Skip to content

Juice and Chloe’s Excellent Adventure

August 5, 2010

Just back from Reno and I’m ready for another adventure.  This time Chloe’s going with me.  That’s right, it will be her first plane trip!

Off we go, into the wild blue yonder

The planner in me is all in a tizzy.  A weekend trip is no big deal, but a DOG on a PLANE?  That’s rocking my world.

Dog Carrier  Check.  Thanks to Mom and Dad for giving me one that is too small for Tucker. 

I grabbed this photo off the internet, so that is not Tucker inside. And is it just me, or does that dog seem a little too big for that carrier?

Like the carrier pictured above Chloe’s has wheels as well as backpack straps.  But wait there’s more!  The carrier also works as a car seat.  We’ve been practicing in the car during short trips to the dog park.  After several weeks of practice, Chloe is now comfortable in there all zipped up.

Documents Need to gather.  Southwest’s pet policy indicates that pets must be vacinated.  I think I’ll pack a recent vet receipt to prove that her shots are up to date.  Better safe than sorry.

Sedatives.  Check.  Chloe is so little that the vet had to give her pills that were quartered!  She takes one quarter pill before we leave and another quarter pill in two hours (only if she needs it).  They should last eight hours.  Tucker, you better be gentle with my doped up dog when she first arrives!

Chloe believes in better living through chemistry.

Food, treats, blanket, leashes, Mr. Quackers, whew!  I’ll probably end up forgetting my toothbrush, but Chloe will be well provisioned.

Funny story about Mr. Quackers:  He is now a greyish yellow.  Both wings have been chewed off and there is a hole in his foot.  But Chloe loves him.  I make sure to put him in the crate with her when I leave for work in the morning.  When I get home from work and let Chloe out she goes back into the crate voluntarily to bring her friend Quackers out.  What can I say?  She is a loyal friend.  So of course he’ll go to Florida with us.

 

Hasta la vista, y’all!

Mr. Quackers says, "See ya later punks!"

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 12:33 pm

    How exciting! When I flew home with Phoebe from Florida (yes, really at one time she was 5 pounds!) she won the hearts of the flight attendants and they let her sit on my lap.

    I have no doubt Chloe will do the same. She wins hearts everywhere!

  2. August 5, 2010 12:34 pm

    Everybody needs a Mr. Quackers!! I looked out my kitchen window this morning to see my black lab, Shasta, sitting quietly with a little yellow rubber ducky tucked protectively between her front paws. Have no idea where her little buddy came from, but apparently it was love at first sight!!

    Have a good time in Florida!! 🙂

  3. August 5, 2010 1:30 pm

    My Lily’s first Christmas, she pulled a plush Eeyore ornament off the bottom of the tree and that is still in her crate when we travel. When she was younger she cared for it like a kitten. It was precious.

  4. August 5, 2010 2:34 pm

    How cute! Our dog Bela used to carry around a small towel, which we’d replace when it got too shredded from all her “love”. (We tried more conventional “lovies,” but she just had a thing for towels.) She didn’t do this as much after we had kids, probably because she now had these strange, furless puppies to worry about.

    Hope you and Chloe have smooth travels and a wonderful adventure!

  5. debby permalink
    August 6, 2010 10:18 pm

    Again? Well have an excellent adventure and come back soon! I miss your Chloe updates.

Leave a Reply

