Skip to content

Your Opinion Wanted

May 6, 2010

I’ve been shopping.

My bedroom needed some freshening for summer.  I love my winter comforter, but it is just too hot in the summertime.  Plus I thought it would be good to have a project to take me out of the house, especially in the days just after Cecilia.

So, two weeks ago there was not a summer coverlet to be found.  I went to three stores on Saturday and two stores on Sunday.  Last weekend Mom and I shopped til we dropped.  I lost count of the stores we visited.  We found one contender which I brought home with me. 

Today I was by a HomeGoods at lunch and I ran inside just for a lark.  (Mind you, this is the same HomeGoods that stiffed me two weeks ago.)  It was like quiltapalooza in there!  I found two other possibilities.

This is where I need your help.  I took pictures of each quilt.  Now you get to weigh in and tell me which one appeals most to you and why.   

Option 1

I think you need to see the bathroom color to help make this decision...

Option 2

Option 3

I had to show off the reverse print

 

So whaddya think?  Do I keep shopping?  Do any of these work?

Discuss.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 9:21 pm

    I love the yellow, but it is not as bold as the green and the blue on the walls. I really like that it is a solid color (or it looks like one) and that looks good with the walls.
    I like the second one because it brings in both rooms.
    I like the third because I love the addition of pink and orange. I like floral prints.

    #1 is my favorite, but I think I would choose #2. I think #2 works the best overall.

  2. sparkles permalink
    May 6, 2010 10:50 pm

    i think option 2 is by far the best choice. the colors go nicely, and the print seems a little retro/vintage, and i’m a fan of that … i love quilts and quilt shopping! lucky you 🙂

  3. May 6, 2010 10:59 pm

    #2
    it looks really pretty with your green and blue

  4. debby permalink
    May 6, 2010 11:20 pm

    Okay, I’m gonna disagree with the others. I dislike number two. Because in the pictures the two blues look really different. The bathroom looks like a cornflower blue (same color as my bathroom–good taste!) but the coverlet looks like an aqua blue. I really don’t like it. I love the tranquility of the solid yellow quilt. I have a solid while quilt (that I got at home goods) and I love to keep it on my bed and ‘feature’ a small quilt on top of it. Of course, that would require that you have a supply of small quilts to feature. Or, of course, your friend that owes you something from a challenge a while ago could get her butt in gear and send you something that would match.

    How bout wall art? Got any on the other walls? Something with yellow in it? Not that I’m all that matchy matchy myself. At all.

  5. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    May 6, 2010 11:36 pm

    Hi Juice!
    When I did the first pass of the pictures – my first choice was #2. I think it has an eye-catching graphic “pop” to it and (I agree with everyone else) it ties both the bedroom/bathroom together. Okay, so like Debby pointed out – it’s not like the blue “matches” the bathroom exactly – but it looks wonderful with the walls and rug!

    But then I did a second pass and I took a closer look at #1. And I reallu liked the way there’s a serene quality to the three colors (yellow, green, blue) layered next to each other. Maybe if you find an accent pillow with blue & yellow that would add an interesting detail on the bed?

    So I guess the choice is yours – do you want to go for jazzy? Or soothing?

    P.S. Even though you know my fave color pink #3 just didn’t do it for me.

  6. May 6, 2010 11:50 pm

    I think I like #1 the best, but admittedly, I don’t typically go in for prints on large areas. However, if you want something a little more active, I think the colors on #2 go well with the room.

    Again, take my advice with a few grains of salt. My bedding is all cream and taupe.

  7. May 7, 2010 12:00 am

    #2 – love it! Love the print and love that it’s fun!

  8. May 7, 2010 1:09 am

    I like #2 because (as most people pointed out already) that it ties in the bathroom and the bedroom colors. the off match blue doesn’t bother me too much…

    I like #3 because the pink and orange floral really brings a fun pop to the room. although it doesn’t match as much. (although i love that it gives you the option to flip it over if you feel like having a solid color quilt…)

    I don’t NOT like #1, although it is abit plain for my taste since the room it self is already pretty ‘calm’. maybe some accent pillows can give you some options to liven things up with that quilt? (this also then gives you the option to put on which every pillows that suits your mood.)

    so – i think the perfect quilt will be one that can be reversible (like #2) but with one side having the color on #1, and the other side can have some colors that tie in with the colors in the rooms… what do you think?

  9. May 7, 2010 9:57 am

    I am boring and also like number two. The coverlet, not the fecal matter.

  10. May 7, 2010 10:29 am

    I like both #1 and #2… we have a plain (white) comforter, which I love because it’s soothing and you can change it up with throw pillows. But, I do love #2 (possibly) a little more.

  11. May 7, 2010 10:29 am

    No. 2. And I don’t normally like blue, but it’s more serene and well, it’s a bedroom. You should be stimulating enough.

  12. Erin on the West Coast permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:32 am

    #2, then #1 and forget #3 at all. Home Goods? Who knew?!

  13. May 7, 2010 3:55 pm

    #2 — On first, second and third passes 🙂
    I love that while it’s a fairly bold print, there’s a serenity in the colors that goes really well in a bedroom.

    #1 is too plain. I guess you could dress it up with some bold throw pillows.
    #3 is too busy. I like the reversible side better 🙂

    Hope your opening it up for our opinions doesn’t just make you more confused than ever!

  14. May 7, 2010 4:58 pm

    #2 Definitely (sorry Debs!). Yes, I would go with numero dos.

  15. seriouslykk permalink
    May 7, 2010 6:52 pm

    TWO! TWO!!

    TTTTWWWWWOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

    Love,
    Your Sister

  16. May 7, 2010 8:57 pm

    It would never do for me to be on a jury. When I looked at the pictures, I was all #3! It’s fun! And #2’s blue doesn’t match (I’m a Virgo).

    Then I started reading what everyone else had to say and I was all, “Oh she has a good point” and “Oh, that’s true, too” Just call me wishy-washy.

    But I stand firm in the choice of #3. I believe you could put a couple of blue pillows or even a blue throw on the corner of the bed if it matches the bathroom.

    I LOVE all your colors, btw!

  17. May 7, 2010 11:36 pm

    I like option #2 best. My daughter votes for #3 (but that’s because her favorite color is pink).

  18. julie permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:33 am

    I also love #2. I think it goes better with your room colors.

  19. May 10, 2010 12:22 am

    Love #2. It totally ties together the color of the room and the bathroom. Plus it just looks like summer.

  20. Jennifer Lehner permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:36 am

    I like Option #2!!!!

  21. May 10, 2010 8:40 am

    We would pick #2

Trackbacks

  1. Housekeeping Issues « all things juice
  2. A Christmas Card Conundrum « all things juice

Leave a Reply

