were so inclined.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 1:08 pm

    I understand blog guilt. Cecilia has probably been working overtime doing fun and interesting things, too. Sometimes it’s hard to tell, though. You can always tell us about your steps. I am impressed and clearly so are others.

  2. December 3, 2009 3:10 pm

    Oh, Juice. Even when you supposedly have nothing to say, I’m still entertained by your posts! (Not to mention Cecelia’s wit.)

    I got my “Think Geek” catalog last night and noticed that they have a little camera that you can put on your pet’s collar and it takes pictures at timed intervals during the day. While when Bela was younger, we might have gotten some great evidence about her antics on our kitchen counter, we’d probably now just get a bunch of close-ups of her dog bed and kids’ toys scattered on the floor.

  3. December 3, 2009 5:31 pm

    LOVED all the pictures from Thanksgiving!! You know Cecilia has been partying like a rock star when you aren’t there 🙂

  4. debby permalink
    December 4, 2009 12:40 am

    Yeah, the blog guilt. I read your blog and then I had to go start working on one of my own before I came back and commented on yours! And I second Pubsgal’s comment. You can write about your ‘boring life’ any old time! And as long as Cecelia has a comment or two to add, I am happy.

    Yay to you on the 10,000 steps.

    And I understand, but I really liked the date reports we used to get!

    That advent calendar is really cute. But I understand the getting overwhelmed at Michaels. Maybe we should start it in January and it will be finished by next year at Christmas…

  5. December 4, 2009 6:57 am

    no blogguilt woman!
    we depend on you to get out there and live….and then report back 🙂

  6. December 4, 2009 1:02 pm

    1. Have no guilt about the homemade gift. I started yours, got about 5% done and have not gone back to do the other 95% yet. Now I’m not as motivated as I once was, so I might just scrap the idea entirely and return to Michaels for fresh inspiration. Sigh. I’m about two seconds away from buying you a $100 Southwest giftcard and calling it a day. But really, that would be a gift more for me than you. 🙂

    2. A date?! And you didn’t TELL me?! j/k 🙂

    3. Ummm… I didn’t get a lot of sleep last night and forgot what point #3 was… this is my life.

    • Juice permalink*
      December 4, 2009 4:25 pm

      Girl, we may need to discuss this homemade Christmas. A Southwest gift card is sounding fabulous to me. And once you see the kindergarten-crafts I have masquerading as gifts you’ll probably be feeling a little bah humbug yourself! Let’s discuss.

  7. sparkles permalink
    December 4, 2009 4:08 pm

    there you are! i love that snap of cecilia. and i love your 9:30 bedtime and voracious reading habits. you’re definitely not a boring girl. hmm, but i suspect you posted about your date night just so i’d FINALLY return your phone call in order to get me some details! good girl! 😉

Leave a Reply

