Skip to content

And It Begins

April 16, 2010

Miss Restriction has only been here 3 hours and I’m already realizing she’s a tough nut.

Of course I kind of figured that out when she informed me that her punishment ended tomorrow as her foster mom was pulling out of my driveway.

Um, yeah.  Not gonna happen.

Tonight we went for a walk, did some math problems, did a writing exercise and listened to opera.  No TV, because that would be too much fun.  (And also I don’t like TV, but that’s kind of beside the point right now.)

Guess who forgot her toothbrush?  And pajamas?

I’d been warned by her foster mom that she tries to push boundaries and sleep in the raw, so you can bet that I provided her with some pajamas.  And a toothbrush.

We started the bedtime routine at 8:30.  It took until 9:20 to finally get her settled.  That included one post-lights-out request for the radio while she sleeps.

Um, no.  Not gonna happen.  Have I mentioned she’s on restriction this weekend?

I ix-nayed the radio request, put her back to bed, confirmed that she was fed / watered / climate controlled / bathroomed and then let her know that if she got out of bed again there would be consequences.

Crap.  Now I need to figure out some good consequences for a kid who’s basically already on lockdown.  Any suggestions?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    April 17, 2010 10:54 am

    I don’t think you ever mentioned – how old is Miss Restriction? Because dealing with a 6 year old is different then dealing with a 12 year old (although they can be equally obnoxious – just in different ways). 🙂

    I could use a Miss Restriction in my life right now – have about 6 loads of laundry to do (AGAIN). I haaaaate doing laundry and would like to make someone else do it. Uh, I hope that doesn’t come across as sounding pro-child slavery or anything.

    Hang in there Juice!

  2. Juice permalink*
    April 17, 2010 10:13 pm

    She’s 12 going on 21…

  3. April 18, 2010 8:16 am

    I know you don’t have a woodpile, but our kids hated the woodpile! Not that we took them behind it for a whipping or anything. If they got in trouble bad enough, their job was to dismantle to whole woodpile and restack all of the wood. Neatly! Or it had to be done again. It was a job that usually took several hours. Several hours of thinking about consequences to ones actions.

    I like the laundry idea. I have about 6 loads and a peed on dog bed.

  4. April 18, 2010 9:23 am

    It sounds like you have quite a weekend ahead of you. I hope that she won’t give you too tough a time and will maybe even help her in some way.

  5. April 19, 2010 5:35 pm

    Juice, speak to us, girlfriend! How did it go?

  6. April 20, 2010 8:12 am

    Juice,
    I have Windows Vista, and I use Windows Live Writer to work on my blogs. I can post them right from there. It’s much easier to use than the little window that blogger gives. I believe it can be used with any blog service. Within that then, I can play around with the pictures and whatnot (can’t do that on blogger). Give it a try!

    Dawn in Austin
    P.S. dying to hear how the weekend went!

Trackbacks

  1. I Can’t Post Right Now, I Have A Puppy On My Lap « all things juice

Leave a Reply

