Skip to content

Rainy Day Ramblings

October 4, 2010

It feels very autumnal in Baltimore today.  A steady rain is falling, I’ve got banana bread in the oven, and Chloe and I are waiting for the electric company to install some kind of energy saving device.  Our window was 8:30am – 12:30pm, and our guy just called at 12:20 to say he’s on his way, but we won’t fret about that.

With no sense of order, here are some thoughts from the weekend.

1. Cody has been adopted!  And renamed Bentley.  His new mom promised updates, so stay tuned.

2.  The state of Maryland has forced me to acquire more technology.  We are now a “hands-free” state, so I purchased a Bluetooth device and conned the Radio Shack guy into setting  it up for me and showing me how to work it.  It’s so tiny I’m afraid I’m going to lose it.  Fortunately Matty’s mom brought me a darling tiny zippered pouch when they went to Vietnam a few years ago.  It’s perfect Bluetooth size.  And I have to say that I’m really digging my new device.  It’s easier to use than I expected and the sound quality is good!  Go Jawbone.

Jawbone has not compensated me in any way for this post. Although they are welcome to.

3.   After reading about how fabulous Beth Moore studies are for about eleventy billion years I’m finally going to participate in one.

Esther starts tomorrow

4. Chloe has found her life’s work and calling.  She needs to dig to China.  See?

I have no idea what she finds so compelling about this particular bed.  She has the same bed only smaller in my bedroom and it goes untouched.  Makes me wonder if a crumb of food got in somewhere.  Anyway, she’s put a hole in the fabric.  This bed has certainly seen better days and surely won’t see many more in this house.   And she’s actually given herself a blister on her paw!  OCD much Chloe?

5. Today I’m feeling all snug and cozy in my sweater and sock monkey slippers.  It’s the inaugural wearing of the slippers for Fall 2010.  Love them.  One of my best Christmas gifts ever.  And I’m loving my new sweater.  Partly because I splurged on a grey cashmere cardigan at Marshalls this weekend.  Squee!  I’ve been petting myself all day.  Next thing you know I’ll be rolling down the window asking to borrow your Grey Poupon.

6.  Tonight’s dinner was soup.  Perfect for a rainy day, but sadly from a can.  Looks like there will be some venison soup in my future.  After all, I have a little venison to spare.  Time to pull out the crock pot and recipe hunt.

7.  Sparkles and I met yesterday after church in Reston.  We did our traditional lunch / amateur therapy session and window shopping.  While sampling perfume at Sephora and discussing important life matters like age spots and the crepey skin that is masquerading as my eyelid a complete stranger overheard us and recommended Bio-Oil.  Have any of you used it?  Is is truly the wonder-drug that the advertisements claim in my middle-age-lady magazines?

Cooler temps, needed rain, a roof that isn’t leaking, a great weekend with friends, and a fancy high class sweater.  Life is good.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    October 4, 2010 11:11 pm

    can you please ask your loyal followers about the arnica, too?! and i’ll do some vitamin k research. this aging thing is for the ding-dang birds! xo

  2. October 5, 2010 8:03 am

    Love it! And Arnica Gel really works for bruises and sore muscles. I didn’t believe it but tried some based on a friend’s recommendation and it works wonders!

  3. October 5, 2010 8:17 am

    So there really is stuff to make me look younger? If not younger, then maybe not so old?

    Since this is a G rated blog, I won’t tell you what Zoe does to her bed. Every. night.

    We’ve had cooler weather here, too and I’m loving it. I’m a sweater junkie so I’m thinking a trip to Marshals is just the thing!

  4. October 5, 2010 12:08 pm

    “middle aged lady magazines” – that made me giggle!! Yes, do tell about the Bio-Oil. I’m curious as well!!

    Go Chloe Go!! And bring me some Chinese food when you get back from China!!

  5. October 5, 2010 1:19 pm

    You will love Beth Moore’s study. Apparently I am the last in a long line of people to say so.

  6. October 5, 2010 2:17 pm

    my grandson has been enjoying your dog pictures. he is 20 mo. old and his favorite word is puppy.

  7. debby permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:47 pm

    Hmmm. I wrote such a clever comment, and its not here. Hopefully there isn’t any cliquishness going on here and my comment was deleted by the blog owner. Oh, that makes me laugh (note, I did not say LOL) because I just wrote over on Pubsgal’s blog that I am in danger of being ‘unfriended’ by Juice because of my continual use of the noxious LOL.

    Okay, on to the comment regarding your blog.

    I love the illustration for the Beth Moore study.

    You young’uns crack me up with your aging talk.

    Slippers and sweaters are two of my most favorite items of apparel.

    Chloe + digging = Dachshund. Have you ever given her a blankie? She might like that–dachshunds sometimes like to bury themselves completely in a blanket.

  8. October 12, 2010 12:12 pm

    Oh, you are SO worth that cashmere sweater!

Trackbacks

  1. Not Quite China « all things juice

Leave a Reply

