Skip to content

Get It Pop It Lock It Drop It That Old Cell Phone

March 4, 2010

Someone, and I won’t name names, had a severe case of the dropsies last weekend in San Diego.  And just in case you aren’t aware, let me be the first to tell you that cameras and cell phones don’t take kindly to the dropsies.

Someone’s camera has a date with the repair shop later this week.

And someone got a different kind of souvenir from her vacation.  A new phone.  Because apparently cell phones and toilets don’t mix. 

As Nancy Reagan would say, “Just say no.”

Just say no to keeping your cell phone in your back pocket so that you don’t have to carry a big purse on a night out.  Because maybe you want to get your groove on without an extra ten pounds swinging from your shoulder.  Maybe you just need to get it pop it lock it drop it that birthday cake unencumbered by reminders of your middle-aged-ness.  Maybe when someone calls you ma’am you just think to yourself “that’s not my name, that’s not my name, that’s not my name, that’s not my name.”  All I’m saying is that while you’re holding your purse Imma be up in da club doin’ whatever I like. 

And yes, I had to google to make sure I had those lyrics right.

Anyway, after five-plus years with the Pink Lady, it’s time to say goodbye.

Farewell my friend

And hello to my new QWERTY friend Froggy.

Hello new friend?

Listen Froggy.  I think I need to let you know just how vulnerable a new phone makes me feel.  In fact, I think I need to do it in song.  Nicolette Larson said it best:

its gonna take a lotta love to change the way things are
its gonna take alotta love or we wont get too far
so if you look in my direction
and we dont see eye to eye,
my heart needs protection and so do i .

its gonna take a lotta love to get us through the night
its gonna take a lotta love to make this work out right…

Be gentle with me Froggy.  Don’t beep and expect me to know what you want.  And whatever you do, please don’t jump  into a toilet like Pink Lady.  I need to know I can count on you.  Even if I keep you in my back pocket.

Because after all, I’m a fire burnin fire burnin on the dance floor.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 11:26 am

    I got a new cell phone in December and it’s still bustin’ my chops. Good luck! Froggy looks like a very nice phone.

  2. March 4, 2010 2:57 pm

    Oooh, Froggy looks fun! I want a Froggy!!

  3. March 4, 2010 7:06 pm

    Hey party girl! Why don’t you tell everyone exactly where you dropped it in the pooper? A Border’s BookStore???!!!! Mom and Dad are so proud you were rockin’ beats at the bookstore! 🙂

    • Juice permalink*
      March 4, 2010 10:10 pm

      Hey, that Border’s book store was a stroke of genius on my part. Guaranteed to be cleaner than any bar bathroom. And it was on the way from one bar to the next!

  4. March 5, 2010 9:21 am

    Your Froggy looks so cute! Once I went QWERTY, I could never go back. Now I have an iPhone and am totally addicted.

  5. debby permalink
    March 5, 2010 5:02 pm

    Hey I think you jinxed me–I dropped my camera and now it is not working. I think its breathed its final breath….

  6. DMW permalink
    March 5, 2010 5:18 pm

    That Nicolette Larson tune was written by my man Neil Young. I’m so proud of you! Next up you’ll be quoting the Dead.

  7. March 7, 2010 11:24 am

    you should be congratulated for keeping your pink phone for 5 years~ that might be a record.
    at my old office, at least 4 of my co-workers dropped their phones in the office toilet

    your new green does look cool.
    I am such a homebody, our landline and a Tracfone works just fine for me.

    • Juice permalink*
      March 8, 2010 11:41 am

      Rhonda, I’m strangely comforted by your coworkers’ misfortunes. See, it’s not just me!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Randomness In A List Format « all things juice
  2. The Highlight Of My Weekend Might Be A Rice Cooker « all things juice

Leave a Reply

