Skip to content

Just What The Doctor Ordered

May 5, 2010

A dose of Florida sunshine does the heart good.

How can you not cheer up with these parents?

We have a tradition of Family Fun Day when I head to Florida.  This visit we decided to do a kayaking trip down the Rainbow river.  You’ll be relieved to know that the Rainbow has fewer alligators than other rivers in Florida.  I know I was.

Ready to take on the river with our friend C

I was especially glad of the less-alligators notation when I fell in the water.  Slightly embarrassing, yes?  Especially when there is nary a rapid on the entire course. 

No rapids, but plenty of tubers.  Family tubers, college kid tubers, tattooed tubers, sunbathing tubers, goofing-off tubers.  LOTS.  I’ve never seen that many inner tubes in a river before in my life.  So while the river was placid, you did have to do some maneuvering to get around the floating obstructions.

Do you know what I learned?  I learned that it’s pretty much impossible to flip a kayak back over all by yourself.  And I also learned that if you are in the back of the pack kayaking down a river and you spill out no one will notice until you are approximately 95% drowned.  Not to mention having all your gear akimbo.

I’ve always wanted to work that word into a post.

Secret goal: accomplished.

And to be honest, it wasn’t exactly AKIMBO.  More like akimbo.  I managed to hang onto my paddle, and some kind canoe-ers retreived my water bottle.  Other canoeists (what is the correct word for them???) helped me flip the kayak back upright and then I gave myself eleventy billion bruises climbing back in.  I’m sure that was poetry in motion to witness.  I’m graceful like that.

The best part of all is that the alligators didn’t eat me, even though I was flailing like a small animal in distress. 

So I got that going for me.  Which is nice.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 12:23 am

    sounded like fun!

    and your secret goal is accomplished… i had to go look AKIMBO up in webster online. 😛

    now – if only i can find a way to use that in a post….

  2. Juice permalink*
    May 6, 2010 8:36 am

    Oooh Mahmeeee – your comment caused me to look up akimbo and now I fear that I may have used it incorrectly! Aigh! I hate when that happens.

  3. debby permalink
    May 6, 2010 9:36 am

    Hmmm. You made me look akimbo up. But I don’t think you used it wrong. I just think they didn’t show colloquial definitions (like my use of colloquial? Probably misused too!)

    Good to see you smiling, Juice.

  4. May 6, 2010 12:44 pm

    Yeay! Glad you had a nice trip, even with the kayak mishap.

    I think Debbie’s right about the colloquial use of akimbo. I didn’t think you used it wrong, either.

Leave a Reply

