Skip to content

Weekend Randomness In A List Format

March 15, 2010

I cannot wrap my brain around this dark, dark morning.  Not only am I struggling with daylight savings time, but it is also grey and rainy outside.  Again. 

So you’ll get this post in full randomness.  I’m going to go out on a limb here and blame it on the rain.

I just love it when I can quote song lyrics.

Listy Randomness:

4a)  I am praising God that I have not had to use the shop-vac all weekend.  The basement is damp, but not wet.  Which gives me plenty of time to build that ark.  I think it might come in handy.

iii) KK and I decided to sponsor a Compassion International child!  I’ve been reading Kristen’s blog about her trip to Kenya and it has really touched me.  We have so much here in the US, while others have so little.  Our child is a little boy named Stif in Indonesia.  He is exactly the same age as Tank.  I like to imagine that they might be great friends in heaven someday.

F) The universe is conspiring to drag me kicking and screaming into the 21st century.  Last month it was Froggy.  This month:  the Playaway.

Newfangled devices. Harumph!

What happened to the days where you could go to the library and pick up a book on CD for the car?  I ordered Shutter Island (our book club selection) from the local library.  OK, not exactly my local library, but the local library closest to where I work.  [Thank goodness Maryland has an all-access library system.  My parents would have to pay a fee to join the library closest to them, since it’s the next county over!  So boo to Florida and Maryland, you rock.  But I digress.]

Anyway, I’m about 245,675th in line for the book, but I was only 2nd in line for the audiobook.  But it was not a book on CD as I had expected.  No, it was the playaway!  You have to provide your own earphones and AAA battery.  And then you have to hide a single earphone in your hair as you’re driving in the car on the world’s longest roadtrip through Pennsyltucky in the rain.

Did I mention that it rained all weekend?  I did?  Oh.  I’m repeating myself.  I’ll just blame it on the rain…

8)  Mr Excuse Me is coming to visit this weekend.  I have a new mushroom-free chicken recipe to try out on him.  I’ll let you know if it’s any good.  I sure hope it doesn’t rain.

b)  Speaking of food, Sunday evening I made a batch of single girl stew.  ‘Cause sometimes you just need some comfort.  Especially on a grey rainy day. 

Single girl stew:  1 box of kraft mac and cheese original.  Frozen peas.  Can of tuna.  Prepare pasta and add peas to the pasta water to thaw.  Fix mac and cheese (plus peas) according to directions.  Stir in drained tuna.  Enjoy and realize that you could never serve this to anyone.  It’s just for us single girls. 

I wish I could quit you mac-n-cheese...

Sunday night I was on a clean-out-my-pantry tear, so I used evaporated milk and added in some dehydrated wild mushrooms from TJs.  I’m not normally all wild and crazy like that.  I blame it on the rain.

IV) Once again I will be sucked into a season of Dancing With The Stars.  All because of one man:

Child, please.

 Have you ever listened to this guy?  Because he has got some kind of funny.  And that’s a lot for me to admit considering he plays for the wrong team.  I can’t wait to watch him on DWTS.

e.5.iii) I can’t think of anything else to share with you, although I’m sure there must be something rattling around in my head.

I’ll just blame it on the rain.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 1:22 pm

    “BLAME IT ON THE RAIN, YEAH YEAH, BLAME IT ON THE STARS THAT SHINE AT NIGHT” Thank you Juice, for putting this song into my head where it will most likely stay for the next 3 days without ceasing. Thank you.

    Mac n cheese = addictive in any form. I wish I could quit you, yellow mystery powder!

    🙂

    • Juice permalink*
      March 15, 2010 1:26 pm

      Yellow mystery powder, bwahaha. You got some of the funny too!

      • debby permalink
        March 15, 2010 10:00 pm

        LOL LOL LOL! My two funny friends conspire to amuse moi! Thank you!

  2. March 15, 2010 4:30 pm

    Congratulations on your new sponsorship of a child through Compassion! It is so rewarding! I’ve been a sponsor for almost a year and can’t say enough good things about it.

    • Juice permalink*
      March 15, 2010 10:50 pm

      Pendy, I’m so glad you’ve had a positive experience! Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. debby permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:06 pm

    Okay, there was a lot more I wanted to comment on here. THAT GUY is on dancing with the stars AND he is funny? Oh my, I might just be buying a tv set this weekend…

    Compassion International, and you adopting a kid–me standing up and giving you a standing ovation. SO proud of you. Vapor that I like so well does similar work to Compassion. I have to check out Kristin’s blog. I also like that you and your sister are doing it together.

    The single girl stew is too funny. I used to love tuna casserole, but nobody taught me that I could make it that way! Do you also eat things like brocolli with your fingers like I do? I have to remind myself to use utensils when I go out to eat with other people.

    I love hearing about Mr Excuse me. Be sure to give us a full report.

    • Juice permalink*
      March 15, 2010 10:49 pm

      Debby, it’s like National Geographic when I’m eating by myself. I’d share all the details, but I don’t want to incriminate myself.

      And I do love regular tuna noodle casserole too (with egg noodles and a can of Cream of Mushroom, right?). It’s just that the actual casserole seems so involved somehow. Single girl stew is easier.

      Julia Child is spinning right about now…

  4. March 17, 2010 1:02 am

    LMAO! glad i’m not the only one who likes putting tuna and peas in my mac n cheese and never serve it to anyone! i did try serving that to my kids once and then got horribly rejected…

    mr. ocho cinco is on DWTS this time?? dude… now if only i can remember what his name was before ….
    although i am secretly hoping to watch kate-whats-her-name to loose horribly. her 5 mins of fame is over and should just stay over and go home and take care of her 8 kids.

    • Juice permalink*
      March 17, 2010 9:27 am

      His name was Chad Johnson…

  5. March 21, 2010 1:15 am

    My kids believe I make the best tuna casserole ever. Well, they did when they were little, anyway. You and I have the same recipe.

  6. March 23, 2010 11:38 am

    OMG, I think we are related. I just happened to come across your blog when you commented on another blog and was so easily drawn in by your writing. It felt like it was a day out of my life and then I saw it OCHOCINCO. I just watch dwts for the first time because of him. He is hilarity at it’s fineness. I will def be visiting this site more. You have to visit my site too.

    -the christianista
    http://www.thechristianista.com

Leave a Reply

