Skip to content

Foster Dog Cody Update

September 27, 2010

Cody has been one sick puppy.

Cough cough cough

On Tuesday he simply stopped eating.  No kibble, no wet dog food, no treats, no rice, no chicken, no cheese, nothing!  And I couldn’t get him to take any medication.  By Wednesday I was at wit’s end and I went to the vet for help. 

On Friday I picked up Cody and his bag-o-tricks from the vet.  Included in my haul:  special wet dog food; fat injection devices to load the food and force feed Cody; and injectable medicine.  The vet taught me how to load and force the food and also how to give a subcutaneous injection.  Y’all, I delay getting shots for myself as long as I possibly can!  Just goes to show that when push comes to shove, it’s suprising what you can accomplish.

Cody, you can have my spot. I share.

Thankfully Cody started eating once I got him home.  At first I had to hand feed him each piece of kibble, but today he ate from a bowl just like Chloe.  Hooray!  His shots are finished and I’ve been able to give him his cough suppressant wrapped in a treat.  Cody is on the mend (slowly).  Unfortunately, he still coughed most of Saturday night.  I’m sleep deprived and snappish and so in admiration of moms who live in sleep-deprivation-land for years!

My tail is up. So are my spirits.

See? I cute!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 2:04 pm

    Hooray! I just hate it when they’re sick. I am still mixing cut-up fish and oatmeal for my Roscoe.

  2. September 27, 2010 2:20 pm

    Very glad to hear that Cody is on the mend! I can only hope to emulate your patience!

  3. September 27, 2010 2:58 pm

    Hang in there… I know it’s hard, but you WILL get through this.

  4. September 27, 2010 8:08 pm

    Oh, glad he’s feeling better! He’s a handsome little guy. And how sweet of Chloe, being such a good host doggie!

    Tough way for you to start the week; hang in there!

  5. debby permalink
    September 28, 2010 1:10 am

    Oh my. I didn’t realize you were still ‘nursing’ him. I don’t know if I admire you more for your doggie fostering or your people fostering!

  6. September 28, 2010 6:32 pm

    Don’t let anyone tell you you don’t know what mothering is like. Cuz that is it! You’re doing a great job and Cody is lucky you’re taking such good care of him. And Chloe? She is just the best little candy striper ever!! (I almost put stripper! LOL)

Leave a Reply

