Skip to content

What’s In A Name?

May 24, 2010

Some astute observers have probably figured out that Chloe isn’t a song name.  Or if it is, it is a song that is unknown to me.

Her name was going to be Lola.  Or possibly Emmylou to honor the wonderful Ms. Harris.

Matty’s Mom and I drove out to Hagerstown to get Chloe.  I took my short list of names with me and we debated the merits of each during the trip.  I was pretty set on Lola.

And then we met her.

Matty’s Mom looked and me and said, “She’s not a Lola!” 

To which I replied, “I know!”

And Chloe remained nameless that night. 

And nameless Saturday morning. 

And nameless at the vet’s office for our first check up.

And nameless visiting Ridgely and Quincy Saturday afternoon.

Chloe and Q-Man: These guys were moving too fast to catch!

Finally, after votes from Ridgely’s whole family (including votes via picture messaging) and a conversation with my Mom, I decided on Chloe Grace.

Chloe had been on my name list from the get-go, but it wasn’t associated with a song, so I had kind of discounted it.  Gracie was another name that I heard in the vet’s office and liked.  Plus Cecilia’s name was Cecilia Faith*, so having a middle name with a reminder of God’s goodness seemed appropriate.

Eventually I decided that sticking with a song name because of Cecilia was just silly.  Kind of like those families where every kid’s name starts with the same initial.  By about kid number four you’ve gotta know that isn’t a name they really love, but they’re sticking with that pattern. 

So Chloe Grace it is.  I think it suits her well.

Hmmm... me too

*Backstory on Cecilia’s name:  I was struggling with whether I should get a dog or not, wondering whether it was God’s will for me.  Finally a friend in my Bible study said, “You know, sometimes you just need to step out in faith and trust that if God doesn’t want you to have something, He’ll close that door.”  Cecilia’s first name is because I met her the day after Christmas and my parents had given me Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits album.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    May 24, 2010 1:33 pm

    okay. a few things about this post. 1) it makes me miss you terribly and wish *i* was the friend who was there to take cecilia to the vet with you, and that *i* was the friend who drove to hagerstown to pick up chloe with you.! 2) it makes me happy that you considered lola as a name! our lola girl is the apple of my eye and the easiest and funniest of our four cats. 3) i love that you are thoughtful enough to put real effort into naming your pets, garnering votes, and meeting her to see what really fit.

    love you!

  2. May 24, 2010 1:59 pm

    You got a photo! She looks sweet and I love that she has a name like Chloe rather than a name like Tootsie. It’s just my preference is all – all our pets have always had people names. Is she sleeping all night? I guess at a year she will. 🙂

  3. May 24, 2010 4:58 pm

    That’s her with Quincy? I don’t know why, I guess because she’s always been alone in the pictures, but I thought she was chi-chi sized or just a little bigger.

    She’s about the size of our Zoe, which we think is perfect sized! At the pound, they told us she was a Jack Russell mix, so she would be small. I’m not sure where the Jack is in her, other than her smarts, because she is so tall! and lean! Just like your Chloe.

    Oh, I do love that name!

    • Juice permalink*
      May 24, 2010 5:09 pm

      How much does Zoe weigh?

      And by the way, she gets the shaft in your blog. I had to look through pages of posts (and more than a few pics of the bulldog) to finally see Zoe again!

      • May 25, 2010 8:48 am

        Zoe weighs in at 27 pounds. She’s very lean with long legs.

        Yes, I know she gets the shaft on the blog. Poor thing. But, that’s also an attribute to the the good dog that she is. She doesn’t chew up expensive baskets, or eat snowmen and stuff like that. 🙂 I do plan to remedy that here in the near future.

    • Juice permalink*
      May 25, 2010 8:53 am

      Well Chloe is 12 lbs, so Zoe is significantly bigger than her. I think Chloe just looks big in the picture because she is looming over 5 lb Quincy!

      Glad to hear that the Zoster will be getting more blog time. 🙂

  4. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    May 24, 2010 6:40 pm

    *LOVE* the “Hmmm….me too” pic!!!! (you’re getting some good pics of that little girl!) 🙂

  5. May 24, 2010 7:26 pm

    I think that’s why I was wondering on the story of her name, since you’d mentioned wanting a song name. It’s lovely, and what a dainty-looking little girl-pup she is!

  6. Mom permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:50 pm

    Ahhhh… How sweet she looks… how perfectly matched to our sweet daughter!!! can’t wait to hold her and play with her and tell her how blessed she’ll be in her “forever home”.
    She may not have a musical name but here is a song just for her:
    (To the tune of “Daisy, Daisy”)
    Chloe, Chloe,
    Sweet as a Sweetheart Rose,
    Eyes of brown and
    A cute little black-button nose…
    Her new Mom is so delighted,
    And Grand-B is happy too…
    So learn to obey, for it is the way
    To have more Blessings come to you!

  7. May 25, 2010 5:01 am

    Chloe is fine. I like it.

Trackbacks

  1. Chloe Makes A Splash « all things juice

Leave a Reply

