Skip to content

If It’s Not One Thing, It’s Your Mother

May 11, 2010

In honor of Mother’s Day, here is weekend randomness with some mommy-flair.

1.  I had a very tiring weekend.  I performed Friday and Saturday, so by Sunday afternoon I was ready for a power nap snuggled under the afghan my mom crocheted for me.  Do you know what I dreamed about?  I dreamed that I was exhausted and needed sleep.  Weird, huh?  If any of you are into dream interpretation, perhaps you can shed some light on what that dream meant.  I’m drawing a blank…*

2.   After my power nap Sunday afternoon I called my mom to wish her a happy Mother’s Day.  Guess what we proceeded to do?  We spent an hour on the internet together looking at dogs on Petfinder!  And no, she’s not looking for a dog for herself.  She was just helping me look at different pups and try to decipher the descriptions.  It’s kind of like real estate.  Just like a “cozy” home means “tiny,” you have to read between the lines sometimes.  Let’s take a look, shall we?

Actual Petfinder Quotes

Quote:  “she gives love nips” 

Translation:  “you’ll need to up your homeowners insurance for when she bites your neighbor’s kid”

Quote:  “I’m looking for an active owner”

Translation  “If you don’t wear me out with exercise I’ll eat your sofa.”

Quote: “please have beagle experience”

Translation:  “this dog fits the beagle stereotype – you’ll never be able to fully train her”

Quote:  “he sometimes growls over his food bowl”

Translation:  “you’ll need to address this food agression before someone gets hurt”

After an hour of searching, we found a few prospects that seem promising.  Stay tuned for news!  I don’t want to share too much detail now, but the hunt is definitely on for my next dog. 

Maybe a dog like this??

3.  I heard the mother of all cat fights outside my window the other night.  Except I didn’t realize it was a cat fight at first.  I just figured the neighbor’s kid was crying.  Mind you, I’ve never heard the child before, but for some reason I convinced myself that the windows were open and I was hearing the toddler.  Then I started wondering what kind of parents won’t soothe their kid when he’s obviously upset.  Then I figured they were letting him cry it out.  Then I wondered why they had two toddlers crying, when only one toddler lives there.  It was about that time that I woke up enough to realize that something was going on outside my window.  Sure enough, two cats were having a standoff right outside.  They didn’t respond to my yelling, but water moved them right along.

4.  I know you all have been on the edge of your seat waiting to hear which comforter I chose.  I went with Option #2.  I love the soothing blues and greens.  And I have a pretty light taupe throw pillow that works well with the whole ensemble.  Now all I need is a taupe-y throw for a chilly night.  (Hey Mom, feeling crafty?)  Thanks to everyone for your comments!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin on the West Coast permalink
    May 11, 2010 11:59 am

    Ohhh, dog shopping! I can’t wait to see who is lucky enough to come live with you. I’m jealous. I’ve been trying to convince the Husband for months now that we need a dog, but he is still standing firm.

  2. May 11, 2010 12:06 pm

    OH A NEW DOG. How delightful. I love to hear “how I rescued my dog” stories.

  3. debby permalink
    May 11, 2010 8:24 pm

    That’s a pretty cute little doggie. I’m glad you know how to interpret ‘dog-ese!’

    That’s pretty funny about the cat fight. They do sound just like babies sometimes.

  4. May 14, 2010 10:22 pm

    sweet.. option #2!!!

    good luck on the dog search… can’t wait to hear more!

Leave a Reply

