Skip to content

Resolving to Resolve

December 29, 2009

Wow.  A decade has passed since I partied like it’s 1999. 

Remember planning for 2000?  Did you do anything wacky like stockpiling canned goods or squirreling away cash?  I think I bought some bottled water but that’s about it.  KK and I celebrated the New Year / Decade / Century together, which is a memory I’ll  treasure. 

Too bad I don’t have a funny picture to include here, but I didn’t have a digital camera in 2000.  Nor do I have a scanner for those old pics.  Nor the motivation to actually find said pics and scan them.  (Mom and Dad, don’t get me a scanner!  I don’t want it.  And I don’t have space to store it).

Although they are cute.  The pics I mean.  Not scanners.

Side note:  My parents are reading my blog now.  As evidenced by my Mom’s comment on this post

So I call home to tell her that I thought it was neat that she left a comment and my Dad casually mentions that he’s been reading my blog for some time now!  Um, thanks for lurking, Pop.  I’m really glad I didn’t write a post about the Christmas presents I bought for you guys!

Note to self: Don’t mention super secret items not intended for parental consumption on this blog.  Ever.

Moving on…

It’s that time of year.  Resolution time.

Last year I made three resolutions:

1. Get more sleep.

2.  Hit a weight loss goal by March.

3. Hike 4 new trails in 2009.

Hmmm.  Well I definitely accomplished goal #3.  And goal #2, although I can’t say that I’m at that weight now.  Goal #1 has been up and down.  Singing at bars until 2am doesn’t really help one get more sleep.  But I’m having fun, so it’s worth it to me.  Just ignore the bags under my eyes, ok?

I have to say that my favorite goal of 2009 was the hiking goal.  And it matches that SMART acronym (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely). 

I think there’s a lot of pressure to have BIG LOFTY AMAZING goals.  You know – run a marathon, write a novel, cure cancer, memorize the New Testament.  The idea of  that stuff gives me agita. 

Wanna know my New Year’s resolution for 2010?

1.  Type all my Christmas card addresses onto labels that I can use next year and every year after.

Maybe without the palm tree, yes?

That’s all I got.

You?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 5:35 pm

    Every year, when I’m writing out everyone’s addresses on the cards, I tell myself it would be such a good idea to put all those on the computer and just print out labels. And then, 5 minutes and 10 Christmas cookies later, I am on a sugar high and forget. Short attention span. Good luck with that! Let me know how you do. And thanks for stopping by.

  2. December 29, 2009 6:55 pm

    I don’t like making resolutions. I made the list of things to do for the holidays and a doctor got that sort of off to the wrong start (I blame others if I can!). I am doing the American Lung Association Climb for Air in February, so I have gotten on the program as of today for getting into shape for that. Otherwise, no resolutions. I do have a few ideas for the year, though. Well, mostly one idea: to mostly run a half marathon rather than mostly walk one. I did so well at the Air Force Marathon, it got me to thinking…

  3. debby permalink
    December 30, 2009 1:18 am

    Um, yikes. Parental reading of blog. Quelle nightmare pour moi. I don’t know why I lapsed into french. Maybe because if my mom found out I had a blog I’d have to start writing it in french?

  4. December 30, 2009 12:01 pm

    I am really tired of making the weight loss goal every year – but at least I do weigh about 10 pounds less than I did last year,

    I’m thinking of just a month goal – like to keep trying to remember to take my own sacks into a store, Also for Jan. to not eat out at all unless there is just some emergency where we have to be away from home beyond our control.

    • December 30, 2009 1:09 pm

      Rhonda, that is so weird! Just last night I thought to myself, “Maybe I could do monthly resolutions instead of yearly ones… They’d be smaller, more manageable, etc.” Great minds think alike!

      • December 31, 2009 7:02 pm

        Oh, yes, the 1999->2000 transition. I remember the suspense, especially intense here in Silicon Valley, because it was the computers that were supposedly going to cause all the havoc. We watched all the celebrations around the world, and by the time midnight rolled around here, we were feeling pretty comfortable about the whole Y2K thing. We did a nice beach trail walk and car picnic (it was cold) on the first day of 2000.

        As for the “thing a month” idea, I planned that in 2008. The only thing that really “stuck” was doing the projects in my origami page-a-day calendar…probably because the other things weren’t fun, and I was supposed to keep doing them after the month was up. But it’s funny, looking back, I did make a lot of changes in the latter half of 2008 (sort of unrelated to my resolutions) that made 2009 a much better year for me.

        As for 2009, I stubbornly resisted the whole “new year’s resolution” thing–like you mentioned–there seemed to me to be a lot of assumption in the blogosphere about having one. (And I wasn’t really ready to think about 2009 at 12:01 a.m. on December 26, 2008…I was new to blogging, and it seemed like 2009 thinking felt kind of rushed last year) Did I have some goals? Yes. Did I do them? Yes. Do I have goals for 2010? Yes, but they’re just “more of the same” goals.

        I think you’ve got a fantastic goal. I rather like the palm trees, too.

  5. December 30, 2009 12:07 pm

    My family reads my blog and that was primarily the reason I started up again. I had a blog that I started in 2000, but after my dad died in 2006, I deleted the entire blog. I only started again because I was asked to, but I’m glad I did. I live far away from everyone and I am glad they care. But I think since it started as a family blog, I am really grateful for my other readers. My other blog didn’t have any non-family readers and I am really enjoying the way I “meet” new people here.

    Are you going to keep up your 10,000 steps at all? I tried to do it a couple days ago, but I leaned against something and reset the dumb thing!! Duh.

    • Juice permalink*
      December 30, 2009 2:26 pm

      Caron, my sympathy regarding your dad. 😦

      The 10K steps has recently gone by the wayside. I’ve thought of resurrecting it for 2010… Maybe I could try a month of 10K?

      • December 30, 2009 11:13 pm

        You bet: One month of 10K. Now you have to pick the month!

  6. sparkles permalink
    December 30, 2009 2:22 pm

    although i’m not a fan, i suppose i will support your christmas card labels. but under no circumstances are you to ever become one of those ppl who imprints the inside of their cards as well.

    ugh. no personalization? i don’t want it.

    deal?! 😉 xo

    • Juice permalink*
      December 30, 2009 2:24 pm

      Sparkles, if I automate the labels, I free up time for a MORE personalized message inside!

Trackbacks

  1. 20 Items Or Less « all things juice
  2. A Christmas Card Conundrum « all things juice

Leave a Reply

