Skip to content

Your Opinion Please

August 16, 2010

The wedding is five days away and I have yet to settle on a dress.  Can you help a sister out?  I know the picture quality is atrocious, but I only have so many full length mirror options.  [This would be another of those times when a Mister Juice would come in handy.  But then a Mister Juice would probably be rolling his eyes at this.]  

A little background:  This is an outdoor wedding at the bride’s family home in New Jersey.  It begins at 4pm (I think) and has been described on their wedding website as a “fun and semi-casual affair.”

 Be honest, but speak the truth in love, m’kay? 

Option 1

Pewter dress

Source: Ann Taylor Loft

Pro:  I like this color pewter because it matches my eyes.  It’s a lightweight fabric with modern styling. 

Con: Ruffle accent slash pockets right on my hips and my waist appears to have gone missing.  It is very of-the-moment at Loft, so it’s possible that someone else might be wearing the same dress.  

Option 2

Teal dress

Source: Neighbor K’s closet (nee Banana Republic)

Pro:  It’s not wedding white, funeral black or hooker red!  And you can see that I have a waist.

Con:  You can also see that I have a belly.  I’m not sure if I feel pretty in that color.

Option 3

The original intended dress

Source: My closet (nee Ann Taylor)

Pro:  Remember when I was all bummed out that I couldn’t zip my dress?  It zips!  I like the chocolate brown color.  And I like that it’s silk.  And the sassy shoes that Mom got me in Florida look cute with it.  Plus I bought it at least eight years ago which means it’s basically free.

Con: It’s still snug up top.  Is there a word for muffintop when it comes out of a strapless dress?

Option 4

Flower graphic dress

Source: Macy’s

Pro:  Very summery.  A little different without being a crazy bid for attention.  Fits comfortably.  Can still wear my kicky new shoes.

Con:  My most expensive option.

Option 5

High school reunion dress

Source: My closet (nee Ann Taylor Loft)

Pro:  This dress makes me happy because I wore it to my high school reunion last summer and it still fits!  I like the ruffle up top.  The fabric is a lightweight cotton with some sheen to it.  I was planning on wearing this to the rehearsal dinner originally.

Con: Funeral black.  Even though the wedding is in NJ and at least half the guests will be wearing black, my mom and my aunt (the groom’s mother) grew up in the South. 

Option 6

Plum dress

Source: Ross

This isn’t really an option.  The fabric is heavier and the color reminds me of autumn.  I just had to show you because I’m always on a quest to find appropriate outfits for Purple Fridays.  This dress was $17! 

So there you have it.  Help me Obi-wan-kabloggies, you’re my only hope.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    August 16, 2010 11:03 pm

    the most expensive option is my favorite. damn the bad luck. second favorite is your originally intended chocolate brown dress, although, if it gives you a muffin look at the top- i understand your hesitation.

    you and i have such similar problems in the fashion/ figure area, despite the fact that i’m considerably taller. i have to wear something with a waist (which rules on the first option), otherwise i’m all hips and thighs. i have to be very careful about the top and arm cut, otherwise i have muffin issues. and it can’t be too clingy thus not allowing it to hide the multitude of sins. ::SIGH::

    if you can afford it, i definitely say go for the beautiful, graphic dress! love ya! xo

  2. August 16, 2010 11:05 pm

    I like option 4 best, but it is mostly white and I dint know how much of a stickler you are about those sort of things. I think you look fantastic in #2. That would be my next recommendation. #5 is great too and it is an eveningish wedding, so I think black would be okay.

  3. August 16, 2010 11:12 pm

    Option #2 is my favorite, with option #4 following as a close second.

  4. August 17, 2010 7:47 am

    I like all of them – really
    my favorites are the white with designs, I think your prettty blue shoes sound good
    and the HS reunion dress.

    have fun!

  5. August 17, 2010 9:22 am

    I like #4. I hate that it’s your most expensive option, but it sure is pretty and summery.

    As for your original dress, maybe one of those little bolero jackets? I like the color of that one, too.

    You’ll look fabulous whichever you choose. Have fun!

  6. August 17, 2010 10:01 am

    I really like options 3 and 4 on you. Shows off your waist, but doesn’t show ALL your parts. Skims the bod, but doesn’t hug too tightly. I love dresses, so pretty!! 🙂

  7. August 17, 2010 11:21 am

    Of course I can help a sista’ out… especially ’cause I’m the sista’ to the sista’ in question!

    At first blush, I scrolled through the pics and kept waiting to see a not-so-hot dress. My knee-jerk reaction was, “Ok. What’s the problem here? They all really look great in very different ways.”

    Then I went back and took another look to really scruitinze each one. I reserve the right to change my mind when I see them in person.

    In order of favorite to least favorite:

    3,4,2,5,6,1 (Please be ready to try on 3, 4,2, &5) You know TaNK and I will give you our honest opinions.

    And what’s more honest than a six year old boy’s thoughts on fashion?
    C U soon!

  8. August 17, 2010 11:41 am

    I vote for 3! You look great!!

  9. August 17, 2010 11:47 am

    Option 4 is the best one. You’ll look really cute (and not boring) in all the random wedding guest photos.

  10. August 17, 2010 11:47 am

    I think you look really fabulous in the teal dress. Seriously flattering and no, I can’t see that you have a belly. Really! I love several of the others’ silhouettes, but I think the teal one is easily the most flattering dress.

  11. August 17, 2010 12:09 pm

    I spent a lot of time looking all these dresses. I think #3 – maybe don’t eat anything to day of the wedding and work out really hard and then it won’t be snug at all!

  12. August 17, 2010 1:13 pm

    I like option 4 as well. It is very attractive on you. I like the teal dress, it is very curvy and shows you off nicely. I like the original brown dress – you could get a little shrug, but that means more shopping.

    I wore black to an evening wedding once. It was deemed “okay” and I was not the only one in black. But you know what? I felt like an idiot. I would never do it again no matter how the rules have supposedly changed. Just me.

    I don’t see that anyone likes #1 and I have to say this really isn’t the dress for you. Your figure is obscured by the dress and that’s a shame.

  13. Julie permalink
    August 17, 2010 5:53 pm

    Ok I am trying very hard to be honest and not mean*I tend to be very honest which can be misread for mean*

    the white dress with the design is that one that you look really good in.my favorite for sure.
    the teal dress is nice as well.
    the pewter dress… not so much 😦
    the intended one is ok but looks like it could be a little too tight if you sit down or want to to do some nice moves on the dance floor.
    the hs reunion looks really good but I get the no black thing.but it’s very nice.

    I think you are very pretty no matter what but you have done so well and you look fantastic so go for something fun and flirty… which is the white summer dress 🙂

  14. debby permalink
    August 17, 2010 7:43 pm

    Man, you look good in dresses! I think my favorite is your originally intended dress. I have never been able to wear a dress like that in my life. I like all of them. The white + dress really looks like it could be a wedding/garden party dress. For me a big factor in choosing a dress is what I feel looks best and what I feel comfortable in. It doesn’t matter how many people tell me it looks nice if I think I look weird/fat/frumpy. Does that make sense? Have fun. You look so pretty.

    Where is Chloe?

  15. August 17, 2010 9:34 pm

    I think all of them except Option 1 look marvelously flattering on you; you’re right that Option 1 obscures your waist.

  16. August 17, 2010 10:35 pm

    Well. I like three, four, and five. However, if it’s day and semi-casual, I’d probably go with the blue and white.

  17. Zoe's Mom permalink
    August 20, 2010 9:28 pm

    I love Number 2 and Number 4 – did you pick yet??

  18. August 23, 2010 7:34 am

    I vote for one of the last three–the brown with spaghetti straps, the white one with the bluish pattern, or the black one with the ruffle top that you wore to your high school reunion!

Trackbacks

  1. Family Fun Fantastic Voyage – The Wedding « all things juice
  2. A Christmas Card Conundrum « all things juice

Leave a Reply

