Skip to content

My Life Is Boring Without Cecilia

April 29, 2010

Well.

I have gone all week with absolutely nothing of interest to report. 

Want to hear about my not-so-exciting week?

I worked late since there was no dog to walk.  I half-heartedly attempted to liberate my home from the chokehold of Cecilia fur.  I attended a foster care meeting after work and did not have to arrange for dog care.  I slept in (no dog to walk).  I poured tuna juice down the drain (no dog to enjoy it).  I read condolences.*  I froze.

Yes, you heard that correctly.  It is freezing in my house and I’m refusing to turn on the heat.  Yesterday morning it was 61 degrees.  This morning it was 60 degrees.  Last night I was so cold that I slept with a heating pad (no dog to snuggle). 

That is not my thermometer, but I think it was really that cold!

I could turn on the heat.  And if Cecilia were still around you can bet your bottom dollar we’d be basking in 68 degrees of warmth.  Because ain’t no way I’m going to subject an arthritic dog to hours and hours of freezing coldness just because I’m being frugal. 

But for me by myself?  Meh.  I can tough it out.  Just me and the heating pad.  Cozy like that.

Thank goodness I leave for a quick getaway to Florida tomorrow.  I’ll be back next week hopefully in sunnier spirits.

*Thanks to everyone for their kind words about Cecilia.  It warms my heart to hear how many people loved her.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 5:45 pm

    Aw, girlfriend. You take the time you need, you don’t need to be all snap-back-to-it-cheerful with us. Hope the trip to Florida is healing for your spirits! (This year is just plain weird all around, weather-wise. We’re still having rain out here! It’s usually done by February.)

  2. April 30, 2010 8:33 am

    Have a great trip to Florida. A big dose of warmth and sunshine will certainly help.

  3. May 1, 2010 1:10 am

    It is very strange.

    I’ve never met you or Cecilia. I only read about you two via your blog.

    But I feel a tremedous sense of loss now that Cecilia is no longer with (us) you.

    Anyhow, all the mushy stuff aside… enjoy some sunshine and defrost yourself.

  4. debby permalink
    May 1, 2010 7:32 am

    Awww, Juice. I hope Florida is warm and sunny and has lots of good things to eat! (And I think your parents are there?)

    There has only been one time in my adult life that I had NO dogs, and I was one sad little puppy! Hope you can find a new friend soon.

Leave a Reply

