Skip to content

A Christmas Card Conundrum

December 8, 2010

Do you guys send out Christmas cards?  Do you include a picture?  How about a newsletter?

I try to send Christmas cards each year.  In fact, getting my address labels automated was my New Year’s resolution last year.  (Um, erm, I’m still working on that.  Stay tuned.)

Last week I picked out a Christmas card photo.  It came in the mail today and I excitedly showed it to Bosslady.  She agreed it was a cute photo, but questioned my subject.  It was a pic of Tank, Dad and me from Hershey Park. 

Option One

Bosslady’s concern was that the picture only showed a portion of my family.  Would Mom, KK, BIL and Cricket feel left out?

Which of course led to a whole trip down some photo rabbit holes.

You guys did such a nice job helping me pick out a bedspread and a dress.  Care to help with the CCC (Christmas Card Conundrum)?

Option 2

Option Two - Family in Jersey

Pro:  More of my extended family is included, although BIL and Cricket are still back in Reno.

Con: My Christmas card is from me in Baltimore, not my whole extended family (Maryland, Florida and Nevada).  Am I borrowing people without their permission?

Option 3

Option Three - Borrowing cute kids

Pro:  People always like to see pictures of kids.  And how much am a cracking up that Cricket is clearly not excited to be there, while Tank is smiling his heart out for the camera?

Con:  How many times can I borrow KK’s kids for my cards before she cuts me off?

Option 4

Option 4 - Unstable sign

Pro:  I think this is a funny picture.

Con:  When I get mixed up in some completely innocent event that turns into a Jerry Springer episode (it could happen), people will point to this picture and say “See, I always thought she was unstable.”

Option 5

Option 5 - San Diego

Pro:  I like the colors in this picture.  KK is a good photographer!

Con:  It’s just me.  Narcissistic much?

Option 6

Option 6 - Chloe at Homecoming

Pro:  It has Chloe!

Con: I’m wearing sunglasses, my hair is all pulled back and I have sort of a goofy expression.

Option 7

Option 7 - Cricket swinging

Pro:  This was a really fun day.  I think I look happy in this pic.

Con: Again with the borrowing kids thing.

I’m wishing that I’d taken more pics with Chloe, but it’s December 8 and I’m kind of in a time squeeze.  Whaddya think?  Do I force Bosslady to take some pictures of Chloe and me until we have a good one?  Can I go with one of these?  Do I chuck the photo altogether and just include a little written update? 

And yes, I’m counting my blessings that this is my only holiday stress.  In the grand scheme of things it’s small potatoes, I know.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 4:12 pm

    I like the one of you and Chloe b/c that is your immediate family.

  2. December 8, 2010 8:05 pm

    I vote for you and Chloe. I think the Homecoming pic is beautiful but if you don’t love it, have Bosslady take some more!

  3. Julie permalink
    December 8, 2010 11:23 pm

    I love option 6 ( the one with you and Chloe). I feel it represents who you are and it’s super cute to see you so happy to welcome little Chloe in your home 🙂

  4. December 8, 2010 11:35 pm

    I vote for you with Chloe. You look happy and so does she!

  5. debby permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:17 am

    I’ll make in unanimous–you and Chloe! Can boss lady take a new one of you two and get the copies made in one day somewhere? I know Costco does it–don’t know if you have those back there.

  6. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:32 am

    LOVE the one with you and Chloe. The votes are still unanimous! 🙂

    P.S. Have I mentioned how much I LOVE getting your Christmas cards??? (this coming from someone who has yet to send out a single card in her whole entire life)

  7. December 9, 2010 10:01 am

    I vote you and Chloe. I’ve even done the kind with the self timer, while we’re sitting on the sofa. You two are adorable!

    P.S. yes, I send cards. I no longer put a newsletter because that was mostly just about the kids. Empty nesters = not much news

  8. sparkles permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:38 pm

    hi from ireland!

    option 6 for sure. i want you and chloe!

    meanwhile, as the prof proofreader in your life, it’s ‘tank, dad, and me’ and ‘chloe and me’! oh, and a pic of you by yourself makes sense to me, and doesn’t seem narcissistic to me at all 🙂

    • Juice permalink*
      December 9, 2010 3:11 pm

      Sparkles, what would I do without you?? Can’t believe I missed that – you know that grammar is a pet peeve of mine!

  9. seriouslykk permalink
    December 9, 2010 3:50 pm

    My faves… 4,5, and 1. I’m voting for these because you either look your best and/or they are funny. And aren’t people sick of getting the smiley-cutesy-family portrait cards? I know I am! I would really encourage you NOT to use Chloe’s homecoming because… wait… I got distracted… is that a poop bag ready for use on the end of her leash? Hair back. Poop bag. Point made. (My apologies to all other commenters who voted for 6, but I just will not let her do that.)

    • December 9, 2010 11:32 pm

      I vote for you + Chloe – if that is a poop bag, you could crop it out and still have a cute picture.

  10. December 9, 2010 10:23 pm

    Once again, I’m going against the grain, but I say DEFINITELY option 5. It’s a cool picture, it’s got beautiful scenery and beautiful you. Option 5, for sure. 🙂

  11. The Original Mom permalink
    December 11, 2010 5:17 pm

    Mmmmmkay, it’s Dec 11th and I hope I’m not too late to weigh in on this one…. I vote for a new pic of you and Chloe elegantly dressed, lots of Bling, sitting on your lovely new sofa with that wonderfully colorful pillow and holding a Christmas ornament or big bow or sprig of mistletoe while getting a kiss from Chloe (who is grateful down to the fuzz between her toes that she “gots her a home” this Christmas!)

  12. December 14, 2010 2:31 pm

    I vote for the original photo of you, your dad, and Tank–very cute and love the expressions on your faces! I didn’t even think twice that your mom and sis and niece weren’t in it. Looking forward to receiving it!

Trackbacks

  1. Random Thoughts Jumping Around My Head Which May Or May Not Be Christmas-y « all things juice

Leave a Reply

