Skip to content

Other Random Thoughts In My Head And A Possible Homicide

April 5, 2010
1.  I got my car washed this weekend.  Once again I wonder, why don’t I do this more often? 
2.  There is a whiting filet as long as my forearm defrosting in the fridge.  And it has skin on it!  Somehow this seems a little more daunting than the friendly tilapia single serving from last week.

Um, yikes!

Update:  I ended up baking it.  It was pretty fishy smelling, but tasted better than I expected.  Thank goodness.  I still have 2 more of those fillets in the freezer.

3.  In the interest of full disclosure to my smellarific friends, I feel that I must confess to burning a lemon candle last night.  And, I’m wearing Coco Mademoiselle today.  And both smell pretty yummy to me.  And after cooking the fish I’ll probably need to do some big time smell management tonight.

4.  BIG NEWS!  I came home today and neighbor L had a story to share.  She thinks she found a KNEE underneath her deck.  Well, actually her dog Stoli found the knee.  L found him chewing on something and then realized that it looked like a knee!  (She’s a physical therapist, so she has experience with cadavers).  Neighbors K and LS are doctors, so we had them look at it next.  Eventually L called the police.

Baltimore's Finest

Then the police had to bring in the medical examiner.

This picture is probably in bad taste

The medical examiner took the bone with her, but the general consensus is that it probably is not human.  We’ll get to find out later this week. 

The fun just never stops here in Baltimore.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 9:35 pm

    what was that police show that was based in Baltimore? I remember watching it and liking it but I can’t remember that name – guess that means I am middle aged too.
    Could be worse I guess, that could be my knee, I bet it’s from a cow – are you taking guesses?

    and I am huge fan of Clorox spray too, and Clorox in the washer with hot water for white,

    • April 5, 2010 9:40 pm

      Rhonda, good memory! The police show was called (aptly enough) Homicide.

      You may be right about the cow guess. The bones were cut very cleanly through – more like a butcher than an amateur murderer (unless said amateur murderer was also a butcher). Maybe I should organize a prize for the best answer? Perhaps a hydrangea clipping filled with ants to infest someone’s home…

  2. April 6, 2010 7:34 am

    Once I was walking the dogs in the woods. We came upon a very large bone. Looked like a leg bone to me! I took a picture of it with my phone and sent to my girlfriends with text -Is this a human bone?? Should I call the police?? They both laughed at me and said it was indeed a leg bone…from a deer!

    I think I watch too many crime dramas.

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    April 6, 2010 12:35 pm

    Okay Juice – that bone story FREAKS me out!!!! Being a single girl and all….

    Did I ever tell you I was over my BFF’s house and her kid and I were watching Forensic Files? And how I randomly commented that it seemed like most of the “victims” were single women?

    Well. The 10 year old WHIPS his head around, eyes open wide and says in a serious tone, “You really need to get a boyfriend”.

    Sure kid, I’ll order one right up. Stat.

  4. April 6, 2010 2:07 pm

    Oh, yikes! That is pretty creepy. I’m guessing it’s a bone from a pig, though, since you’re in the city and it’s not likely to be a deer or anything. (Plus they have those skinny legs.)

    My family would have enjoyed your lemon candle. The kids and I especially love lemon verbena soap, although they like any type of scented soap.

  5. sparkles permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:11 pm

    coco mademoiselle. love it. love it. love it.
    blech, fish, not so much 😉 xo

  6. April 9, 2010 11:44 pm

    hmmm… usually when fish smells fishy….. that smell is hard to get out.

    oooo DEFINITELY need to have a follow up post on the knee ok? now i’m totally intrigued!

Trackbacks

  1. The Swirl, It Is Strong Today « all things juice
  2. A Picturesque Weekend In Which I Forgot My Camera « all things juice

Leave a Reply

