Skip to content

What’s In YOUR Breakfast Bowl?

September 17, 2010

A little while ago I read the book One Nation Under Dog and was surprised to learn that dog food did not exist until the 1940s.   Dogs ate table scraps.*(**)  Given that knowledge I have been supplementing Chloe’s kibble with scraps from my own table. 

Well not literally from-the-table because I hate encouraging begging behavior, but from-the-table-via-the-freezer.  Whatevs.

It’s a win win.  Chloe loves the variety and the frugal girl in me loves feeling like I’m being resourceful.

Recently I got a bottle of fish oil capsules.  I think I lasted a week before I just rebelled against burping up fish taste.  That is just nasty!  I switched to flax seed, but this big honkin’ bottle of fish oil was just mocking me every time I opened the cabinet. 

You wasted money on me! Hee hee hee!

 Big bottle of unused fish oil + frugal girl + dog with some skin issues = Fish Oil in Chloe’s Breakfast

Except Chloe isn’t so good at swallowing pills.  Plus her digestive tract is probably too short to process a gel capsule.  Plus I live in fear of her taking a full capsule to the sofa and biting into it, thereby imbuing my entire living room with the gladsome aroma of fish oil (not!). 

So every morning I bite a tiny hole in the capsule, squeeze it over her kibble, add the spent capsule to the bowl, stir in some table scraps (rice most recently, chicken before that) and serve her breakfast.

Let’s not discuss the fact that simply biting a hole in that capsule leaves me with nasty fish taste in my mouth.  I have to immediately eat my cereal to counteract it.  The things we do for love.  Or frugality.

Today I observed this scene:

1. Bowl on floor.  Chloe in “stay.”

2. Chloe released to begin eating.

3. Food  attacked as if she has been starved for months.

4. Pause.  Spent capsule placed delicately on floor next to bowl.

5. Rest of food inhaled.

6. Bowl licked.

7. Capsule chewed and swallowed.

Is she saving that capsule for dessert?  Inquiring minds want to know!

*Insert curmudgeonly voice: “and they were grateful for them, dagnabbit!”

** Check with your vet before feeding dogs table scraps:  certain foods (onion, garlic, cabbage) don’t sit well with dogs.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    September 17, 2010 10:54 am

    1) thank you for the disclaimer about asking the vet for guidance. people need to use some good judgment before just feeding their dogs leftover tacos and goulash soup, etc.!

    2) i was also a flaxseed oil fan (being a hater of all things from the sea), until my very health-conscious mother informed me that fish oil is WAY better for me. her trick – put them in the freezer. she claims if you take them frozen you don’t burp up fish afterward. i have a whole bottle in the freezer and am finishing my flaxseed (being the frugal girl that *i* am!) and then will try. if you’re inclined, try with me and see if the freezing trick works for you ?!

    3) can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks. xo

    • Juice permalink*
      September 20, 2010 1:45 pm

      sparkles, I’m looking to YOU to pioneer that. Let me know how it goes, k?

  2. September 17, 2010 11:44 am

    You can get fish oil caplets that are coated – they don’t give you fish burps at all!

    That’s funny that Chloe saved it for last!! sort of a special “treat” I guess! 🙂

  3. seriouslykk permalink
    September 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    I have fish oil, but it’s infused with lemon essence. So when I burp, I feel all lemony fresh! Got them at a Smith’s grocery store – which is part of the Kroger chain. (Feel free to try one on your next visit out here.)

  4. September 17, 2010 1:49 pm

    Oh yeah, what Jill said. I’ve noticed a huge difference between the enteric-coated ones and the regular.

    I also found that taking them at night (rather than morning) can help, too. Although, now I take them at both times, so until this bottle is empty, I’ll be “enjoying” burps of the sea. 😛

    Wonder if my cat would like them….?

    • September 17, 2010 1:50 pm

      P.S. Maybe a knife or a pin would work okay for poking the hole in the pill, rather than having to bite into it?

  5. debby permalink
    September 18, 2010 1:12 am

    YES to Pubsgal’s suggestion! Can’t imagine biting into one of those guys.

    I’m gonna have to investigate this feeding leftovers to the dogs. Ever since I got rid of my chickens I feel guilty about throwing ‘good’ food out.

    That’s pretty funny how she saved the capsule. I think it wasn’t as ‘worthy’ as the other food, but on ce it was the only thing left, it became worthy enough!

    • Juice permalink*
      September 20, 2010 1:46 pm

      I tried cutting with a knife and ended up with fish oil shooting into my hair! Gross!!! And smelly! So my mouth makes the sacrifice. 😦

  6. September 18, 2010 9:18 am

    I thought I was the only one who made my dogs “wait” before they charge the food bowl! I’m glad to know others use this great practice.

    I also wondered why you don’t just use scissors to cut the tip off the capsule. I’m also wondering if it has helped her skin issues?

    My girls get just a little bit of scraps, but only when dinner is over and I’m doing the dishes. I don’t like begging, either.

  7. September 20, 2010 1:43 pm

    I just have to chime in and also ask why not cut the tip off and squeeze the contents over her food? Throw the capsule away.

  8. September 21, 2010 4:58 pm

    What about a needle into it and then you squeeze oil out of it? Surely there must be a way!

Leave a Reply

