Skip to content

Still Here, Still Dogless

May 18, 2010

Sorry for my lack of posting and pictures.  The weekend was fine, I survived, and someday I’ll download my pictures and post something.

In the meantime every spare minute is being plowed into the hunt for my new dog.  It’s exciting.  And exhausting.  And frustrating.  Think trying to buy a house during the boom.  You have to constantly be on the hunt for a new prospect and then you have to apply immediately

Mostly the problem is self inflicted.  I’m holding out for a smaller dog this time and they are at a premium.  My logic is that I want a dog that can travel with me on an airplane (carry-on of course).  That way I can bring the dog with me when I visit family.  As my parents grow older, I want the freedom to be able to come down and attend to their needs without worrying about how my dog is faring at home.  That seems silly now since Mom and Dad are in great shape.  But things may be different 15 years in the future.

So I’m looking for the perfect small dog.  Not as hyper as a stereotypical Jack Russell, not as shaky as a stereotypical Chihuahua, not as mop-like as a Shih Tzu, not as flat faced as a Peke.  I guess I’m looking for Cecilia’s mini-me.

Maybe like this?

But if size was not a consideration, I’d be checking this dog out. 

Look at that face!

Stay tuned.  I’ll post news as soon as I can.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 10:55 pm

    Get lots of rest and drink lots of water. 😉

    Really, this isn’t an easy task; remember we’re all cheering for you.

  2. May 19, 2010 12:26 am

    I emailed you another dog. In case you didn’t get it, I suggested Miniature Pinschers and Papillons. They are both very smart breeds, and very people oriented. Min pins with natural ears have those pretty dark eyes that Cecelia had.

    Are you looking in the local paper too? Sometimes there are people who just can’t keep a dog. Well, you know this is a topic near and dear to my heart. Let me know if I can do anything. Well, like there is anything I could do on the other side of the country.

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:47 pm

    Okay, you got me. I’m going to have to start looking for you (like Debby).

    You’re right – it’s the “small” part that stumps me (as in “carry on luggage” small). But NYC being the Land-of-Little-Dogs, I will take a looksee. There’s a canine rescue group that sets up cages near my job but I’ve never bothered because I can’t have a dog in my apartment…..

Leave a Reply

