Skip to content

Sock Monkey Saturday!

December 15, 2010

Sock Monkey Saturday at the American Visionary Art Museum here in Baltimore occurred last weekend.  For the low low price of absolutely free, hundreds of us descended upon the museum to get our craft on.

My long term readers will remember that R accompanied me to SMS last year.  This year Forrest Gump came with me.

A friendly Sock Monkey Helper

Forrest hard at work

Me and my monkey

I was a little concerned that a 17 year old boy might find Sock Monkey Saturday babyish.  I didn’t tell him what we were doing until after we had arrived at the museum.  He looked around the room at all the people and decided it was fine.
After all, there are grown men making monkeys, Miss Juice.
So that settled that.
Forrest took this next shot.  I’m entitling it Monkeys at Rest.

You may notice that Forrest’s monkey has no ears.  He got bored and decided that his monkey was finished.

Poor deaf monkey.  Forrest could have at least given you fingers so that you could sign.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. seriouslykk permalink
    December 15, 2010 5:33 pm

    Ok, this post is hysterical!!

    Sign, deaf monkey, sign!!

    I think your monkey needs to travel with you in 2011, and much like the Travelocity gnome, it needs to be photographed wherever your journeys take you. Girls weekend with the monkey!!

  2. Duffylou permalink
    December 15, 2010 5:55 pm

    Forrest’s sock money obviously has on a sock cap! His ears got cold and he pulled the cap down over the ears.

    Great monkeys by the way.

  3. debby permalink
    December 16, 2010 1:21 am

    I love KK’s suggestion of the monkey traveling with you. Especially a purple orangutan.

  4. December 16, 2010 9:32 am

    Okay, that was just too cute! Poor deaf monkey with no fingers.

    What a great way to spend a Saturday!

  5. December 16, 2010 12:06 pm

    Is it weird that I’m just a little bit in love with Forrest? Not in a creeper kind of way, but he seems like a such a sweetheart, and a good sport too!!

    Poor lil deaf monkey!!

  6. December 17, 2010 1:56 pm

    I like KK’s suggestion too! Instead of a Flat Stanley, a Deaf Monkey! Looks like a fun weekend!

  7. December 22, 2010 10:42 pm

    that looks like it was a really fun day. glad Forrest liked it too, my boys liked to craft, in fact I think they still like but they are too busy doing other stuff. They may not say it but I bet your foster children love spending weekends with you.

  8. December 23, 2010 10:14 am

    I’ve got a thing for sock monkeys myself : ) And I love the American Visionary Museum–you post is making me feel a bit homesick for Baltimore…

Leave a Reply

