Skip to content

Things I Did This Weekend With My Pop

November 9, 2010

I’d write a post right now, but I got this killer paper cut that’s really slowing me down, so I can only think in bullet points.  I’ve asked Dad to collaborate with me on this post.  Without further ado, Things I Did With My Dad This Weekend:

  • Went to our favorite Italian place for pizza (KK, I know you’re bummed you missed out).
  • Assembled Juice’s new IKEA sofa–six bolts, six plastic bags to rip, and a slipcover over all.

Yay! New sofa! (And pretty birthday flowers from Mom and Dad).

  • Napped twice on said new sofa.  It’s comfy!
  • Had dinner with Columbian friends (not South American), did NOT play charades.  (Much to one particular Columbian’s dismay).
  • Shopped at eleventy-billion stores to accessorize said new sofa.  Note that the pillow in the picture above is not a keeper. 

 

This pillow is a keeper.

  • Played ‘roadie’ at Juice’s gig at Leadbetter’s on Friday night, LATE.  (We didn’t get to bed until 3:30am!  Eeek!)

We had six musicians on-stage Friday night in that tiny bar

The place was packed

  • Experienced LOSS.  That’s Lack Of Sleep Syndrome for those of you playing along at home.  Instituted the nap clause to help us recover.   Made frequent use of the nap clause.  On the new sofa (did I mention that before?).
  • Worked like a dog on ‘daddy do’s’–visited Walmart three times, Ace Hardware twice (next time I come up, buy stock!)  Accomplished most of the items on the list, but LOSS (and accessorizing that daggone sofa)  impaired my efforts.  (Sweaters organized, AC unit stored, locks lubricated, basement semi-organized, doors weatherstripped, hose stored, screens repaired, etc.  I LOVE having Dad come to visit!)
  • Watched the Ravens kick some Dolphin butt.  Celebrated my traditional birthday tailgate with Bosslady and crew.  Bosslady even made my favorite birthday cake: orange cake with chocolate frosting.  Mmmmm.
  • Personally verified some of Baltimore Magazine’s ‘best’ steak restaurants from the  October issue.  Liked Kooper’s Tavern more than Ale Mary’s, but both were very good.
  • Watched Chloe fall in love with her Poppi.  She spent most of the weekend trying to climb on top of him and lick his face.  Which is weird, because she’s not a terribly licky dog.  Remember poison dog lips?

Poison Dog Lips!
  • Took Chloe to the dog park.

Chloe hides from a boxer

Dis my safe place. Dogses can't get me.

Come back soon Poppi. Dis seat not so comfy like lap.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Duffylou permalink
    November 9, 2010 1:13 pm

    Your post is cute. Thank you for including mandatory Chloe pics. She is darling.

  2. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    November 9, 2010 2:37 pm

    What an awesome weekend! Dads are great, huh?

  3. November 9, 2010 7:27 pm

    1. Yes, I’m very bummed about the pizza – but not too bummed, because TaNK had early release today and he and I hit up our fave pizza place! Pizza craving – satiated!

    2. When is Dad coming to my house to work, errrr, visit the kids?

    3. I love that pic of Chloe under the tree! It looks like she’s holding it up with just her ears!

    4. I like the blanket and pillows… they compliment the color of your wood floor nicely. (See, unsolicited opinions can be nice sometimes!)

    5. Just for the record, I’ve been suffering from LOSS for six and a half very long years. I am officially instituting the nap clause into our family Articles of Organization.

    6. Again, Dad… when are you coming to visit?

    Cool collaborative post… good job!

  4. November 10, 2010 9:23 am

    That just sounded like fun. I’m thinking I need to have my dad down for a visit.

  5. November 10, 2010 5:11 pm

    Sounds like an awesome birthday weekend/Dad fun time!

  6. November 10, 2010 9:06 pm

    Glad you had a wonderful weekend and dad visit! How sweet is that Chloe! (And yes, I remember Lucy’s complaint about “poison dog lips” – my kiddos love “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!” They like pretty much any of the animated Charlie Brown holiday specials.)

  7. November 10, 2010 9:07 pm

    Theo loves it when my dad visits too, as Pa takes him on a morning and afternoon walk.

    Does Chloe have a cute scarf on that just cannot be see because of the way she is pouting, or was she naked?

    and does your real life job use your writing skills? it should, you are a great writer. And I know all about writers, my brother is a journalist and famous in his field professor. I am sure he would agree me too.

    • Juice permalink*
      November 11, 2010 9:55 am

      Rhonda, never fear, Chloe is not naked! She’s wearing Dawn’s candy corn neckerchief in that last shot. She IS naked in the dog park pics, but that’s because we took her coat off for her to play with the other dogs.

      Thanks for the compliment as well! In real life I’m a head hunter. Not a lot of writing required except to tweak a resume or coach someone on a thank you letter.

  8. debby permalink
    November 12, 2010 12:59 am

    Fun fun fun! Happy birthday! Is the Ikea sofa a birthday present? What do you think of Ikea products? The price sure is right! Is the sofa really comfy? I want a new one!

    • Juice permalink*
      November 12, 2010 10:44 am

      The sofa was my present to me, but my Dad very graciously agreed to put it together for me. Overall I’m a fan of Ikea. The sofa is much more firm than my last (also Ikea) sofa, but it is still comfortable once you get past the initial “my! that’s firm!” moment. I had no trouble napping on it. And best of all the slipcover is machine washable. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Can You Smell That? Part Deux « all things juice

Leave a Reply

