Skip to content

I (Almost) Have A Dog!!!!!!!

May 19, 2010

I’m so excited I can barely type.  I’ve found my new girl. 

She’s between 1-2 years old.  She’s house trained.  She’s crate trained.  She’s spayed.  She’s current on vaccinations.  She’s not a big barker.  She gets along with other dogs.  And she’s coming to me on Friday!!!!!!!!!

Remember this picture?

 I’m almost afraid to post this for fear that something will go wrong and I’ll have to post a retraction.  But if all goes according to plan, this little dog will be transported to Hagerstown, Maryland from a rescue in Tennessee on Friday night.   And then she’ll be mine to love!

Now for your comments.  What shall I name her?  I have a name in mind, but I want to hear your thoughts.  I’m thinking something musical to complement Cecilia.

Need a muse?  Ponder this:

What's my name?

 And…. go.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn's Dad permalink
    May 19, 2010 4:40 pm

    Yay! What a cutie! I’m so happy for both of you. What is her breed?

    I’m the worst at picking names. Our’s have always been Norwegian Elkhounds, so of course they had to be named after Norse gods – and only the good gods not the bad ones, so that was a little easier. Our latest, Bjorn (OK, Bjorn wasn’t a god, we kept his old name) was from a rescue group in Knoxville. I went out there, we bonded, and he flew home with me. I don’t know if he has forgiven me for that, though.

    Can’t wait for pics of you holding her!

    Congratulations!

    • Juice permalink*
      May 20, 2010 7:17 am

      DD – she is some kind of chihuahua mix, but I’m not sure exactly what. Maybe some miniature pinscher (Debby’s guess) or terrier?

  2. May 19, 2010 4:41 pm

    I saw this post in a meeting (bored) and I looked up some names. But as small and perfect as she is, I admit I have a favorite: Ceili. It is an Irish word for a dance with live music and good times. It’s pronounced KAY-LEE.

    Here were the other names I found or thought of that I like in alpha order: Carol, Duana, Elegy, Gita, Melody and Piper.

    She is LOVELY and looks friendly and chipper and pert and happy and I’m so many kinds of happy for you both. She is going to love life with you.

  3. May 19, 2010 5:46 pm

    ***squeeeee!!!!!*** I’m so excited for you. Hope it all works out well!

    Oooo, names. How about Minnie…since you mentioned “maybe Cecelia’s mini-me” in your last post? I liked Caron’s suggestion of Piper, too.

  4. seriouslykk permalink
    May 19, 2010 5:51 pm

    First of all, you and only you will be inspired by a name. I can’t really see you inspired by a name someone else suggests. It has to come from your heart.

    However, you put out a RFN (request for names) and I feel obliged to tell you my thoughts…

    Songs with Women’s Names (as a tribute to C):
    Caroline – as in Sweet Caroline… OMG, how many times did we listen to that tape of Dad’s in the car as kids?? As a result, I love the song.
    Layla – Why do I just know in my heart of hearts this is the name you are considering?? Good name for her… I like it. She looks exactly like a Layla.
    Lola – The Kinks. Okay, so I’ve never heard this song, but it seems to fit a Huahua.
    Mandy – Can’t go wrong with a Manilow tune.
    Sally – As in Mustang Sally – another Clapton nod.
    Sweet Virginia – At first blush, not my first pick, but then again, I’m not a Stones fan. But you could call her Gin and I bet men will come running when you yell out her name!

    Other ideas…
    Go for biblical names… Ruth/Ruthie, Esther, okay – just see this link for ideas… http://www.christiananswers.net/dictionary/women.html

    Seriously, you may want to pick out her name and then keep it to yourself until you meet her. It’s no different than a child… although I will say Cora was definitely a Cora from the moment she breathed life into her lungs. So, pick her name, meet the little girl, then decide for yourself.

    I’m climbing off my soapbox now.

    -Sister K-

    • Juice permalink*
      May 20, 2010 7:18 am

      KK, you know me well. You are very close with your guess, but not quite there. 🙂

  5. May 19, 2010 6:18 pm

    Calliope / Callie

    She’s adorable!

  6. onelargeass permalink
    May 19, 2010 6:55 pm

    NEW DOG! She is seriously cute and a perfect size. Not too small, not too big. I agree with your sister – you’ll know what to name her once you meet her and see her personality. It’s got be something you don’t mind calling at the dog park. Side note: this was the deciding factor when we got our new cat. I wanted to name her Meowzers and the husband vetoed it on the grounds he didn’t want to stand on the back porch calling that name.

  7. Mom permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:07 pm

    I am so giggly happy for you and know that this little girl will have a loving “forever home” with you! How blessed her life will be from now on!

    I liked the name Piper too… and Ceili also (but most people will mispronounce that one)

    Then, of course there’s the song about “Brandy” and “Moriah” and “Lucy in the sky…”

    But I think you might go with the name “Jenny” for the song Jennifer Juniper by Donovan back in the sixties. But then again there was that lovely song about “Tammy” back in the fifties…. Hmmmm, what ever will you pick???? Love you TEAB, Mom

  8. May 19, 2010 8:18 pm

    Musical names…. Maybelline, Suzy Q, Edie (I vote for this one), Layla, Rio. I’m so glad you have (almost) found a dog (hopefully)!!!!! 🙂

  9. May 19, 2010 10:33 pm

    Exciting News!! Whatever you decide to name her will be right for you two. I am a big believer in letting the dog show you the path for their name as you may recall 😉 Either way we can’t wait to hear more about life with Little Miss _____

  10. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:24 pm

    Yayyyyyyy!!!!!! This is awesome news!!!

    I asked a lady in the elevator today what kind of dog she was carrying (Pomeranian) because it was cute and small (but non-Cecilia-looking since it was super fluffy).

    Your soo-to-be-dog is CUTE.

    I have no name suggestions but I can’t wait to see what you picked! 🙂

  11. debby permalink
    May 20, 2010 12:05 am

    Oh oh oh oh oh! Sooooooo excited for you! I think she must have some min pin in her with those big ears. Oh it will be so fun to hear about your new adventures. I’m gonna defer the naming to you. I have a hard enough time coming up with names for my dogs.

  12. sparkles permalink
    May 20, 2010 4:35 am

    oh my goodness but she’s adorable! i’m a little surprised you’d adopt her sight unseen, i know last time you were very diligent about going for walks with each candidate to really suss out their personalities. i will keep my fingers crossed that there is truth in advertising and that her looks match her personality! i’m very, very, very excited for you!

    my musical name choices. mind you, i know you have a name at the ready and goodness knows from what musical area you picked it … but here goes:

    gigi – so many reasons to love based on its playfulness, the musical, and, of course, audrey hepburn
    cosette – complimentary to cecilia, and musically from “les misérables”
    norah – as in norah jones, cuz she’s brilliant, and it’s a nice simple, old-fashioned yet modern name
    cadence – again with the cecilia “C” (not that that matters), but it does mean rhythm! xo
    delilah – fun song from the plain white Ts, and biblical even 😉
    *gidget – because i love the name, sally field is adorable, and the little opening ditty to the show is kind’ve cute (bobby darrin?)

    there’s a few to get started. just cuz i was dying to participate! and i’m with KK on the name ruthie, love it! and love you … can’t wait to meet your new little somebody to love. xo

    *gidget was the fibbie’s immediate pick 😉

    • Juice permalink*
      May 20, 2010 7:22 am

      Sparkles, I KNOW! So unlike me to adopt a dog sight unseen!!! I feel like a pioneer man sending back East for a mail order bride. Except after reading The Reliable Wife I’m not so sure that that is a good idea…

      Everyone, great recommendations! Keep them coming!

  13. May 20, 2010 8:43 am

    EEEEEE! I’m so happy for you! I’ve been away where they have no internet (can you believe there are still places??) Anyway, just got back and this is the first post I see. I’m so excitecd for you!

    I’m sure you’ll think of a great name. One of my favorites is Eleanor (Ellie). I don’t know why and neither of my girls are named that, I guess it didn’t suit either of them.

    Good luck and I can’t wait till she comes home! PICTURES!

  14. DMW permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:44 am

    Patsy
    Natalie (or Natty, so a B’more tie in as well)
    Lucinda
    Lillian (Lilly, Lil) …
    Fiona
    Sugar Magnolia (had to throw in one dead reference)

  15. May 20, 2010 3:36 pm

    I see I am not the first to think of Lola. La La La La Lola.

  16. sparkles permalink
    May 20, 2010 4:05 pm

    whoa! june reads your blog? as in june gardens? of course that june knows me as buckeye, not sparkles, but i am very impressed! you turned me on to her, and i have loved her ever since – so i was all sorts of jealous just now thinking she is up-to-date on your blog! wow 🙂 now, if it’s some other june, well, then, never mind 😉

    meanwhile, given my crew of cooper, gracie, daphne and lola — i, of course, approve of lola, too. although i know your ‘rents liked simon and garfunkel, so i thought “simone” might also be a nice homage? or just too frenchie?!

    xo

  17. May 20, 2010 5:20 pm

    Squee! So happy for you both! I think she looks like an Amelia. Which rhymes with Cecelia.

    Amelia Bedelia.

    Or you could trot out one of my favorites: Tupelo Honey.

  18. May 20, 2010 5:59 pm

    OMGosh. I love both names that the furry godmother suggested. I think its because all my dogs end up with multiple nicknames.

  19. May 20, 2010 6:36 pm

    I don’t have a name idea but she is so cute! Good job – all those long hours searching and hopefully you made a great choice and she will fit in great!

Trackbacks

  1. Pictures From Last Weekend « all things juice

Leave a Reply

