Skip to content

Snow Related Lists

February 12, 2010

Random thoughts inspired or not by the Snowpocalyse

Things I Like

1.     Yaktrax.   These babies are awesome.  Dad bought me a pair last year for hiking.  I have yet to use them for the intended purpose, but they sure came in handy recently.

Highly recommended

2.     Sidewalk Scraper.  I’ve been chopping ice all week with my spade (rounded blade) and my neighbor’s spade (flat edged).  Somehow I think this tool would have made life easier for all of us.  Needless to say, it’s on my shopping list. 

If I had had one of these, my spade would still have a point...

4.  Ergonomic shovels.  My poor neighbors went with the cheapo shovel (doesn’t even have a handle!  Just a blade and a stick!) and I have the deluxe ergo shovel.  It is a night and day difference in the shoveling experience.

Well worth the investment

4.     Salt.

'nough said

 5.     A Good Book.

Thank you Ms. Stockett for entertaining me during the Snowpocalypse.

Things That Are Bugging Me

1.     My Snow Boots.  Bosslady and I got the exact same pair of Sporto snowboots back in late 2000.   They are supercute, comfortable and warm.  Well, at least mine were.  The plastic over the toe part has cracked.  Which makes them no longer waterproof.  Which makes them cold.  Especially when you step in a patch of snow that turns out to be a very deep puddle of slush.  Thank goodness Neighbor L gave me rainboots for my birthday back in November, because my snow boots are still wet from yesterday.

God bless Neighbor L!

Oh, and ps?  Bosslady’s boots are still perfectly waterproof.  Not that I’m bitter or anything.

2.     Neighbors Who Do Not Shovel Their Sidewalks.   This really hit home for me when I saw a homeless man on crutches walking in the middle of the street.  He couldn’t walk on the sidewalk because he cannot navigate the unshoveled parts.  For that matter, neither can Cecilia.  It’s impossible for us to walk around the block.  I have to carry her over the unshoveled parts.

3.     This Patch Of Dry Skin On My Eyelid.  This one isn’t snowpocalypse-related, but it still irks.  I’ve had this patch of dry skin for over a month now.  It’s red, itchy, scale-y and completely uncomfortable.  I’ve tried Neosporin, extra moisturizer, Dr. Gordshell’s Salve, all to no avail.  I’m about to try some Bio-Oil.  Anyone have any suggestions? 

Another product developed in Baltimore!

4.     Puzzles With Too Many Blue Pieces.  That 1000 piece puzzle is still half-finished on my dining room table.   Who picked this stupid puzzle???  Oh, wait… I did.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:44 pm

    Dear Juice – I’m glad to see you’re surviving all that snow. Yes, I’m alive and STILL owe you an email! Maybe you can try a little hydrocortisone on that itchy patch? (my usual stand-by) Also, it’s such a shame that we’re not closer neighbors – because I *heart* puzzles!!! (of course MY 1000 piece puzzle hasn’t been touched in forever…..)

  2. February 12, 2010 3:17 pm

    Love the boots!

  3. February 12, 2010 11:09 pm

    Sorry you have slackers for neighbors…so annoying. We actually got a few flurries late today…exciting for the deep south!

    About that rough patch…I’d see a dermatologist. I had one like that just above my lip and it was precancerous.

    Loved The Help. Have you read Her Fearful Symmetry? A friend loaned it to me; she loved it. It might have to wait because I have to read East of Eden for March’s book club meeting.

    • Juice permalink*
      February 15, 2010 11:52 am

      Pendy, yes I think there is a trip to the derm in my future. 😦

      I have not yet read Her Fearful Symmetry, but I loved Time Traveler’s Wife. Let me know if you enjoy it!

  4. February 13, 2010 5:43 pm

    OMGoodness! I finally got my computer back from the Geeks and have been looking through your snowcapolypse pictures. All I can say is I didn’t move away from MD a day too soon!

    I hope you don’t mind the snow. I hate it. And would be in a puddle on the kitchen floor sucking my thumb right about now.

    Good luck!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Swirl, It Is Strong Today « all things juice

Leave a Reply

