Skip to content

Chicken Soup With Rice

December 14, 2010

A mathematical equation for this morning:

1 bag of oldish baby carrots + 1/2 bunch of celery + 20 degree temperatures = X

X = Chicken Soup with Rice!

Did anyone read this book by Sendak as a kid?

Loved it!

To quote:

Sipping once, sipping twice, sipping chicken soup with rice.

I made KK walk me through a super-easy soup recipe.  It’s so yummy and delicious I’ll share it with you.

Dice carrots and celery.  As much as you want!  Get crazy and add some onion if you want.  Or fennel.   Whatever blows your skirt up.  (I haven’t tried fennel yet, but I’m intrigued by it.) 

Sautee in butter and some olive oil in a large soup pot.  I actually sweat the veggies, meaning I put a lid on it and use the steam to help cook.  (I am SO Julia Child!!!    Not.)

Add chicken broth (again, as much as you want).  Add rice (cooked or not).  Let simmer for a little while.  Obviously if you add uncooked rice you’ll need to take a little more time to cook the rice before heading to the next step.

Add diced cooked chicken and seasoning.  Simmer 10 minutes.  Add additional broth if your soup is on the thick side (or if you need to stretch it to serve unexpected-but-welcome neighbors).

Serve with crusty bread or crackers. 

Read Sendak’s book before bed so that your dreams are filled with rhymes about chicken soup with rice.

Seasoning notes:  The first two times I made this soup I added dried dill weed – somewhere around a tablespoon.  Last night I added 1 teaspoon of mild curry powder instead.  Both ways are delicious! 

I’m having so much fun with this simple soup.  It makes the house smell yummy and everyone likes it.  I’d like to experiment with more flavors, but I don’t want to ruin a good batch of soup.  So tell me:  how do you season your chicken soup?  What do you add to make it unique?  Please unleash your inner chefs in the comments.  Thanks!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    December 14, 2010 12:54 pm

    I like to use wild rice. It seems healthier somehow. I also like Mrs. Dash for a salty flavor without the sodium. Definitely like to add the onion. I also like that if I’m especially lazy and don’t feel like cooking up chicken cutlets to add, I can always open a big can of chicken breast that I generally have on hand in bulk from Costco. I open the can, put it in a colander, then rinse and shred with my fingers. Nom-nom-nom!

    p.s. I’ve heard that some people add in a little asian sesame oil and/or parsley and/or wine.

  2. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    December 14, 2010 2:03 pm

    I will have to try this!!!! 🙂

  3. December 14, 2010 2:19 pm

    I like a little poultry seasoning, a little thyme. Oh and garlic – garlic goes with anything!!

  4. seriouslykk permalink
    December 14, 2010 3:52 pm

    I also like to add a little dry sherry directly to the broth, or I marinate the chicken for about 30 minutes in the sherry and then drain the excess before cooking. (A little sherry goes a long way!) The sherry and dill combo is, IMO, divine!

    • Juice permalink*
      December 14, 2010 3:56 pm

      Oooh – that’s right. I forgot the sherry this time. It still tasted great. Wonder how sherry and curry would have mixed?

  5. December 14, 2010 4:55 pm

    I don’t remember reading this book as a kid but I do read it to my kids now!

  6. debby permalink
    December 15, 2010 12:06 am

    Hmmm/ I’m not getting the dill. But the sherry sounds divine. Sometimes I roast a chicken with onion, garlic, and lemon stuffed in the cavity. I wonder how those flavors would taste in soup? Oregano? Can you tell I don’t make chicken rice soup?

    • Juice permalink*
      December 15, 2010 4:47 pm

      Debby, you’ve GOT to try the dill. It is seriously delicious! I served this soup to the neighbors using both sherry and dill and everyone raved!!! It sounds like a weird herb to use with chicken, but I promise it works.

  7. December 15, 2010 9:50 am

    I’m with Jill…garlic! My dad taught me you can never have too much garlic. The curry sounds delish!!

  8. December 15, 2010 10:56 am

    Sounds so good!

  9. December 16, 2010 7:53 pm

    Ooooo, I LOVED that book! I’ll have to find it at the library and read it to my kiddos.

    As for chicken soup, yum! The Mr. usually puts in sage, garlic, salt, and pepper. I’d put thyme, rosemary, basil, and oregano in it, too. (Er, I guess that’s all in your basic poultry seasoning.) Lemon pepper works nicely with chicken, too.

  10. December 16, 2010 7:54 pm

    Oh, and I meant to say fennel would be really good in chicken soup. Not too much, just enough for a hint of sweetness and flavor. I would try parsnips in it, too.

  11. December 23, 2010 10:18 am

    Read the books to my kids a lot (there’s also a Scholastic video with a bunch of Maurice Sendak stories on it and Chicken Soup with Rice is sung by Carole King and that tune is running through my head–
    http://www.last.fm/music/Carole+King/_/Chicken+Soup+With+Rice and think I will try your chicken soup with rice recipe!

Leave a Reply

