Skip to content

O Christmas Tree

December 10, 2010
News flash:  It’s SNOWING!  Our first snow of the season and there is a light dusting on the ground.  How Christmassy.  It makes me want to show off my Christmas tree:

My new Christmas tree!

 

Isn’t she a beauty?  Only four feet tall and prelit with colored lights, so most of the hard stuff about putting up the tree isn’t quite so hard anymore.

I’m thrilled with this purchase.  My old tree was six feet tall and a pain in the patooty to install.  So much so that several times I just scrapped the tree altogether.  After all, it’s just me in the house.  No kids to disappoint. 

My new tree (does she need a name?)  fits nicely on that trunk by the window.  Now people can see festive Christmas lights through my front window when they pass on the sidewalk.  Fa la la la la…

Just in case you’re concerned, my old tree found a good home through the magic of Facebook.  Yay, a happy reduce / reuse / recycle story. 

Here are a couple shots of my ornaments. 

Lighthouse from a trip to Nantucket, handprint ornament from Tank, and an old ice-skating-mice ornament that I remember from my earliest trees.

Most of my ornaments are souvenirs from trips.  I love unpacking them and remembering fun times.

Top to bottom: San Diego souvenir, a replica of a cruise ship from one of my trips with Mom, ship from Newport, RI.

Santa Hat from San Fran trip with KK

This next ornament has a special story attached.  Sparkles sent it to me as a Christmas gift in 2005 because she knew I was searching for my first dog.  I met Cecilia December 26, 2005.  Isn’t it funny how much Cecilia looked like this ornament?

 

Stuffed dog from Sparkles

My sweet girl - 2006

 

The snow has stopped here, but I’m still feeling Christmassy inside.  Hello winter!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 6:12 pm

    You should name your tree Eva – because she’s an Evagreen!

    ba dum bum.

    Thank you! I’ll be here all week, don’t forget to tip your waitress!

    • Juice permalink*
      December 12, 2010 8:41 am

      Jill – cracking me up! Eva it is. 🙂

  2. December 10, 2010 6:14 pm

    Love your tree! If an ornament has no meaning, then in my opinion, it doesn’t belong on a tree. One of my favorite parts of Christmas is sitting quietly by the tree and letting the memories flow as I look at the ornaments.

  3. December 11, 2010 9:53 am

    I’m with Pendy, I love to look over my ornaments and remember where I got them. I have a lot from our trips, as well. The rest are cows, because I collect them. I finally gave all the kid ornaments to the kids. That was hard, but they are for them to remember.

    I love the Cecilia ornament!

  4. December 11, 2010 7:01 pm

    Well, its a little stretch to imagine that ornament looking like Cecelia, but okay, I’ll go with it. Love all your ship/boat/sailing ornaments. Also like the idea of a smaller tree. Mine isn’t too hard, comes in three parts, but still, smaller seems the way to go. Maybe next year.

    • Juice permalink*
      December 12, 2010 8:43 am

      It totally looked like Cecilia! The color, the semi-flopped ears (remember Cecilia’s ears only when straight up 100% of the time at the end of her life). She could have bought a brown or black dog with log hair and a squished face… I still think is was a neat coincidence.

  5. December 12, 2010 4:17 pm

    Love your tree and your ornaments! What a fun journey you get to take every time you look at it!

  6. sparkles permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:07 pm

    yay me being featured! or rather that cute-as-a-button ornament i gave you being featured. such sweet serendipity–love that decoration, loved that dog, and totally applaud your new tree and the recycling of your old tree. you rock! xx

Leave a Reply

