Skip to content

I Kind Of Missed The Weekend What With All The Laundry

January 25, 2011

Whew.

Was there a weekend in there?

Thursday night I picked up Forrest for a couple of days.  I normally don’t provide respite during the week, but Forrest’s foster mom needed to travel for work so I volunteered to help her out.

At dinner I noticed that Forrest kept blinking and touching his eye.  When I asked about it he mentioned that he had a headache.  I gave him some Tylenol, dimmed the lights a little, and we continued with dinner.  I made Dad’s famous beef cabbage soup and it was pretty darn yummy even if I do say so myself.  Forrest had seconds.

Shortly after dinner Forrest headed to bed.  I did the same since I had to wake up extra early to get him to school in the county.

Except we never made it to school.

Forrest spent the night puking.  Bless his heart he was trying to be quiet about it, but that’s not really a sound you can muffle.

Needless to say we spent Friday at home.  Forrest alternated between naps in bed and stints on the sofa watching Lord of the Rings.  All I can say right now is thank you Peter Jackson for making movie that I actually enjoy watching more than once.  And bless you for keeping it smut free, because the last thing I want to do is watch a sex-laced movie with a 17 year old boy. Awkward!

I spent my Friday alternating between cleaning things with bleach spray and doing laundry.

Here is a partial list of things I have laundered since Thursday night:

  • sheets from both beds (even though Forrest was never in my room I don’t want to catch any stray germs)
  • blankets and comforter from Forrest’s bed
  • multiple throws I used to protect the sofa from Forrest germs
  • clothing touched by Forrest
  • dishclothes touched by Forrest
  • napkins and placemats touched by Forrest
  • towels and washcloths used by Forrest

Anyone picking up a theme here?  I was totally paranoid about getting sick, especially since we had a gig Saturday night and I had to sing!

Forrest was back to 100% by the time I dropped him off Saturday morning.  I spent the day catching up at work and then made it through the gig puke free.  God is good.

My dad’s beef cabbage soup is good too, but I don’t think I’ll be eating that for a little while.  Sorry, Pop.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 8:13 pm

    I feel bad for Forrest that he was sick, he would of had so much fun with you and Chloe.

    But my hat is off to you for taking such good of this sick boy. You know, he might of got some kind of food poisoning that made him sick before he ever got to your home and might not of been contagious anyway. But how do you know? I would of washed everything too, and probably would of worn gloves.

  2. January 26, 2011 8:54 am

    Oh, poor Forrest! I’m glad he’s feeling better. Migraines? Don’t those make one throw up, too? The twitchy eye and headache made me think of it.

    I totally hear you about today’s movies. I can’t/won’t go to any with my grown kids any more. They’re too racy! Didn’t those kind used to be rated X?

  3. January 26, 2011 10:20 am

    You are so kind, Juice. I know that he was glad to be with such a caring person when he didn’t feel well. And so glad you didn’t get sick too!

  4. January 26, 2011 11:17 am

    Poor kiddo – I know here in my part of the country there is a nasty stomach bug/flu/strep thing going around. 50 kids were missing from the middle school alone! This is a bad winter for sickness.

    I hope you don’t get sick, too. Just hearing/seeing someone get sick makes me gag and then I spend the next 3 days wondering if I’ll be sick too. Not fun!!

  5. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    January 26, 2011 6:28 pm

    Poor Forrest. Yeahhhhh…..the stomach virus……. You remember my lovely birthday one, right? And I understand Juice, about not wanting dad’s beef cabbage soup for a while – it took me TWO MONTHS to brave eating a Chipotle chicken burrito bowl again! 🙂

  6. January 31, 2011 8:03 am

    Oh, been there too many times than I’d care to remember. Hope you stayed well! And totally laughing this morning about the other post. I guess everyone looks really, really old to a 17 year old!

Leave a Reply

