Skip to content

A Trip To Bountiful

August 9, 2010

Pictures from our trip to Florida:

Mama, I ready to go. Mr. Quackers come too.

Ready!

 Oftentimes when people meet Chloe for the first time they assume she is a boy.  So I started putting a pink kerchief around her neck.  It wasn’t anything special, just some fabric cut with pinking shears.  Needless to say it started disintegrating.

Chloe modeling her tired old neckerchief at the Heart concert.

So guess what Grambi* and I made for Chloe this weekend in Florida? 

New kerchiefs!  Specially made for tiny Chloe-sized necks.

Grambi hard at work.

Chloe says, "It's Shake and Bake. And I helped."

I sew all by self.

Chloe was very involved in our craft project.  I think Mom and I were both a little freaked out when she climbed on top of the ironing board!   What dog does that?  She is just screaming for agility classes.  And no, I did not get an ironing board picture.  I was more concerned with getting her off before she burned herself.

By Sunday night we had 6 completed kerchiefs and 5 works in process.  I’ll get those finished up soon.  Want to see one?

Notice how Chloe poses to show the kerchief to best advantage?

Hey Poppi, smile if you think Chloe looks cute:

On our way to the airport early Monday morning.

He’s trying not to smile, but he can’t help himself.

* Why Chloe calls Mom “Grambi”:  When I first got Cecilia, Mom and I were talking on the phone and she said, “Well, I’m so happy to have a beautiful Grand-dogger.”  Then she started musing on what Cecilia should call her.  I about fell on the floor when she said, “Well, a female dog is called a bitch, so I guess I’m a Grandbitch.” 

You know I couldn’t let that go. 

Hence, Grambi.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 8:15 pm

    Oh, how cuuuuute! (Honestly, I feel about 6 years old every time I see a picture of Chloe.) Those little neck-kerchiefs are just too adorable.

    I bet Chloe would love agility training! It’s one of those things I wish I’d done with our Bela before we had kids, because it sounded like so much fun.

    And I love the “Grambi” story! Reminds me of what my husband said my mother-in-law always said, when the family would refer to her as “Mom” of the family dog: “If I’m the dog’s mom, what does that make me?”

  2. August 9, 2010 8:27 pm

    Love her scarves…so stylish! My dog-niece also sports a pink scarf!

  3. debby permalink
    August 9, 2010 9:44 pm

    “she climbed on top of the ironing board! What dog does that?” A dachshund, I’m telling you. She’s got a little hidden somewhere in there. That way I can think of her as Sophies’ long distance cousin.

    And grandbitch. I want to be one of those. I guess I’ll have to get a dog and let her have puppies. That’s the only way its gonna happen for me. Unless you count what people call me behind my back at work LOL. Ah, come on. You know that made you L.O.L.

    Loving Chloe’s voice emerging.

    • Juice permalink*
      August 10, 2010 2:48 pm

      OK, I did LOL. But only when I read the “Ah, come on…” line.

  4. August 10, 2010 4:34 am

    I, too, feel like I’m six years old when I see pictures of Chloe! I just squeal and want to MWAH all over her face.

    I loved the Grambi story, that was too funny. The only grands I have are cats, with a new one just added today.

    Maybe Grambi will go into the kerchief business, because everyone thinks my bulldog is a boy, too! Even with her neon pink collar. Maybe if she sported a beautiful, big girl sized, neckerchief like Chloe, it would stop people from saying, Hey big dude!

    Glad you’re back, you were missed.

  5. julie permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:40 am

    Adorable!!!
    Looks like you all had a great time 🙂

  6. August 10, 2010 11:53 am

    Okay first of all, how much do I love you for saying “it’s Shake and Bake. And I helped”????? I heart you big time for that one because that is something my sister and I say to each other ALL THE TIME!!! Oh how we love to make fun of that commercial. Heart you.

    Secondly, you could totally sell those little neckerchiefs on Etsy! Really, they are that cute!

    Thirdly – dying over Grandbitch!!! That is some funny stuff right there. 🙂

  7. August 10, 2010 2:18 pm

    I see a fashion model in the making! I need to stock doggie accessories too! So glad you had a good time!

  8. August 11, 2010 3:10 pm

    Wrote this as a reply comment to you on my blog but then realized you’d probably never see it, so here ya go:

    Thanks…I’m glad to be out of the car for a while!

    About Goodreads…I’ve always kept a card file with books I’ve read and ones I want to read…found if I didn’t, I’d keep checking the same ones out of the library (when I was teaching, I’d spend the summer reading…sometimes twenty books a week).

    And,yes, an ADP! Beta Nu Chapter at UGA. Hello, sister!

    August 11, 2010 3:08 PM

Trackbacks

  1. Chloe Is Feeling The Love – Part 2 « all things juice
  2. Not Quite China « all things juice
  3. Chloe’s Getaway « all things juice

Leave a Reply

