Skip to content

Plastic Is Burning (Again, But Differently)

December 6, 2010

As I mentioned in my last post, I elected to skip Thanksgiving travel this year.  A combination of rainy weather and lane closures in Delaware suggested that the prudent course was to stay home.  I missed seeing my uncle, but I resolved to make the most of my suddenly free schedule. 

Thursday was a lovely blur of reading, napping, breakfast with neighbors, and the aforementioned Zip-It event.  I had dinner with another Thanksgiving orphan, watched a DVD and called it a night. 

Friday the neighbors and I decided to be daring.  We took advantage of the new (free!) Circulator bus and went to the Gallery at the Inner Harbor.  I was fully prepared for crowds and a potentially aborted shopping trip.

How cute is this Circulator with the antennae?

Our. mall. was. emptyEmpty!  Neighbors C, G and I looked around in wonder.  We got a little giddy once we realized that the same Black Friday sales were in effect, minus the crowds.  Needless to say our plastic was put to good use.  I picked up a gorgeous suit from here:

Ann, you look even cuter when you're 40% off

G and C did some damage here:

Also 40% savings

Then Saturday I decided to replace my running shoes.  (I know, I know, I only use them to walk.  It makes me feel healthier to call them running shoes, so let’s just go with that, mkay?)  I went to my favorite Baltimore insider sports store.

Holabird Sports rocks!

Once again God blessed me with a relatively empty store and quick service.  As I checked out, I asked where the nearest Target was located.   This was a part of town that I don’t frequent often.  As the clerk gave me directions she mentioned, “It’s a nice Target and kind of out of the way, so you shouldn’t have any crowds.”  She was right!  And it was the Target 2-day sale!  Bargains galore!

I’m still in shock that I completed so much shopping so easily on Black Friday weekend.   This burning plastic smelled infinitely better than the last plastic I mentioned.  However, burning plastic in all forms is certainly something that requires moderation.  I’m shopped out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    December 6, 2010 10:16 am

    WOOHOOO!! Don’t you love bargains?! 🙂

    I think that bus is the cutest .

    Happy you had a nice weeked.

  2. December 7, 2010 8:53 am

    That’s really shocking! I was in Ohio for the holiday and the crowds were overwhelming. I stayed home, but my cousins shopped and of course, the news showed the crowds. My husband went to Best Buy and it was a zoo. Hmmmm….what’s up in Baltimore?

    • Juice permalink*
      December 7, 2010 12:01 pm

      Caron, my theory is that everyone left Baltimore to visit family out of town. People just don’t think about coming into the city for holiday shopping on Thanksgiving weekend. So our suburban malls were crowded, but inner city shopping was really a breeze. Woot!

  3. December 7, 2010 9:48 am

    That is the BEST Black Friday story ever! Way to go, Juice!

  4. December 7, 2010 1:34 pm

    Your Thanksgiving weekend sounds pretty heavenly!
    P.S. I don’t use my “running” shoes for running, either, but running shoes doesn’t sound as old fogeyish as “walking shoes!”

  5. December 7, 2010 6:20 pm

    Oooooohhhhh! THAT’S the smell that was wafting from my wallet this past weekend. Thanks for helping me diagnose it. 😉

Leave a Reply

