Skip to content

Bracing For Snow

February 4, 2010

Once again, we are under a Winter Storm Warning.  Snow is expected to start tomorrow morning and continue through Saturday night, with accumulations of 16 – 24 inches. 

I thought I lived in Baltimore, but apparently I am in Buffalo.  Maybe there was some kind of LOST time / space shift that I missed.  If Cecilia starts acting strangely, I’ll know it’s because her body was taken over by some evil dog with dubious motives.

Speaking of which, I still haven’t made it through the LOST season premier.  Apparently I’ll have lots of time to watch it this weekend.  Along with Season 5, Disc 2 which my neighbor got via Netflix today. 

Do you know who’s going to be all kinds of excited about the snow?

Cecilia the gourmet

Yep, that’s a picture of Cecilia eating snow.  She’s obsessed with it.  Yesterday morning I woke up to about 3 inches of snow.  I took Cecilia out for her morning walk figuring that I’d shovel the sidewalk while she did her business.  That crazy dog stood on the steps eating snow the entire time I shoveled!  I had to physically carry her to the pee area.  Even then, she was trying to eat snow instead of doing her business.   Today I had to bribe her back inside the house with a handful of snow. 

So I may run to the store today with the rest of Maryland to get the fixings for Baltimore Casserole.  Ever heard of it?  It’s super easy, just three ingredients:

Milk

plus

Bread

plus

Toilet Paper

No joke.  A snow storm comes and the stores sell out of those items.  One year at a Christmas party a coworker brought Baltimore Casserole for the present swap! 

Personally I can think of a few other items I’d like to have in the event of a snowstorm.  Where is the chocolate?  Or the DVDs?  How about some soup or tea?  Salt for the sidewalk?  Extra Pam for the snow shovel?

Assuming I survive the snowpocalypse, I’ll try to post this weekend with pictures.  In the meantime you can imagine me, Cecilia and my sock monkey slippers cozy on the sofa watching LOST.  Unless Cecilia starts attacking the slippers.  Then I’ll know she’s joined the Others.

If you don’t hear from me, you can assume I’ve time / space shifted again.  To Siberia.

Send soup and chocolate.  And toilet paper.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 3:46 pm

    Ha!! I bought one of those casseroles last week! I think I might have to buy another this weekend because we are supposed to get hit as well AGAIN.

    le sigh.

    I’m ready for spring.

  2. debby permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:44 pm

    A storm is trying to blow in here as well. Just rain, I think. Can I still use it as an excuse to eat chocolate???

  3. February 4, 2010 10:38 pm

    I don’t miss living in MD at all. Not even a little bit. I don’t do snow and I hate casseroles, too. LOL However, in the 6 years that I lived there and the few times (thank the lord!) that we had snow, I made fried pickles for all the neighbors, who somehow ended up down at our house. Pickles, TP and booze. I think that’s what it was.

    Good luck. I would send chocolate, but I ate it all. I’ll send warm thoughts instead.

  4. February 4, 2010 11:20 pm

    oh, i heard from my inlaws that the snow storm is coming … guess they are not lying. 😛

    i would send chocolate and toilet tissue – but it’s not like they will deliver mail in the storm, right?

    can’t wait to see more pics!

  5. February 5, 2010 11:58 am

    Our forecast as of right now has snow every day until next Tuesday. It would be nicer if we were snowed in, but then we’ve done that this season already…more than once. I’m all for the treats and sock monkey slippers and fried pickles sound wonderful.

Leave a Reply

