Skip to content

A Picturesque Weekend In Which I Forgot My Camera

June 8, 2010

About eleventy-bajillion times this weekend I thought to myself, “Man, I should get a picture of this.”  Because we all know my stellar photog skills are what keep you coming back for more.

However, this will be a picture-deprived post as I forgot my camera at every turn.

Things You May Have Wanted To See:

1.  Chloe’s first and second visits to the local off-leash dog park.  Our first visit was lackluster as we were the only dogs in attendence.  But last night we played with at least 15 other dogs in doggie wonderland!  Chloe did well, except for exhibiting an “I don’t want to put my leash back on” attitude when we needed to leave.  She is a speedy dog!  Although she was the smallest dog in the park, she did well with the big dogs, rolling over and showing her belly when things got too rambunctious.  I was very proud of her.

2.  Items Chewed:  Including but not limited to my shoe, my briefcase, my underwear (no, there would NOT have been a picture of that, even if I had remembered my camera.  My mom reads this blog!), my socks, a decorative pillow, rawhides and many other more appropriate chewing toys and balls.  Fortunately all items were discovered before major catastrophe.  Although this may be my opportunity to get a kicky new work bag as Chloe targeted the strap on my old bag.

3.  A nature walk with Miss Restriction.  Miss Restriction was here Saturday through Sunday.  Guess what?  She was in trouble.  Again.  Since I wasn’t allowed to do anything fun with her, I decided to take her and Chloe for a long walk in the woods.  Not exactly a hike, since this was a converted rail trail, but certainly more nature-y than Miss Restriction would prefer.  I mean, we had to use bug spray and everything!  Not to mention that there were dogs running off leash and MR is afraid of dogs.  Overall it was a positive experience.  MR learned that dogs are more interested in Chloe than in her.  In fact, she even commented that the walk was somewhat enjoyable once you got used to all the green. 

4.  Our first and last Petsmart training class.  Cecilia and I took Petsmart training about 5 years ago. We had a fantastic experience.  Our trainer was smart, funny, well informed and compassionate.  Cecilia was even voted class valedictorian!  Fast forward to 2010.  Chloe and I show up and it’s a new trainer.  And he is not good.  At all.  The long and short of it is that I have a refund in my pocket and I’m looking for a new trainer.

5.  The lumps on my skull.  This weekend I managed to crack the top of my head on the freezer door handle.  Here’s a hint:  if you are squatting and looking into the fridge to get something, it is generally advisable to step back before standing up.  The worst part?  Miss Restriction was right there, so I could not let loose with any blue language.  Even though it is scientifically proven to make you feel better.  Then last night Chloe and I conked heads.  Here’s another hint:  Do not hang over the side of the bed to pet an adorable dog at the same time said dog decides to jump on said bed.  I went to sleep with a goose egg growing from my eyebrow.  Chloe appeared unfazed.

6.  The dead kitten on my street.  Actually I wouldn’t have taken a picture of that even if my camera was at hand.  Because while I am ghoulish sometimes, I am not completely heartless.  Anyway, a ferel kitten must have been struck by a car and killed right by my side door.  Yet another example of a time I wish there was a Mr. Juice.

So that is my photo-less post.  Aren’t you sad you missed these fabulous sights?

I will return with photos in the future.  After all, I start my photography class tonight. Yippee!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:31 pm

    ugh. this is the 2nd dead kitten story i’ve heard in a week. between that and trying to dodge the oil-drenched seabirds being shown everywhere, my animal-lovin’ self is having a tough go of it lately!

    i cannot wait to meet speedy, little chloe. she sounds delicious. i’m still beaming with happiness for you. i also wondered if you follow ‘rescue road trips’ on fb? my sister had to send a rescue dog to … well, it’s a long story, anyway, there’s a guy who drives around the country picking up dogs needing forever homes and transporting them to other people who want them. or picking up difficult dogs and taking them to rescue groups who have room for them. it’s pretty heartwarming to see via fb posts. today’s post in particular showed lots of families meeting their new little furry bundles!

    that is all. love ya!

  2. June 9, 2010 12:49 pm

    Not to be outdone, here is my photo-less comment!!
    1. hooray!
    2. we’ve all been there
    3. glad she “got” it after all
    4. training is a good thing for the little miss
    5. great advice
    6. also a dead kitten week here in Iowa: very sad

  3. debby permalink
    June 10, 2010 12:39 am

    You have made me feel so much better. All the chewing, the bumping heads. You know. Misery loves company. And you don’t even seem really miserable about it.

    I love the creative way that you try to have a positive influence in Miss Restrictions life.

    And, so glad you pointed out that blue language can actually make you feel better. I knew I was doing that for a good reason…

  4. June 10, 2010 9:10 am

    How can it be “pictureless” when you described everything so eloquently! I could see it all in my mind’s eye.

    Had to giggle at MR’s comment on all the green. I’m glad she’s learning to appreciate.

    I agree, training is good for the little miss. I hope you find a good one. I love mine, but they’re here in Texas.

    If I run up on a good Mr. Juice, I’ll send him your way!

  5. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    June 10, 2010 4:19 pm

    Pic or no pic, you always have a great post! 🙂 Life here has been frustrating (to say the least)/rollercoaster-ish and when I come to the surface I realize I’m further downstream than intended and time has whizzed by. I don’t know how you keep up with everything! – working, blogging, posting on Goodreads, doing your gigs, handling Chloe, etc. I applaud you! And yes, I STILL owe you an email!!!!

Leave a Reply

