Skip to content

Earthquakes and Hurricanes and Flooding Oh My!

August 28, 2011

Pretty dramatic title, huh?

Fortunately, the reality at Casa Juice was very non-dramatic.  And for that I am extremely thankful.

I didn’t even blog about the earthquake when it happened.  Mostly because there wasn’t anything to report.  I was at work on the first floor of a large office building in the burbs.  By the time we figured out that this was more than HVAC guys fixing the air conditioning the earthquake was over.  We were all fine. A neighbor checked the dogs and they were fine. I went back to fixating on Camp Unleashed.

Then this weekend we had Hurricane Irene.  I was up at 6am Saturday.  My mind was racing with to-dos before the storm hit.

Action item #1:  Get dogs exercised!  All reports indicated that we were going to have rain all weekend long, so we headed to the trail early Saturday morning to get one last run and swim in before spending the rest of the weekend cooped up.

Chloe explores the swimming hole

Other action items included a trip to the library, securing outdoor stuff, preparing the basement for flooding (which resulted in five bags of stuff for Goodwill.  And on a side note, isn’t it interesting how good it feels to drop stuff off at Goodwill?  Why is that?), installing weather-stripping, doing laundry before we lose power, etc.  One item that did not make my list was a run to the grocery store.  I know Dad was completely horrified that I didn’t have all the ingredients for a Baltimore Weather Casserole (bread, toilet paper, milk), but somehow we managed to survive anyhow.

Once all that was done we hunkered down and waited for Irene.

Here she comes...

By 7pm I was a little stir crazy, so some neighbors and I met at a corner bar for dinner.  This is Baltimore after all.  The city might be shut down but the bars will stay open until they lose power.  We got soaked, but that was part of the fun.

At midnight I inspected the basement, discovered some water on the floor and went to bed anticipating a long Sunday with my best friend the shop-vac.

Sunday morning the rain had stopped. I went down to the basement and the water had receded!  You can bet I had a little praise and worship session right then and there.  Which was good, because when I showed up at church it was cancelled.

So you see, a potentially dramatic weekend not at all dramatic.  God is good to me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 10:15 pm

    Glad to hear Irene wasn’t too bad for you. Our family near Norfolk came out of it pretty well, too. They were in a small grid that didn’t even lose power.

  2. August 28, 2011 10:35 pm

    juice! i didn’t know you lived in bmore!! i’ve been reading along for a few months w/o realizing that we’re neighbors! 🙂

  3. August 29, 2011 8:59 am

    So glad all is well at Casa Juice!

  4. August 29, 2011 11:26 am

    Sounds like Baltimore had it easier than anticipated, just like Philly. Hooray for that!

    And I totally understand the feeling of lightness that comes when you get rid of stuff. My local thrift store is closed for remodeling and I have three boxes of stuff by the front door to give to them. I can’t wait to drop it off.

  5. August 30, 2011 3:58 pm

    Congrats on going to camp this weekend! And glad to hear that you escaped Irene unscathed–we also used our enforced sequestration over the weekend to clean out some closets in anticipation of back-to-school…

Leave a Reply

