Skip to content

Inappropriate Things

November 12, 2010

Last weekend Dad and I walked over to the local Ace Hardware.  We picked up some weather stripping, some odds and ends and I had a few house keys made.

I’m standing in the back of the store near the key-machine watching the guy do his thing when he decides to make some small talk.

So, do you live nearby?

Ummm… excuse me?  Are you really standing there making my house keys and asking me where I live???

I tried to pass off a breezy “Oh, in the neighborhood” kind of comment while I grabbed my keys and took off to find Dad.   Then at check-out, the clerk asked if I wanted to be part of the frequent shopper club!  As in provide them with my name and contact info!   Dad paid with his credit card (thanks Pop, you’re the best!) and we hightailed it out of there.

To be sure, the checkout girl had no idea what the key-maker had asked me, but I was slightly wigged out by Ace last weekend.

Speaking of inappropriate behaviors, Chloe and I had our first rally class Wednesday.  I know, I know, it’s not agility, but rally was recommended to me as a way to strengthen the dog / owner bond.  Given that I do not exist when Chloe is doing important things such as hunting squirrels, rats, birds, bugs or defending the house from sunlight and shadows, I thought developing a stronger bond might be a good idea. 

Plus agility class doesn’t start ’til January.  Whatevs.

Here’s an example of a rally competition.  I don’t plan to compete Chloe, but if I can get her to focus on me like this little dog focuses on her owner, how cool would that be?

So we’re in rally class at a new facility with a new teacher and it’s pretty clear that I have the most rambunctious dog in the class.  To be fair, Chloe is probably the youngest dog in the class as well.  But still, embarrassing.  Also embarrassing?  The fact that I couldn’t get the hand-motion-rock-back-circle-dog-around-and-bring-to-perfect-heel-position move.  The overacheiver in me was mortified to need remedial help.  I’m glad to say we finally got that under control, but Chloe engaged in some other somewhat inappropriate behavior.  As the instructor is working with Chloe, she looks at me and says

Oh.  You’re gonna need a glove.

My instructor, who teaches Schutzhund to German Shepherds, is telling me to get a protective glove so my twelve pound dog doesn’t take my fingers off.

At least I don't need the helmet or pads...yet.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 12:15 pm

    Sounds like the two of you are in for some fun. Maybe 🙂

  2. debby permalink
    November 12, 2010 1:46 pm

    Oh, now you just made me want a pomeranian!

    My friend that is big into obedience training said rally is harder than it looks, and is quite a workout (brain-wise) for dog and owner. A lot of the moves that they do are what we do at our weekly training class that I take Noah to. I take it Chloe does not have a ‘soft mouth?’

    Was the key guy good looking? (tee hee)

  3. November 12, 2010 5:26 pm

    I am thinking they guy at Ace thought you were cute and was trying to think of something to get you talking to him.

  4. Duffylou permalink
    November 12, 2010 6:37 pm

    My dogs only look at me when there is food involved. Then it is a free for all and it’s past the point of no return. Take them out of the house, I don’t even exist.

  5. November 14, 2010 9:27 am

    I had never heard of Rally before. Interesting. You’ll have a lot of fun with it, I’m sure!

  6. November 15, 2010 3:56 pm

    Very interesting. The hardware store experience would have skeeved me out, too. Keep us informed on Rally! And, we need to get you a different football picture. I have plenty of Georgia pictures I can send to you!

  7. November 15, 2010 9:02 pm

    Definitely freaky about the key guy!!

Leave a Reply

