Skip to content

As It Turns Out, The Highlight Of My Weekend Was Not A Rice Cooker

April 20, 2010

So I survived my weekend with Miss Restriction.  It actually went better than I expected.  And I got a nice compliment from MR’s foster mom Monday, mentioning that MR was better behaved than she has ever been upon returning from respite care.*

Here is a partial list of things I did with MR this weekend.

  1. Took several long walks with Cecilia in the stroller. 
  2. Practiced reading a map as we drove out to buy the aforementioned rice cooker.
  3. Made rice (duh).  As well as this really-amazing-but-slightly-too-complicated-for-a-weeknight recipe.  Fortunately MR is a fan of spicy food just like me.
  4. Did math problems.  I’m not sure how it came up, but I figured out that MR was not that great at counting by multiples.  We practiced some out loud on our walks and twice during our weekend I gave her some problems to solve.  The first time she asked me “Why do I have to do this?”  I cheerfully replied “Because I said so.”  AND. IT. WORKED!  Go figure.
  5. Wrote haikus, lists of likes and dislikes, and 5 things that she learned from our documentary.
  6. Watched the documentary Bees: Tales from the Hive.  Thy Hand Hath Provided recommended it.  There was some eye rolling at the start of this DVD, but it was actually very interesting.  The DVD is 54 minutes, but I think it took us an hour and a half to get through because we kept on pausing the DVD to discuss it.  And I’m bragging here, but that documentary was the only TV we watched all weekend.
  7. Went to church.
  8. Cleaned the guest bathroom.
  9. Learned how to embroider the running and back stitch.  MR then embroidered her name.
  10. Took two time outs for less than desireable attitude.  (MR that is, not me)  I was using tricks I learned from Musings of a Housewife.  I kept my tone calm and friendly and felt really in control of the process.
  11. Practiced table manners.
  12. Listened to opera.  I made sure to point out Leontyne Price since MR is also African-American.
  13. Read books.

All in all it was a pretty nice weekend.  The biggest stress for me was trying to abide by the wishes of the agency and make sure she didn’t have too much fun.

 After I dropped MR back at her foster home I went to music practice.  And that was the highlight of my weekend.  We had an amazing time.  Our on-occasion bass player is really picking up new tunes quickly, I’m loving our new equipment, the original song we worked on sounds really good, and we laughed a ton.  I’m really looking forward to Saturday night’s gig.  I am so blessed to have a hobby that I love and can share with others.

*Apparently respite care oftentimes causes kids to regress.  Something about the stress of a new environment, lack of routine, new family / kids to deal with, etc…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 10:46 am

    Bless your heart for providing respite. Just out of college, I did some in home respite for a family- it was appreciated so much. She will remember her time with you fondly, I’m sure:-). I’m so glad you like the Bees documentary. We, too, had to keep pausing it- our questions and discussion were making it hard to hear!

  2. April 20, 2010 10:55 am

    Glad to know it helped! 🙂

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:46 pm

    That recipe sounds SO GOOD! Will have to attempt….some day. Will let you know when that day comes – although I have been “attempting” a lot more these days…. 🙂

  4. April 20, 2010 3:01 pm

    Oh my gosh, I use the “because I said so” line ALL THE TIME – especially on my 4 year old who likes to argue!! Works like a charm!
    Your weekend sounds like it went really well, and I think you taught her some really important lessons that she’ll probably remember for a long time (table manners, embroidery, opera).

  5. April 21, 2010 8:54 am

    Wow, it sounds like a great weekend, even given the restrictions. I’m so glad.

    P.S. This bee documentary sounds good.

Leave a Reply

